SAFCo Reviews | Glassdoor

SAFCo Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
SAFCo CEO George B. Fussell
George B. Fussell
21 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "LOVE IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Funder in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAFCo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Thinking about working at other companies is very hard because working here is not really working feels as if everyone here is family and wants the best for you. good and honest pay and bouse.

    Cons

    Management can be flip-floppy but will never steer you wrong. will always help best to there abilities.

    Continue reading
    SAFCo2019-04-26

    SAFCo Response

    May 9, 2019Vice President of Human Resouces

    Thank you for your review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to your continuing service with SAFCO!

    Continue reading
  2. "Loved working here. No complaints"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Credit Buyer 

    I have been working at SAFCo full-time

    Pros

    Pay pay pay bonus pay

    Cons

    No cons. Pretty good job overall

    Continue reading
    SAFCo2019-04-05

    SAFCo Response

    May 9, 2019Vice President of Human Resouces

    We're glad to hear that you find your experience with SAFCO to be rewarding! Your open, objective feedback is greatly appreciated. Best wishes in your career!

    Continue reading
  3. "Terrible organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SAFCo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunities for new graduates.

    Cons

    This organization has a lot of issues, its a very toxic working environment coupled with the bad leadership, low pay and ridiculous PTO allowance its not worth it.

    Continue reading
    SAFCo2019-04-30

    SAFCo Response

    May 9, 2019Vice President of Human Resouces

    We’re disappointed that you found your time with SAFCO to be unfulfilling. The Company strives to provide a professional and supportive working environment. You’ll often hear SAFCO described as a “team,” and it’s important that every team member do their part to achieve a beneficial work experience. In fact, we have a number of team members who have worked and grown in their careers at SAFCO for more than 10 years. It is also very surprising to hear that you found SAFCO’s PTO allowances to be insufficient. We provide an industry-leading package that offers full-time team members 14 PTO days for their first year. These paid days away from work may be used for vacation, personal time, illness, or for time to spend on personal pursuits. Best wishes in your future pursuits.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (8)

    "The owner is disrespectful! Very high turnover in management! I’m one of two managers that quit within the same week!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections Manager in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SAFCo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No pros at all! I would not recommend working at SAFCO! I have nothing nice to say about the company.

    Cons

    Executives are all over the place and they do not communicate with each other. The work schedules are ridiculous and horrible.

    Continue reading
    SAFCo2018-01-10

    SAFCo Response

    February 8, 2018Vice President of Human Resouces

    We’re disappointed that you found your years at SAFCO to be unfulfilling. We strive hard to create an environment that supports the ongoing development of our team members into the Company’s future leaders. Our historically low turnover rates at all levels support that. As a member of leadership, it’s important to remember that you are expected to thoroughly learn your job and dedicate yourself to excellence so you can guide your team to achieve their goals. It’s also important that you are able to accept constructive criticism in order to improve your performance as you grow. Best wishes in your career.

    Continue reading
  5. "SKIP TRACER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skip Tracer in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAFCo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work, you fell like a family.

    Cons

    They need to work not changing every two weeks...

    Continue reading
    SAFCo2017-11-29
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SAFCo full-time

    Pros

    SAFCO has been a great employer to me for the most part. SAFCO has a great staff in Orlando and they are a big family and I would not change it for the world. I do love working here.

    Cons

    Growth to internal employees is not as strong as it should be. I see people that have been with the company many years in the same position. The biggest down fall is if you are not a poster child for Vogue magazine you are overlooked to move up the ranks. it's all about the appearance to the corporate office and the owner. The insurance is awful now. it used to be good. Many people cannot go to their current doctors in the Orlando area. they have had to find new ones or not go at all. I know I cannot see my current doctor and have not had medical care since the switch to the new insurance in December 2016.

    Continue reading
    SAFCo2017-04-12

    SAFCo Response

    May 10, 2017Vice President of Human Resouces

    A key part of SAFCO’s mission is to provide an environment where team members have the opportunity to achieve their fullest potential. We’re very pleased that you enjoy working at our Orlando loan servicing center and being a part of the outstanding team there. They truly are a special group! Please know that SAFCO strongly believes in promoting from within, and focuses its recruiting efforts for new positions there first. Internal candidates are encouraged to apply for advancement, and will be considered solely on the basis of their skills, education, assessment results, and prior work history with the Company. We work very hard to select the most qualified candidate for each opening to ensure our mutual success. Also, benefits are an important part of your total compensation for the work you do every day, so we want you to get the most out of them. We strive to offer programs that help support both mind and body, including quality Humana healthcare insurance, a matched 401(k), and wellness programs. You can find a complete overview of our benefit offerings under the “Learn About Our Benefits” link on the Careers page of our external website www.gosafco.com. If you are experiencing difficulty with finding a physician, please reach out immediately to your Payroll and Benefits Coordinator and they will assist you. Thanks again for all of your dedicated work to make SAFCO a leader in our industry.

    Continue reading
  7. "non applicable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAFCo full-time

    Pros

    decent schedules for the most part

    Cons

    benefits suck for the most part

    Continue reading
    SAFCo2017-04-11
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Collections"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SAFCo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    THIS company has the potential to grown but its unfortunate that they can't get it together. It's sad how the owner doesn't realize how bad his uneducated God daughter is trying to run his business it was bad when I started 5 years ago how ever its way worse now.

    Cons

    Horrible place to work, huge employee turn over in the last two years no room for advancement with Safco unless you know someone from their management team, the director is young uneducated and related to the the owner.. if you have no "ken" in this companies management team or if your a minority stay away from applying for a job at Safco.

    Continue reading
    SAFCo2017-03-04

    SAFCo Response

    March 24, 2017Vice President of Human Resouces

    Thank you for your feedback, as we value it as one of the most important ways we have to improve our operations. It’s disappointing that as a long-tenured team member, you are not happy with your employment experience. However, I wanted to point out a few aspects of your review that are very misleading. There is no one in a position of leadership at our Orlando support center who is related in any way to the Company's owner. Members of our leadership team have either been recruited through a rigorous process, or have been promoted based on their skills and accomplishments. I would also point out that our leadership team is very reflective of the racial and gender diversity of the team, one of our Company’s strengths. In addition, SAFCO enjoys a turnover rate that is lower than the industry, and has become an employer of choice in the Orlando area. In fact, we have a number of support center team members who have been with us for more than 10 years. Please take advantage of one of the confidential avenues SAFCO provides to its current team members, such as our open door policy, bringing your issues to us for resolution. That way, we can work together to resolve them in a professional fashion.

    Continue reading
  9. "A family oriented company with excellent growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAFCo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My budding knowledge of the Sub-Prime Auto Finance industry and understanding of new technology is a testament to the opportunity and growth that's available at SAFCO. This company has a great atmosphere of colleagues and management who want to see you succeed. My departmental manager is the best I've had the pleasure of working for and because of his guidance I've been able to learn new disciplines in technology that I might not have been able to pursue at any other company. The owner cares to know every one of his employees by name, such is a rarity in businesses that operate on the fluctuations of risk and lending. I'm indebted to SAFCO for investing in me and providing the opportunity to grow. I'm excited to see what's in store for the future.

    Cons

    SAFCO uses tried and true techniques that work. I feel there are newer resources available to SAFCO that can streamline many of their current processes in regards to collections if they were a little more aware of the products available to them.

    Continue reading
    SAFCo2016-11-17

    SAFCo Response

    May 10, 2017Vice President of Human Resouces

    Thank you for your review. It is through open, objective feedback such as this that SAFCO will be able to make it's work environment a better place. Best wishes in your career!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAFCo for less than a year

    Pros

    QA department ...initial collector training....HR and floor managers are solid ....

    Cons

    No management training...you are left to learn it on the fly .not one day did I receive any help even when asked for it....you will be micro managed and spend 75 % of day answering emails ...no time to develop skill for staff.4bof 5 managers have less than 1 year tenure....could be huge factor.....moral is at all time low due to recent changes in leadership....if you apply ask how many directors and vp,s and managers the company has had in 2 years....the # will frighten . Expect to be managed via email which has no throttle it is never ending due to the publishers lack of operational experience... ...I am not writing this as a disgruntled employee....I've nev er written on this or any other site regarding past job experiences.....writing it so the next person knows not to waste 6 or 8 months with a company that will use individuals as scapegoats to protect themselves......one common denominator for all the bad in the Orlando site....it's the person in charge of running it....

    Continue reading
    SAFCo2016-11-03
Found 35 reviews