SAGE Dining Services Reviews | Glassdoor

SAGE Dining Services Reviews

Updated December 6, 2017
75 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Paco Rodriguez
43 Ratings

75 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Poor management; angry coworkers;to much complaining (in 4 reviews)

  • Lack of support from immediate management (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Food Service Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Director
    Current Employee - Food Service Director
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Our company try to do the best every single day to make our costumer and our staff happy, is a company the give to you a lot training to be the successful leader so you can be ready for any inconvenience. All our staff make you feel like it family

    Cons

    Not words N / A

    SAGE Dining Services Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for your review and feedback!


  2. "Prep sever cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Prep, Cook, Server, Cashier in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Food Prep, Cook, Server, Cashier in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people and how we are a team

    Cons

    Sometimes there's not enough hours

    Advice to Management

    Set schedules would be amazing

    SAGE Dining Services Response

    Nov 27, 2017 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for your review and feedback.

  3. "Great and friendly work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Office Employee in Lutherville Timonium, MD
    Current Employee - Home Office Employee in Lutherville Timonium, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time

    Pros

    The work life balance is nice. I can leave work and truly leave work without having to hop back on my computer when I get home as I have at other jobs. Also the company is growing, I have seen many people hired in the home office since I started.

    Cons

    Can't think of much. Sometimes there is a lack of communication but that happens everywhere

    SAGE Dining Services Response

    Oct 23, 2017 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for your review and feedback.


  4. "Awesome place to work at the home office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time

    Pros

    Speaking from the perspective of working at the home office, it's amazing. The culture is great, everyone is amazing, and it's all around great.

    Cons

    Slightly underpaid, but everything else makes it worth it!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! it's an amazing place to work. You've developed a great culture, and a phenomenal workplace

    SAGE Dining Services Response

    Oct 16, 2017 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for your review and feedback. We're glad you're enjoying working at the SAGE Home Office.


  5. "Toxic Enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time

    Pros

    Hours are good. Close to home. Love working with the children.

    Cons

    Unstable management. Staffing issues. Upper level management makes promises and does not follow through. Aggressive and abusive staff environment. No vacation time offered unless you complete 2 yrs. Raise less then adequate.

    Advice to Management

    Embrace some of the better talent you do have, and treat them better. Offer praise when praise is due. Promote from with in instead of going through 3 outside managers in less then a year,

    SAGE Dining Services Response

    Oct 23, 2017 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for your review and feedback. It's helpful as we work to improve the work environment for all our Team Members.


  6. "Prep cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep Cook
    Former Employee - Prep Cook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SAGE Dining Services full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    hours & days, school vacations

    Cons

    Worst management. No communication. Huge turn over. Lack of training.

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to care who you hire!

    SAGE Dining Services Response

    Oct 16, 2017 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for your review and feedback. We are working on streamlining our training right now.


  7. "Prep/ cashier/Deli"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Worker
    Current Employee - Food Service Worker
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    School hours works best for mothers /homemakers.

    Cons

    Pay not base on your quality of work you do. Too little pay for too many work load. Benefits like vacation base on hours you put in or accumulate. No extra pay for a catering job. No breaks in between only till Student lunches over.

    Advice to Management

    Get feedback from each outlet or school since not all school operate the same.

    SAGE Dining Services Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for your review and feedback.

  8. "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier/Catering in Baton Rouge, LA
    Current Employee - Cashier/Catering in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good work schedule hardly any weekends.

    Cons

    You can't move up with this company. I emailed my supervisor and asked for the steps to do so and he just ignored it after telling my manager about it. This company has poor management period!!!

    Advice to Management

    Hire food service directors that actually know how to manage and separate a work and friend relationship.

    SAGE Dining Services Response

    Oct 3, 2017 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for your review and feedback. Sorry you had that experience. SAGE tries to promote from within whenever possible, and encourages Managers to have open communication with Team Members about... More


  9. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and holidays off

    Cons

    Corporate communications could be much better

    Advice to Management

    Be a food company first

    SAGE Dining Services Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for your review and thoughts. We are working on improving our internal communications right now. If you have thoughts for what could help, certainly don't hesitate to contact us at... More


  10. "Executive Chef"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Executive Chef in Easthampton, MA
    Current Employee - Executive Chef in Easthampton, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    good people, good program, decent salary

    Cons

    recipes need work, communication is lacking

    SAGE Dining Services Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for your thoughts and review. Many new recipes have been added, and we are working on improving some as well. Marketing is also working on internal communications so if you have thoughts on... More


Showing 75 of 78 reviews
Reset Filters