SAGE Dining Services Reviews | Glassdoor

SAGE Dining Services Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
SAGE Dining Services CEO Paco Rodriguez (no image)
Paco Rodriguez
98 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Benefits are not the best, Home Office changes their minds quickly and often about multitude of things(in 4 reviews)

  • "This company has poor management period(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best Job I've Had in the Culinary Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Director in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay/benefits. I have a good quality of life, unlike in hotels. Competent management/owners. A good balance of freedom and corporate structure. Being a part of a community.

    Cons

    Demanding clientele at times. Difficult menu writing process. It is easy to understand why it is necessary to be difficult due to client need.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and growing!

    SAGE Dining Services2019-10-16
  2. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Director in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Monday through Friday and rarely have to stay nights. Gives Chefs a chance to enjoy career without missing time with families. A positive environment and an overall great company to be apart of.

    Cons

    As a chef things are done a little different, takes some time to get used to but once the initial learning curve is over it is a great place to be.

    SAGE Dining Services2019-10-15
  3. "Solid Company with Great Core Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Pitts, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Technology that makes our jobs easier Recipe Collection Support from Upper Management Pushes for Local Farmers and Products Food Safety Systems Scratch Cooking and being able to track Scratch Factors in menus

    Cons

    For a company that wants to be sustainable and green, we certainly are using a TON of paper daily for recipes, signs, HACCP.

    Advice to Management

    We have implemented so many things into tablets now, how about recipes and HACCP tracking>?

    SAGE Dining Services2019-10-15
  4. "Industry Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits Fee-based, not P&L based Good Corporate Policies Drug Screening and Background Check produces more quality candidates Home office support Good Tech Tools Food Safety Systems in Place Paid Holidays Extensive recipe database Scratch Cooking Great Culture

    Cons

    Discrepancies in Scratch Index Cumbersome time-temperature logs

    Advice to Management

    Incorporate time temperature logs into moblie apps

    SAGE Dining Services2019-10-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life Balance, Better than average Benefits, CST Team is great and provided when needed , proper Budgets & staffing levels for the location

    Cons

    Some Days can get long as with any Job

    Advice to Management

    Take advantage of the CSTs and Mentor programs if you are new to the company

    SAGE Dining Services2019-10-01

    SAGE Dining Services Response

    October 7, 2019Communications Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  6. "Great opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Director in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Awesome schedule. You can actually spend holidays with family:)

    Cons

    Okay pay. At times you work too many hours.

    Advice to Management

    Be organized, focused, patient. Have love and passion for food.

    SAGE Dining Services2019-10-16
  7. "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Director in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great hours. Most weekends and holidays off with pay. Great benefits. Family run company. Understands the value of family

    Cons

    Job is on a school schedule.

    SAGE Dining Services2019-10-16
  8. "SAGE is a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SAGE is great and awesome! I love the people I work with and the team I over see. Everyone is always willing to help and friendly. The work-life balance is great and flexible.

    Cons

    long distant travel between accounts

    SAGE Dining Services2019-09-25

    SAGE Dining Services Response

    October 7, 2019Communications Manager

    Thank you for your comments and review.

  9. "Best Company in the Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Director in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked in food service for 40+ years as a Manager, Chef, Executive Chef, Restaurant Owner as well as Chief Cook and Bottle Washer. In my numerous trips around the block I have worked with and for some people whose ethics would make a criminal blush. I cannot tell you how refreshing it is to work for a Company that says what they mean and means what they say. I am proud to go to work each day and to be the... representative on the ground of a great company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Hourly Team Members get too much time off.

    Advice to Management

    Do not become too big to allow unit creativity. Branding is important, but relationships are more important

    SAGE Dining Services2019-09-25

    SAGE Dining Services Response

    October 7, 2019Communications Manager

    Thank you for the feedback.

  10. "Staff Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAGE Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, Relaxed, and Helpful management

    Cons

    Somewhat small workload, can be repetitive

    SAGE Dining Services2019-09-25

    SAGE Dining Services Response

    October 7, 2019Communications Manager

    Thanks for your review.

Found 159 reviews