SAIC Senior Network Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

SAIC Senior Network Engineer Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
SAIC CEO Nazzic Keene
Nazzic Keene
1 Rating
  1. "Great place to work! Good opportunities and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits; good connections civilian & government

    Cons

    I haven't found any downside to SAIC.

    SAIC2017-09-09
  2. "This is nothing but the truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company and pay.

    Cons

    I really dislike what the offered for retirement.

    SAIC2019-11-15
  3. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice place to work as a young engineer

    Cons

    Prefer faster pace environment to work

    Advice to Management

    More employee corespondence

    SAIC2017-10-02
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Out of touch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can be a great learning opportunity and allows to network with good people..

    Cons

    Management is way out of touch. Worked 2 different contracts with the company. Workload is completely unrealistic to what you are doing. If you are promoted do not expect to get a raise even if it's to a much higher paying position. You will get a meager one and every reason in the book will be found to not provide the increase. Remember this is a contracting company, they do everything to protect the money they are making off of you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up and realize that people are not numbers. Take a look at the management you have in place on contracts and review how they communicate, or lack thereof, with their employees. Also, contract management needs to stand up to the customer is there is any delays or holdbacks that cannot be avoided instead of disappearing when it's time to talk to the customer about them.

    SAIC2017-05-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sr. Network Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Network Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SAIC

    Pros

    Gives you exposure to leave the company after making a name for yourself.

    Cons

    Horrible medical insurance, awful 401k, pay ceiling once in the 90's. Unqualified people are making 150k plus for simply being there before the split. New competent people can't make that.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the cons and people won't be jumping to government positions like they have been.

    SAIC2016-03-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed Emotions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have some of the best experts in my field working with me, and I have been in the IT world for over a decade.

    Cons

    Leadership/management incompetent, oblivious, and arrogant. Management is inexperienced, and forceful.

    Advice to Management

    To be an effective leader, you must learn the basics of the craft in which you are over.

    SAIC2015-08-14
  7. "Don't bench me, babe....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autonomous work environment, competitive salary.

    Cons

    When the runs out, it's all over and placement (coverage) can be scarce. Did you get that in writing?

    Advice to Management

    Employee development is not a weakness, but rather a strength.

    SAIC2014-03-25
  8. "They are a good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Network Engineer in El Paso, TX

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The are a stable company to work for.

    Cons

    They were able to meet the salary I needed to make.

    SAIC2013-08-23
  9. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, intelligent co-workers, worthwhile mission, tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    No clear path to increased responsibility on government contracts

    Advice to Management

    Mentor your people to help them advance within the company.

    SAIC2013-01-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Crappy Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Network Engineer in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC

    Pros

    Competive Salary Most of the time they have flexible work hours

    Cons

    No Advancement Care about profit more than people

    Advice to Management

    Fire your mid-level managers Take a pay cut for yourselves

    SAIC2011-04-15
Found 12 reviews