SAIC Senior Systems Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Senior Systems Engineer

SAIC Senior Systems Engineer Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
30%
Recommend to a Friend
SAIC CEO Nazzic Keene
Nazzic Keene
0 Rating
  1. "SAIC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great management team!! Great customer! Working with great people and supporting an awesome customer . Flexible work with only requirement to complete 80 hours every two weeks.

    Cons

    No bonuses, Small to no pay raises. Big hike in benefits cost due to ACA caused decreased take home pay.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees by giving them bonuses and pay raises.

    SAIC2018-01-15
  2. "Great environment to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Storage/Systems Engineer 

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very well professional organization environment

    Cons

    More time to find correct POC.

    SAIC2019-11-11
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Butts in Seats Contractor with no concern for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer Senior in Chantilly, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Average salary and benefits and lots of different contracts

    Cons

    Benefits keep declining with mergers, Former Engility building is old and outdated. Zero freebies (they actually charge you to drink filtered water!) No path to promotion.

    Advice to Management

    Update your work spaces and provide a clear path for employees to excel.

    SAIC2019-03-29
  4. "Good place with lots of mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed my years at SAIC. When one program lost funding they quickly moved me to another program with no interruption in work. Lots of great people work for SAIC

    Cons

    Benefits are typical of large companies. Expensive health insurance and limited 401k matching. No bonuses or profit sharing

    Advice to Management

    Incentivize staying with SAIC

    SAIC2018-06-07
  5. "Pretty good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Systems Engineer in Chantilly, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of good people in the company who want to do things right and do the right thing.

    Cons

    Process controls everything. Doing the simplest of things is tedious and time consuming. Company processes are too often farmed out to third-party providers.

    Advice to Management

    Bring your business processes in house. Streamline processes. Get rid of unnecessary tedium and rules.

    SAIC2017-09-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    challenging atmosphere, most work is interesting, McLean facilities and location are good to work in, people are generally friendly

    Cons

    lack of company focus, SAIC does a little bit of everything and therefore has a hard time building core competencies other than just systems engineering and integration. could be managed better, both from a top and direct supervisor levels

    Advice to Management

    need to pay more attention to employee needs, not burn them out, and recruit higher quality people in order to continue to build business. need to be more agile and invest more in marketable capabilities

    SAIC2017-04-14
  7. "Professional and well managed work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time

    Pros

    Interesting and challenging assignments. Competitive pay and benefits. Supportive management and current tools and technology. Company well thought of in community and supportive of community.

    Cons

    Some assignments require working embedded within customer facilities with onerous security regulations and inflexible work schedules. Not as supportive of professional association participation as other employers.

    SAIC2017-02-08
  8. "Fulltime employees are running business with Vendors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Systems Engineer in Alexandria, VA

    I worked at SAIC

    Pros

    Salary / pay rate is high as comparision to other employer Less Micromanagement

    Cons

    The worst place for the contractors just like body shopping The fulltime employees running business and getting vendorship , its most terrific The government contracts are terrifically managed and the most junk company They claim that they have high-security compliance , using this statement they get lot of good contracts but the managment of the project is just blowing money.....no standards, no documentations its just working like we play football game... do as they want.... Politics is like crazy Only 30 percent of money goes to employee all rest of money goes to vendors

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop cheating government clients. Be honest, you are playing with innocent lives, you are wasting people money. Be honest to have experienced management consultancy.

    SAIC2016-09-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "SAIC Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Alexandria, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked at SAIC for 8 years. The atmosphere was very friendly, and I had excellent co-workers. The office I worked in was very spacious and well-equipped. The project I worked on was very team-oriented. SAIC offered an excellent benefits plan, and the compensation was very good.

    Cons

    I wished there had been more opportunities for advanced training, but that may have been a budget issue due to contract funding. Limited opportunities for promotion.

    Advice to Management

    When writing proposals for contracts, try to include more support for training.

    SAIC2015-08-31
  10. "SAIC Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    opportunity, values, culture, resources, management

    Cons

    politics, tedium, competition, backstabbers, closed-mindedness

    Advice to Management

    have some compassion

    SAIC2014-07-06
Found 31 reviews