SAIC Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

SAIC Software Developer Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
37%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
SAIC CEO Nazzic Keene
Nazzic Keene
2 Ratings
  1. "SAIC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Development Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity. The company recently went through restructuring and the new model allows for a very productive and individualized work environment that gives you access to the resources of a large companies resources. It feels very much like a company that is growing.

    Cons

    Offices were at a major premium. desks or cubicles for basically every employee.

    SAIC2015-10-21
  2. "Working at SAIC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Developer Intern in Hampton, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility: Ability to work extra hours to take a day off.

    Cons

    Contract work: they can let you got at any time with short notice. Little care to your value.

    SAIC2019-09-30
  3. Helpful (3)

    "You're A Cog In A Machine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time

    Pros

    - Pays a Salary - Give days off

    Cons

    Treats employees as a means to an end, and that end is making money for the company. Does not believe in investing in its workforce. Offers a useless "tuition assistance" benefit that cannot be used for non-college courses (and most technical staff already has a college degree, and would like to take corporate training). Very poor health insurance benefits. CEO out of touch with regular workers. Will do anything to avoid pay raises.

    Continue reading
    SAIC2019-09-02
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of opportunities for learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer Developer in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to learn from many talented people. Amongst other benefits, there is education reimbursement which can be used for code camps (varies).

    Cons

    The corporate feeling of being another number is sometimes uneasy. I suppose this is common in most contractor companies.

    Continue reading
    SAIC2018-03-15
  5. "SAIC - Software Development Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Development Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible schedule and work/life balance, career mobility (both horizontally and vertically) ; extremely helpful HR department

    Cons

    Government is extremely inefficient, most work requires a security clearance, lack of millennial company culture (aging workforce, resistant to change, devoutly conservative)

    Continue reading
    SAIC2017-07-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Contract to Contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    SAIC has contracts start and end. They try their best to place you on overhead work until another contract starts. This may have little to do with your core skills.

    Cons

    There is always the notion when your contract ends you may be looking for work.

    Continue reading
    SAIC2017-07-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great for Starting Out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coming out of college, this is a great company to start you out on in the workplace. Great co-workers willing to help where they can Great work environment Good work

    Cons

    Benefits could be better More money could go into continued education

    SAIC2016-09-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Go Direct or Go Home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working on direct contracts, i.e. charging your per-hour rate to the government, can be lucrative and profitable; you will be treated like a star money-maker

    Cons

    Working overhead, i.e. supporting accounting, contract and other internal software, is considered dead-weight and opportunities and raises are limited

    Continue reading
    SAIC2016-01-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "SAIC at FSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer in Washington, DC

    I worked at SAIC

    Pros

    SAIC provided a good project manager

    Cons

    FSA bureaucracy, not SAIC, prevented much effective work

    Continue reading
    SAIC2015-11-02
  10. "SAIC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer Intern in McLean, VA

    I worked at SAIC

    Pros

    Had a great time working. It is a big company, but ended up on a small team. Was given meaningful work and treated as a full member of the team. Learned a lot and my supervisor spent a lot of time working with me and helping me learn the ropes. Always treated with respect and had a great experience.

    Cons

    Small program, but it should be growing soon.

    SAIC2015-10-09
Found 28 reviews