SAIC Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

SAIC Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
69%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
SAIC CEO Nazzic Keene
Nazzic Keene
1 Rating
  1. "good team ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at SAIC full-time

    Pros

    people are awesome here so freindly

    Cons

    nothing much i can say

    SAIC2019-11-01
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Diego, CA

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are lots of opportunities

    Cons

    Sometimes the work can be a long way from home

    SAIC2019-12-19
  3. "Company Rating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is good if you negotiate.

    Cons

    Benefits suck Yearly reviews suck, they don't give a raise just cost of living adjustment.

    SAIC2019-12-28
  4. "Just Okay Is Not Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Software Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked at SAIC for 7 years. The people I worked with were amazing. Everybody cared about each other and wanted to do well as a result. Management on my team valued everyone's opinion - even new hires. Team-building exercises were encouraged and supported. My coworkers were the reason why I stayed so long.

    Cons

    Insurance costs were outrageous. I received a job offer from another company with significantly cheaper costs, which is why I jumped ship. SAIC makes it very expensive for employees to start families - my monthly insurance cost was about $1200, with a $2500 deductible for employee + spouse before adding my daughter. Adding my daughter cost me roughly an additional $120 per month.

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to make insurance costs affordable - how can you expect families to thrive with such costs? I heard from a former coworker that a PPO plan was introduced in Nov. 2019 but I don't know the details of it.

    SAIC2019-12-22
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Learned a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Database Software Engineer in Eglin AFB, FL

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back. Lots of learning opportunity

    Cons

    Everyone pretty much does the same thing no matter your degree/experience.

    SAIC2019-11-20
  6. "Great Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC for less than a year

    Pros

    Good first year software internship

    Cons

    No cons at this time, good company

    SAIC2019-10-10
  7. "Time at SAIC was not a bad one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at SAIC full-time

    Pros

    The company is big. If you do not like to work on one project, ask your manager to move you to another one

    Cons

    There were a lot of meetups and politics are going over there. I want nothing but project that can be solved by programming skill

    SAIC2019-10-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to get started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Cookeville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Was given the chance to learn lots of new things, and show what I’m made of.

    Cons

    Recently have felt neglected from management, and the office is basically there to make profit off of low income places simply because they can pay the people here less than else where...

    Advice to Management

    Realize that if you need to keep people around that you will need to make sure they are going to want to work for you which means being less stringent on things like working from home.

    SAIC2019-09-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Kaneohe, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at SAIC for four years. There was room for upward mobility.

    Cons

    Transfers and Government contracts could make employment unstable

    SAIC2019-09-14
  10. "A review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) 

    I have been working at SAIC part-time

    Pros

    Interesting work that makes a difference

    Cons

    Could use improvement in diversity

    SAIC2019-09-20
Found 138 reviews