SAIC Systems Administrator Reviews | Glassdoor

SAIC Systems Administrator Reviews

Updated Dec 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
98%
Recommend to a Friend
SAIC CEO Nazzic Keene
Nazzic Keene
0 Rating
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Administrator in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    SAIC is a great company to work. I was sorry to leave the organization (contract ended). Leadership at the program level are nice, helpful, and try hard to look at for everyone. Benefits are better here than other companies.

    Cons

    If you want to work for SAIC for an extended period of time, relocations will be required.

    Advice to Management

    Keep putting employees first, not money.

    SAIC2019-02-01
  2. "Upper Management Needs Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Good Work Life balance -Good benefits -No-Stress Work environment

    Cons

    -Upper management doesnt look at team as a whole -Average Pay (with a Cap) -No room for advancement

    SAIC2019-12-19
  3. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in O'Fallon, IL

    I worked at SAIC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management was definitely interested in knowing what their employees needed.

    Cons

    Healthcare Benefits could be better.

    SAIC2019-03-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "SAIC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Reston, VA

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for, no complaints.

    Cons

    It needs better medical insurance.

    SAIC2019-01-21
  5. "Senior UNIX System Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior UNIX Systems Administrator in Montgomery, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    SAIC is an organization that offered me diverse experiences and cared to keep communication open with employees.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice for upper management.

    SAIC2018-12-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "System Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome coworkers This job will challenge you.

    Cons

    Pay isn’t competitive Insurance prices are high They don’t pay for IT certification

    SAIC2018-12-29
  7. "Systems Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great leadership, decent pay. One of the things I love the most is their willingness to work with you and your schedule if you happen to also be a full time student. So far this is the best job I've had.

    Cons

    Although the pay is decent it could be a little bit better.

    Advice to Management

    Pay us a little bit more per hour.

    SAIC2017-11-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Unix SystemAdminitrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Unix Systems Administrative in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I was a government contractor. The salary was good

    Cons

    my direct management was incompetent

    SAIC2017-09-06
  9. "Overall, a good employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Systems Administrator in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SAIC for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting work, no micromanagement, decent compensation. I'm on-site with a customer, and not in the SAIC building, so YMMV. All of my PMs have been good, and overall this is a really good comapny to work for.

    Cons

    No formal training allowance. They do have tuition reimbursement for degree or certificate programs, but if you want technical training to advance your career that isn't specifically called out in your SOW, the process to request it is very informal and varies... I was able to go to a great class because I happened to ask the right person at the right time, while a co-worker has been unable to get an approval for weeks now. Performance and career management, frankly, sucks... perfromance managers are not dedicated to the task, it's a collateral duty for people who already have a full-time job. Some people might wind up with a really great manager, others might get someone they'll never meet because they work hundreds of miles away and who really aren't engaged with the process. Salaries seem to be very stratified... I've received regular adjustments that amount to about COLAs, and my experience has been that getting a real increase is more problematic than at other companies. SAIC has been through a couple of revamps of their job categorization, and it looks like being reclassified into a higher level is largely dependent upon your SLTL, and that takes us back to the issue above :-)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1) Provide an annual training allowance to employees and a formal, documented process to request training. 2) Either provide more training for SLTLs, or use performance professionals to do reviews. If nothing else, standardize the process so everyone who asks the same question is likely to hear the same answer!

    SAIC2016-08-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "SAIC / LEIDOS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for IF they don't move you from one company to another.

    Cons

    Worked 8 years for SAIC. Company split and I began working for LEIDOS. Nothing changed. Once SAIC regained the contract, I lost all my time with SAIC and started as a new employee ALL OVER AGAIN to include leave and sick time and my pay was cut.

    SAIC2016-07-20
Found 44 reviews