SAIC Systems Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Systems Engineer

SAIC Systems Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
56%
Recommend to a Friend
SAIC CEO Nazzic Keene
Nazzic Keene
1 Rating
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent Contracting Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management and team leads always have your back. Your performance will be noticed and attention will be paid accordingly.

    Cons

    There are times when people are moving up in positions and end up being understaffed

    SAIC2019-11-28
  2. "Cool job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Satellite Systems Engineer in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are pretty good

    Cons

    there are none that I can think of

    SAIC2020-01-23
  3. "Just Okay Is Not Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Software Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked at SAIC for 7 years. The people I worked with were amazing. Everybody cared about each other and wanted to do well as a result. Management on my team valued everyone's opinion - even new hires. Team-building exercises were encouraged and supported. My coworkers were the reason why I stayed so long.

    Cons

    Insurance costs were outrageous. I received a job offer from another company with significantly cheaper costs, which is why I jumped ship. SAIC makes it very expensive for employees to start families - my monthly insurance cost was about $1200, with a $2500 deductible for employee + spouse before adding my daughter. Adding my daughter cost me roughly an additional $120 per month.

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to make insurance costs affordable - how can you expect families to thrive with such costs? I heard from a former coworker that a PPO plan was introduced in Nov. 2019 but I don't know the details of it.

    SAIC2019-12-22
  4. "Great environment to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Storage/Systems Engineer 

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very well professional organization environment

    Cons

    More time to find correct POC.

    SAIC2019-11-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "The Old Legacy Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you want play a role in helping design planes and tanks, this place is for you. Lots of institutional knowledge here.

    Cons

    Very top-down mentality. Very poorly staffs IT projects with the wrong people.

    SAIC2019-11-18
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great Early and Mid Career Professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Systems Engineer in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company is willing to put mid career professionals in leader ship roles.

    Cons

    Management professionals are young and sometimes overconfident. They can be a little insecure about more experienced professionals.

    Advice to Management

    Just remember seasoned professionals still have a lot to offer.

    SAIC2019-06-19
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Butts in Seats Contractor with no concern for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer Senior in Chantilly, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Average salary and benefits and lots of different contracts

    Cons

    Benefits keep declining with mergers, Former Engility building is old and outdated. Zero freebies (they actually charge you to drink filtered water!) No path to promotion.

    Advice to Management

    Update your work spaces and provide a clear path for employees to excel.

    SAIC2019-03-29
  8. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Principal Systems Engineer 

    I have been working at SAIC full-time

    Pros

    good pay good management reputation is well deserved

    Cons

    big company feel can get swallowed up

    SAIC2019-03-13
  9. "A good well-balanced company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Systems Engineer in Springfield, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A good well balanced company to work for in term of salary, benefit and company culture.

    Cons

    Nothing for me to say here.

    SAIC2019-03-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not really what it looks like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Big and well organized company with good benefits.

    Cons

    Branch / project manager. Jobs opening on website: most are not real

    SAIC2019-02-25
Found 94 reviews