SAIC Employee Reviews about "health insurance"

Updated Nov 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 of over 3,500 reviews

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
SAIC CEO Nazzic Keene
Nazzic Keene
574 Ratings

What people are saying about SAIC

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The company also provides good benefits and the HR department is great to work with..(in 299 reviews)
  • "I've been with the company a long time and I have worked with some great people over the years.(in 197 reviews)
  • "Good pay and a steady job(in 177 reviews)
  • "Fair and competitive salaries.(in 111 reviews)
  • "Good work/life balance (I'm sure this also depends on the project you're on)(in 71 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of SAIC and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "health insurance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company

    Nov 7, 2021 - Software Test Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership cares about their employees

    Cons

    Health Insurance premiums could be much better

    1 person found this review helpful

    SAIC Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We offer a diverse range of comprehensive benefits to meet your needs, as well as promote health and wellness.

  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Bad Pay and Management

    Aug 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Very diverse group -Abundance of contacts within the company -SAIC IT team is great -Large Organization with many contracts -ther is nothing else great about this company, it's defiantly the worse contract company I've ever worked for in my 20 years of working contracts.

    Cons

    -PTO earning is horrible compared to most other companies -Pay could be better compared to competitors -Never any employee reviews or performance reviews -Make sure you get everything in writing when hired, I was lied to about my PTO and how much I would earn when hired only to find out later it was much less and nothing I can do about it. I didn't print and save my contract I signed digitally and they no longer give me access to it so there is no way to prove what I was promised. -PM high turn over so you constantly have a new boss that are always playing catchup. -PM's have no idea what's going on in contract (because of high turnover) -You are just a cog in the big machine and you will never be noticed or complimented -No employee appreciation -Health insurance isn't the greatest -They don't care about their base level employees -My contract has been 10 people short for over a year, they don't replace people when they leave so the people who remain get stuck doing 5 other peoples jobs. -Bad environment for mental health -Getting money for training is near impossible

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SAIC Response

    We are sorry to hear about your experience and want to make it better. We take all reports seriously, investigate objectively, and take appropriate corrective action when warranted. To further discuss, please contact the reporting helpline at 800-760-4332 or contact saic.ethix360.com.

  3. 5.0
    Current Intern

    Great Company

    Sep 2, 2021 - Mechanical Engineering in Huntsville, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have enjoyed my time at SAIC. My coworkers are fantastic and the company has treated me well.

    Cons

    No health insurance if you are an intern

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Decent pay, meh benefits

    Jan 14, 2021 - Senior Systems Administrator in Huntsville, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay. Since it is a contracting world, any "pros" I would give wouldn't really be relevant to anyone looking at a job with SAIC.

    Cons

    The benefits aren't that great. Health insurance costs a stupid amount of money if you want it to actually cover healthcare costs. Im currently paying $300 a month for 75% coverage after my family meets the $4000 deductible. To get the PPO that would actually pay for services before meeting the deductible, it was going to cost close to $1000 a month for a family. The PTO is also determined by the contract you are on. The first contract I was on gave me 12 days a year (sick and vacation time). It took two years to get up to 13 days. After I changed contracts within SAIC, it changed to 18 days a year, which is better but still not great. I have twice now had to look at new jobs because of contracts being cancelled. Some would just say that is the contracting world, but it still sucks for the non-C level employees who actually have bills to pay and can't afford to go without a paycheck.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Family

    Nov 4, 2021 - Subcontracts analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Felt like a family unit

    Cons

    Health insurance was costly with no good benefits

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SAIC Response

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! As a former employee, you can join the SAIC Alumni and Friends group on LinkedIn: https://jobs.saic.com/?bid=10634

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Large company from for opportunities

    Jun 28, 2021 - Junior Field Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Abundance of contacts within the company.

    Cons

    Health insurance isn't the greatest.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SAIC Response

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We have increased our investments in our employee fringe benefits to offer more flexibility and comprehensive leave programs. These changes are based on the priorities that are important to our employees and their families.

  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Good company

    Jun 9, 2021 - Technical Recruiter in Huntsville, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Still cares about employees despite its large size -Competitive salaries

    Cons

    Health insurance is not the best

    1 person found this review helpful

    SAIC Response

    Thanks for your review! As a former employee, you can join the SAIC Alumni and Friends group on LinkedIn: https://jobs.saic.com/?bid=10634

  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Typical contractor

    Jan 11, 2021 - Software Test Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you are very comfortable at a base salary with minimum raises then this is the company for you. The only true pro is the ability to have flexible hours.

    Cons

    Zero employee appreciation, typical government contractor, no bonuses, lousy health insurance

    1 person found this review helpful

    SAIC Response

    Digital Employment Marketer

    Thank you for your honest review. For the past few months, our leadership team has developed new enterprise wide values with intentions of acknowledging employees who reinforce those values. We hope you see greater appreciation across the company in 2021. If you would like to further discuss, please contact us at SAICCommunications@saic.com.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Pay, Questionable Benefits

    Jan 5, 2021 - Software Test Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay, good at obtaining contracts, good opportunities to work with all sorts of people in many industries

    Cons

    Benefits leave room to be desired, specifically the health insurance.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SAIC Response

    Employment Marketing Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have increased our investments in our employee fringe benefits to offer more flexibility and comprehensive leave programs. These changes are based on the priorities that are important to our employees and their families.

  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Once was great, now not so great

    Dec 5, 2019 - Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Competitive salaries Interesting work

    Cons

    They do not care for their employees; since the IPO in 2006, they have continually stripped us of our overall benefits. The health insurance is lousy coverage with high deductibles, so you are paying more and seeing less in your pocket even though the salaries are good. The 401K match has decreased from 6% to 4.5%. They have stripped senior employees (10+ years) of leave benefits to make things more equal among the newly acquired Engility employees. Starting in 2019, senior employees have had 4 days of vacation taken away, so you can only ever max out at 4 weeks of vacation per year. Overhead events, like holiday parties and summer picnics, now take place during the workweek (or not at all) during working hours. Training and certifications, once something that SAIC invested in, is something they no longer invest in. Hostile work environments are pretty commonplace and includes such things sexual harassment, career sabotage, and retaliation. Definitely a "good old boys club" in management; if you go to HR, you won't be outright fired but it'll get worse until you quit your job.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 50 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with SAIC Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SAIC? Share Your Experiences

or