SAIC "military" Reviews | Glassdoor

SAIC Employee Reviews about "military"

Updated 27 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
SAIC CEO Nazzic Keene
Nazzic Keene
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "All decisions require multiple sign offs from upper management, even for very small routine tasks(in 53 reviews)

  • "If you are a military retiree and don’t need its medical or dental plans(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "military"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Tech co involved in multiple projects

    Cons

    Difficult for upwards mobility, opportunities to laterally move within the company. Military Officer mentality in some cases, they forgot to take off their ranks!

    Advice to Management

    Facilitate employee retention through advancement

    SAIC2017-10-27
  2. "Cyber Analytics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cyber Integrator and Planner in Fort Belvoir, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Allows you to bridge out to and support in a collaborative environment.

    Cons

    If you are a military retiree and don’t need its medical or dental plans. The lack of flexibility in negotiating what you don’t need or utilize is problematic. Small companies IMO have a better attitude when discussing that option.

    Advice to Management

    Hmm remember the client is is whom you support. Once the client has identified that you are not really viable. They will recommend or put you on another vehicle and do away with your company.

    SAIC2019-04-27
  3. "A great company, not very personable to off-site employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time

    Pros

    There are many resources for employees to utilize due to the size and imprint of the company across the U.S.

    Cons

    As an employee who works off-site, on a military base, I do not feel as though I'm included in the SAIC community.

    SAIC2018-10-22
  4. "Training Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great management, great benefits, pay for certifications, great relationship with all management and coworkers, no micromanagement, great for my first job as a veteran

    Cons

    low ball salary, burnout working with military staff, no real room for growth or advancement in my position

    SAIC2018-01-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Tech Writer in Madison, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Typical boring 401K, but company known to provide big bennies, like health insurance premiums of $10/mo, passing out Apple products free to all employees...

    Cons

    Military style "Yes sir, no sir" mentality among military customers when interacting with our company's staff enough to drive you nuts.

    Advice to Management

    We were who hired on the military people, so how dare they act like they were in charge of us? Our company's top management just went "yes sir, no sir" even when what the military brass wanted to have done was like going around your elbow to reach your butt hole. They just nodded and smiled and nodded and did as told. Maybe they had to -- I don't know. Sure made our jobs harder than they ever needed to be. You... know -- don't you dare have a different idea.

    Show More
    SAIC2017-07-28
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Not the place for women"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in North Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fair salary, flex work, stock options and good stock price. Telework is the norm. Great if you have a busy schedule.

    Cons

    Nowhere to go career-wise. Good ol' boy network. If you don't have military background, you won't be taken seriously. So many real estate and OH cutbacks that you'll be working from home and demoted before you know it.

    SAIC2017-03-31
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Program Management Senior Analyst in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC

    Pros

    Very professional work environment. Great co-workers. Enjoy interacting with our customers.

    Cons

    Ever since the company went public in 2013, upper management has placed most employees as Casual Employees (CE), without benefits, just an hourly salary, unless there is a direct contract or charge number where we can become Full Time Employees (FTE). This company shift has made employees that are not former military retirees and have a steady retirement income coming in every month, to leave the company to seek... other full time opportunities elsewhere because they cannot sustain a household on part time salary.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bring your most valuable employees to a full time employee status with fringe benefits after any direct contract ends, this will entice employees to seek job security elsewhere.

    SAIC2016-08-26
  8. "Company is fine as long as you have a contract awarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Systems Administrator in Honolulu, HI
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC

    Pros

    They have work available worldwide - IF you have a security clearance and are willing to relocate.

    Cons

    Your position depends on your contract. If the contract is not renewed then you'll have to find work within the company on your own. HR, recruiting don't seem to do anything to assist. Work with a lot of ex-military personnel. A lot do not possess the necessary qualifications or experience for the position they're hired for but were hired just for their security clearance or nepotism - having their... ex-military buddies bring them on-board.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Too much work depends on defense contracts...should expand and offer consulting services outside of that industry. Don't participate on "least cost technically acceptable" type of work and hiring folks straight out of the military just for their security clearances.

    SAIC2016-06-01
  9. "A great company for a starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time

    Pros

    SAIC has good benefits and good leadership with a matrix system that allows employees to work on projects across different departments.

    Cons

    SAIC has lots of ties with military contracting which can prove to be very slow pace on project turnovers. For those not interested in that field, it can sometimes prove to be not awarding.

    Advice to Management

    I believe SAIC should be open to experimenting into more fields that are not related to the military.

    SAIC2016-04-01
  10. "Performance Enhancement Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PERFORMANCE ENHANCEMENT SPECIALIST in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with soldiers is fantastic. seeing the opportunity to help shape a life and inspire soldiers is a great feeling and reward. The company itself is large and has many benefits such as a great salary base and awesome benefits.

    Cons

    It sometimes felt too big. For example at new hire I dealt with one group to give copy of my Social security and ID for I-9 verification. Another department for other new hire stuff and another department for yet more and then a whole different department for my health benefits, and it kept going. It was so big they had a department for every little thing. In my particular piece of this huge corporation our little... group of 12 staff located on a military base was led by a former Lt. Colonel (retired) and he spoke to us like if we were soldiers. Yelled at our faces, and after giving or rather barking orders he would give out the Army grunt that soldiers use to acknowledge orders. I would just laugh at him. I did complain of a hostile workplace environment and the upper echelon just gave a patent answer saying it was just that I did not understand military life. I was an army brat so I know life.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to really see what is happening at your distant sites. With such a very very large company all spread across the world and small groups scattered around they need some active supervision and feedback opportunity.

    SAIC2015-08-12
Found 47 reviews
</>Embed