KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

SAIC

Engaged Employer

SAIC

Add a Review

SAIC Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 of over 3K reviews

4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
SAIC CEO Nazzic Keene
Nazzic Keene
286 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits with some contracts(in 137 reviews)

  • "This is a great work environment(in 113 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Too much turmoil with upper management(in 58 reviews)

  • "Schedule is sometimes not flexible due to Military Mission Requirements(in 48 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of SAIC and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work!

      May 3, 2016 - Engineer V in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Atmosphere, work life balance, great team and hard problems to solve each day always new challenges to face and an always evolving work environment

      Cons

      Busy hectic schedules heathcare, not much room for progressing in the company. Upper management has there hands tied when it comes to things they should be providing

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Don’t do it

      Sep 15, 2020 - Network Administrator in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of downtime while not performing duties

      Cons

      No accountability for actions from upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SAIC Response

      SAIC Human Resources

      Thank you for taking time to leave feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at employment-marketing@saic.com. In the meantime, check out SAIC's Business Resource Group (BRG). Our BRGs are voluntary employee groups that provide opportunities to address challenges while supporting professional development, networking, and community outreach. Other employee advocacy groups are noted here: https://saic.com/who-we-are/life-at-saic/inclusion-and-diversity

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Work elsewhere if you can

      Jun 25, 2020 - Tech Support 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, flexible hours, Provided equipment

      Cons

      Bad upper management Doesn't listen to employee concerns Bad knowledge base

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Review

      Sep 13, 2020 - Mechanical Design Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mechanical Design team understood the value in team work

      Cons

      Poor leadership with upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SAIC Response

      SAIC Human Resources

      Hello, we are sorry to see you go but thank you for providing feedback. We value the importance of team work as much as we value leadership skills. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at employment-marketing@saic.com to further discuss.

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Just OK

      Jan 28, 2020 - Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist in Chantilly, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company with name recognition. They have some contracts that are fun to work on

      Cons

      Lots of change for change sake Too much turmoil with upper management They let go very good people to cut budget so the product is suffering

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Upper Management Needs Work

      Dec 19, 2019 - Systems Administrator in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Good Work Life balance -Good benefits -No-Stress Work environment

      Cons

      -Upper management doesnt look at team as a whole -Average Pay (with a Cap) -No room for advancement

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      SAIC was a very enjoyable summer internship experience.

      Nov 18, 2008 - Web Intern in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I learned a lot working at SAIC and constantly had management's support with different projects I wanted to get into. As an intern, I always felt respected and they paid me an amazing rate at $16/hr. SAIC offers a rotating employee schedule which means you can be jumping around the SAIC corporate world performing different jobs and functions throughout your career and they tend to be very open to your desires to jump around. The one time I asked for a day off to go on a cruise they gave it to me so I have no complaints there at all.

      Cons

      Sometimes it's very difficult to get ahold of upper management. I remember multiple times haven't to wait 1+ weeks to get a 30 minute appt with them and I'm not sure if it was because of my standing as an intern or simply because they were that busy. As far as my direct manager it wasn't very easy to get in touch with them either but they do have an open door policy so as long as you keep your eyes open you can normally talk to them the same day. Because of their lack of availability it often means that they don't give very much feedback or recognition.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      SAIC - a nice place to work with decent benefits...

      Jun 11, 2008 - Program Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible management (at least my direct management chain). Many available levels of employment status, including full-time (minimum 32 hours), part-time, unscheduled professional, and consulting employee. SAIC has decent benefits, including medical, dental, life insurance, disability insurance and vision plans. SAIC is a very scattered company - divisions are co-located with clients, this enables it's divisions to be very responsive to client needs and requirements. SAIC has had historically excellent stock growth and bonus plans. Advancement for women is improving, networks are in place to allow women to meet with other women within the company to assist each other with working toward advancement at senior managements levels.

      Cons

      SAIC is a very scattered company - it's divisions are co-located with clients. While this affords a nimbler response to clients, it complicates the day-to-day management issues. Sometimes it can seem like upper management is out of touch with the workers in the trenches. Now that SAIC (NYSE: SAI) stock is publicly it is harder to get bonuses of stock and options. Trading the stock through Mellon can be time consuming, but must be done to maintain the employee benefit of 10 votes per share (Class A?), if an employee wants to move the stock to his/her own broker, the preferential voting rights are lost.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee

      SAIC go there if you dont mind fearing your job will disappear in a month

      Nov 13, 2008 - Software Engineer in Tucson, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As far as defense companies go SAIC is mediocre, and there it seams is where they want to stay. If other companies offer a benefit SAIC will match it, but never pass it. Not all is bad, the management is so clueless that you could stroll in around 10 and leave around 3 and as long as you have all your work done, they really dont care. Also there is no dress code, so everyone pretty much wears jeans and short all year long, sandals are not uncommon either. They really take personal time here very seriously, I have been in meetings where we waste more time trying to satisfy everyones schedule than we do in requirements gathering and design. anything to not miss that new movie, or that bike race, you get the idea.

      Cons

      2 words, MANAGEMENT SUCKS, this place is a throw back to the 80's it is so research focused that about 85% of the management has no clue how to treat human beings. The concept of empathy is so gone from these people that they are could run over you in a car and then get out of the car to make sure the car was ok. There is absolutely no leadership and Upper management is commonly undermined by middle management. There are some horrible software issues as well, the transition from prototype to operation is completely gone. Management just does not have a clue how to set up the processes to do that. In one word its a mess, stay as far away from here if you value your career and want to see it flourish or if you want to grow as a technical abilities.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      SAIC gets worse and worse

      Dec 15, 2017 - Senior Principal Engineer in Chantilly, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free coffee, clean bathrooms, plenty of parking

      Cons

      I was a Scitor employee and was not concerned about the acquisition a few years ago. There's always a few things that change but the little chippy cuts in every little aspect have continued on 2+ years after the acquisition. I am astonished how they can crap on us and then ask us to recruit our friends into the company. The retention rate really sucks. We were told health insurance will go up slightly next year just a few percent, my plan doubled. It takes six months for purchasing to make an order and then it gets delivered to the wrong place. In order to do my job, I need some software, the 1 year license will run out before it's installed. I had hoped that some of the incompetent upper management would get cleared out but the opposite has happened. The good managers, popular and unpopular, have left and the bad ones have hung on and become "yes men" enforcers. We have become a company of employees that are trying to hang on a few more years to retirement and a bunch of kids that don't know how to do their jobs but work cheap and get billed out for lots of money.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 58 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with SAIC Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at SAIC? Share Your Experiences

    or