SAIC "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

SAIC Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
SAIC CEO Nazzic Keene
Nazzic Keene
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "All decisions require multiple sign offs from upper management, even for very small routine tasks(in 53 reviews)

  • "If you are a military retiree and don’t need its medical or dental plans(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - .NET Developer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall great company to work for and a positive experience. Best work/life balance especially with the flexibility to work 9/80's

    Cons

    Needs a better career structure

    Advice to Management

    I wish there was a better career structure in place so you know how to move up.

    SAIC2019-06-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Highly Sought after Cyber Strategic Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Cyber Security Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time

    Pros

    Great Work Life Balance with great benefits

    Cons

    Moving up is hard - Lots of competition

    Advice to Management

    Add more emphasis on Mentoring

    SAIC2019-03-21
  3. "Overall is good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Colleges are good, they are willing to help others. 2. The manager is nice, trying to solve every problem we have. 3. Work life balance.

    Cons

    1. The working location is based on the customer's site.

    SAIC2019-03-17
  4. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance. Friendly working environment.

    Cons

    No clear career path in this company.

    SAIC2019-01-20
  5. "SAIC Bloomfield IN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Multimedia Developer/3D Modeler in Bloomfield, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work with wonderful people. The office was a little behind in technology, but capable of getting the jobs done quickly. Plenty of work/life balance, for example, having a flexible schedule (4 day-10hrs) to make time for school work and work work.

    Cons

    Multimedia Technology needed updates such as new cameras, equipment, and software. Lived in Bloomington (next town over) and had a 45 minute commute. Bloomfield is in the middle of nowhere with little to nothing happening other than the office.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and listening to the professionals who work in the field every day.

    SAIC2018-12-02
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance is top notch Self-managing for the most part Telework Salary is on par with industry Pay raises have been substantial (3-6% every year) People are great 401k is decent (100% of first 3%, 50% of 4-5%) Stock purchase plan

    Cons

    The health insurance is really bad. There are two options through Blue Cross: Advantage or Essential. For the Advantage Plan, deductibles are $1,350 (individual) and $2,700 (family); out of pocket max are $3,000 (individual) and $6,000 (family). Premium for family is over $600 a month... For the Essential Plan, deductibles are $2,000 and $4,000, out of pocket is $6,000 and $12,000. Premium for family is around $400...... I will be exploring other options once 2019 enrollment opens.

    Show More
    SAIC2018-10-08
  7. "overall c-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cyber Security Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    co workers are great/good work life balance

    Cons

    Benefits/ hiring for who they know not what they know

    Advice to Management

    hiring managers need to be experienced in what they are hiring for

    SAIC2018-10-30
  8. "Office Manager/Facility Security Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC for more than a year

    Pros

    Work environment is laid back, and there is great work life balance. The intelligent and interesting group of people you get to work with truly make it a great organization to be apart of.

    Cons

    As a government contractor for NASA , you felt a bit isolated from corporate. There is not much room for growth, and because government agencies are tight on budget there wasn't much room for movement through out the company.

    SAIC2018-10-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC part-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance, good salary

    Cons

    No mentor or directions for the things I was doing

    SAIC2018-10-07
  10. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed, comfortable work environment, great work life balance (at least for the project i worked on)

    Cons

    Growth is very slow, and every action is slow since it takes a lot of time to get approval.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your current employees instead of hiring new

    SAIC2018-08-22
Found 90 reviews
</>Embed