SAS Institute Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

SAS Institute Manager Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
88%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
SAS Institute CEO Jim Goodnight
Jim Goodnight
86 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "My first year at SAS Institute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Events Project Manager in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Culture, Teamwork, Continuing Education, Ability to grow, Empowered, Supported

    Cons

    I am part of the JMP Division and I honestly have not experienced any downsides this year

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2020-04-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Solutions Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time

    Pros

    Good culture, nice technology, good work life balance

    Cons

    Nothing to share, a little stress due to constant change and transformations

    SAS Institute2020-03-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "SAS is one of the best companies to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Technical Alliance Manager in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Really smart and caring people, great innovative products that make a difference to peoples lives everyday, focused leadership, unmatched benefits, great work life balance, beautiful campus, healthcare facility on campus, daycare and preschool for employees kids on campus, 6 cafeterias that offer different cuisines everyday and the list goes on.

    Cons

    None. Absolutely love my company and proud to say that I work for SAS. I have not once looked out for a posting outside SAS in my last 10 years.

    SAS Institute2020-02-05
  4. "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best in the industry especially health care

    Cons

    nothing I can think of

    SAS Institute2020-01-25
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Business Manager in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    work/life balance, respect, transparency, good people

    Cons

    Hard to get training or personal growth

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2020-01-14
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Company is lost at sea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SAS Institute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are mostly very nice. Certain uses of the products do help make the world a better place. For some departments, work/life balance is great. If your leader is a workaholic, though, that goes out the window. The campus environment is quite pleasant (art, walking trails, new buildings, great gym, etc.) The subsidized food is amazing. So is being able to order meals to take home. Being closed between Christmas and New Years is nice. If all you are looking for is comfort, SAS may be the place for you.

    Cons

    If you can see beyond the end of your own nose, SAS might not be the place for you. Feels like a cult...insular and self-absorbed. A culture of leaders not trusting their people and micromanaging their work. Tons of nepotism. Noticeable levels of sexism. People who have been there forever and never leave make it hard to advance. People who have never worked anywhere else or seen anything other than the world of SAS make it very hard to introduce any fresh ideas. Climate feels stale and inward-looking. Company doesn't see itself clearly and is far too impressed with itself. Bad leaders are left in place FOREVER. Customers say the product is antiquated and hard to use, and it feels like the business is starting to slip away. Company is managed by fiat. Dr. Goodnight is a dictator, and not always a benevolent one. Salaries are lower than they should be. If you don't have kids, you may feel like you are subsidizing everyone else's daycare bill. The SAS you hear about is the SAS of 20 years ago. When I left, morale was seriously slipping, just like the best place to work rankings.

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2019-12-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fall from the top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great corporate amenities and work/life balance

    Cons

    pace of change to stay relevant is slow

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2019-11-12
  8. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, smart coworkers, focus on work life balance

    Cons

    Moving to cloud slower but picking up pace

    SAS Institute2019-09-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great if you’re set"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people mid management tries very hard senior management is managing up

    Cons

    Hard to advance Sales driven culture

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2019-09-18
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Not the SAS of Yesteryear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAS Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    SAS was still a great place for me to work in terms of my friends and co-workers there. They became like family to me over the years. Benefits are still great.

    Cons

    People in many divisions are extremely overworked. As people leave or are let go, they aren't replaced. Upper management no longer seems to care about, support, nor listen to their staff members. Although benefits are still very good, there are now too many other progressive companies to choose from, most of which pay more. The sense of camaraderie isn't as far-reaching within the company as it used to be.

    SAS Institute2019-07-20
Found 127 reviews