SAS Institute Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Engineer

SAS Institute Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
90%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
SAS Institute CEO Jim Goodnight
Jim Goodnight
33 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work and life balance.

    Cons

    There is no any cons.

    SAS Institute2020-01-17
  2. Helpful (3)

    "I was let go from SAS while I was on LTD. I had 16+ years with the company and was totally shocked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Cary, NC
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SAS Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The not always challenging the work can be interesting. The medical benefits are really good. The offices and ergonomics are second to none. However, they created many individual desert islands!

    Cons

    No common direction. Competition between divisions is encouraged and rewarded from the top causing animosity in the ranks. Not to mention a waste of time and energy to the division that loses the competition.

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2020-01-01
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Still a Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Depending on the group there is a very collegiate atmosphere. The COO, Oliver, is fantastic. He is a visionary, understands and is capable of doing the work, inspires you to bring your best forward. He is a wonderful Motivational speaker and also the complete package of what you would want in a COO or CEO.

    Cons

    Too many managers with an inward focus on their group and not looking outward for the good of the company.

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2019-09-23
  4. "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best I've found in NC

    Cons

    Some people are unwilling to improve their skills/tooling

    SAS Institute2019-09-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    SAS fosters an open and respectful work environment. Team members contributions are always valued. The work can be challenging at times. SAS has great internship programs for college students. Each full time employee has an office and, depending on the seniority, the office may even have a window.

    Cons

    SAS used to be among the top 5 of the best companies to work for in the US; it is unfortunately no longer the case since SAS has slipped significantly (but still in the top 100). Internal changes can take awhile.

    SAS Institute2019-06-26
  6. "Interning at SAS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) 

    I have been working at SAS Institute

    Pros

    Great people, really enjoyed my time here.

    Cons

    Things can move slowly and not always a lot to do.

    SAS Institute2019-03-20
  7. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Cary, NC

    I worked at SAS Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great WLB, cool campus, cool technology

    Cons

    Pay isn’t great, still solid though

    SAS Institute2019-03-03
  8. "Senior Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAS Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love the people, the products, and the management.

    Cons

    We work hard. But, we build wonderful products

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2018-12-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Really is a great place to work, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Possible to work on the most advanced projects in the world. Mostly extremely smart, very nice people. Work with people from all over the world. Great work/life balance

    Cons

    As usual, your day to day life really depends on your manager, and they don't require management training. Results can be spotty. As a developer, you pretty much have to program in C or Java.

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2017-07-25
  10. "Great place for a family person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAS Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Wonderful balance between work and life. Really interesting projects. Lots of new innovative products being brought to life. Great benefits. All in all, a great place to work!

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    SAS Institute2017-06-02
Found 51 reviews