KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

SBC Advertising

Is this your company?

SBC Advertising

Add a Review

SBC Advertising Reviews

Updated Mar 28, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 of over 43 reviews

3.0
51%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
SBC Advertising President and CEO  Scott Wolfe (no image)
Scott Wolfe
18 Ratings

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on

Advertising

2m

works at 

Publicis Health

I recently received an offer from iProspect (part of Dentsu) I’ve heard ups and downs about this company. I currently work for a great company and not sure if I should leave. The new opportunity pays a lot more than I currently make. Does anyone have any advice about this company and whether I should take the job or not?

22

16 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people, great clients to work with(in 6 reviews)
  • "During 2016 the agency hired a new CEO, CCO, COO, a few Creative Directors, and a new Director of Creative Operations.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company and enviroment

    Jan 27, 2021 - Executive Assistant in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company they were very accommodating and a great work atmosphere

    Cons

    company was bought out by another

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great history, great people

    Nov 3, 2020 - Account Director in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Middle management and client portfolio

    Cons

    Ownership and investment in the business

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Positive change

    Nov 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very bright people and a solid management team. There has been turnover but I feel that it was necessary to build the company into the powerhouse regionally and nationally that it should be. Management is extremely transparent and holds weekly town hall meetings to discuss news that affects the business as well as employee concerns.

    Cons

    None to speak of. I believe that much of the negativity in previous reviews has been addressed or purged. The current team is clearly on a mission to make SBC a national player.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Incredible people make SBC a great place to work

    Nov 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have had the privilege of working with people from every department, and every title. The people of SBC are talented as hell, intelligent, and incredibly hard working. Many of the negative reviews I've read both before I was hired and current appear to come from people with very limited understanding of both the state of the industry and good work ethic. Other's may have encountered or dealt with "negative" people in the workplace - but short of personality quirks, I have had no trouble with the people I've worked with. It's a very casual enviroment, we're all very sincere and respectful of each other's opinions. Collaboration is something I think SBC does exceptionally well, and is continuing to hone and improve every day as more individuals are given opportunities to prove themselves and contribute to our growth. We're in a state of change, but just about everyone in this industry is or has been for a while now. Those that remain with SBC are truly the best of the best. Every day I am impressed and awed by the strength everyone brings to a challenge, and the ingenuity that grows from great minds working well together. I love what I do, I feel challenged (in a healthy way), and I feel respected by my peers. The past SBC has been described very differently depending on who you speak to, and ultimately, it's future is what I care about. The future of SBC is what the leadership and everyone there now are working toward and contributing to. The leadership is obviously working (tirelessly lately) to ensure SBC thrives even when the climate is not ideal for Agencies.

    Cons

    I genuinely have no cons.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Think about it.

    Nov 1, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The place is well-maintained and clean. Salary is comparable. Good people for the most part. Benefits are adequate.

    Cons

    Some suits got together and thought an open concept workspace was a great idea. Don't we all love awkward eye contact?! Huge client losses and amateur attempts at new biz resulted in mass exodus.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Too bad...

    Nov 10, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good parking, close to downtown,

    Cons

    Leadership is unmotivating, currently giving no raises

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Account Coordinator

    Aug 8, 2017 - Account Coordinator in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gorgeous office. Amazing team (or what's left of it). Free Diet Coke. Sunny Cafe Area. Insane Office Parties. I did learn a lot during my time at SBC for which I'm very grateful. I made connections that benefit me to this and friends and memories I'll never forget. It's a shame SBC did a 180.

    Cons

    CUBICLES (although I hear some changes are happening), executive leadership is out of touch and out for blood, silos, zero interdepartmental communication, out of date social tactics, a very "business as usual" kind of agency. Aside from a pretty gorgeous office, SBC is anything but your stereotypical agency. From cubicles, departments that have silo walls so high you don't even know who works in the dept, sexual harassment, and a serious lack of diversity; SBC doesn't seem to have a lot going for it (or maybe it does and losing key accounts is part of their overall strategy). It's a shame because there were/are some really talented people at SBC, but management is too out of touch to understand the relationships and value those team members provide to the agency. The pay is below average, the work boring, and it's a PC-friendly agency. Creatives get Macs, but outside of that hope you're a fan of Windows.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    isn't what you would expect.

    May 25, 2017 - Graphic Designer in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ummm. Location. Love being across the street from huntington park. You can wear anything you want, which is great when you have an old navy wardrobe budget...except when meeting with a client. And free parking, for the most part. If you have to park in the lot in the back 50, you are screwed. terrifying to walk there at night.

    Cons

    Look, I know Millennials are known for being spoiled, but that isn't me. My mother drilled in me the drive to be a hard worker. But, what SBC sold me on, when I was interviewing and before I started working here, is totally different from what working at SBC is all about. All through my time at CCAD, I had numerous people tell me there were two employers in CBUS that I should try and get a job with. Resource and SBC. So I interviewed, and the HR lady was all about we're a family. We play hard. We work hard. It's exciting. You'll work on some really cool accounts. It was a picture I couldn't help but fall in love with. Then I started working there. The people are miserable! They aren't mean or anything, they are so incredibly unhappy. All I hear from them is that things used to be so much better when "DD" was the CEO. The agency used to thrive, with new clients coming left and right. I saw pictures on our Intranet of parties that don't happen any more. it's horrible!! What makes things worse is that the executives promote this... really mean ... and I mean really really mean attitude. I've overheard fellow employees talking about other employees. I've heard the executives say horrible things about each other. And one guy really makes me..... feel uncomfortable. I can't say anything because he's high up in company. He's made me cry twice because he said I was worthless to my best friend/co-worker. And u can't say anything!! There was this really cute guy... a creative director... or something. and he was fired because he said something or someone overhead him ... i don't know. and they just fired him! And he was so incredible at what he did. And the CEO is the worst. He's never there and the last time I saw him... he looked at me like I was a piece of filth because I dared to say, 'Hi'. :( And the really worst part about it, is, that we have lost so many clients that there isn't enough work to go around. Someone you see one day is gone the next, and nobody tells us anything. I'm so sad and miserable, but I need this job. Just stay away. there are other agencies. I've already started looking. My heart is broken. I thought this would be so cool. it's not.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Salary

    Apr 5, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive salary, good team environment

    Cons

    Management shake up has had positive results

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Setting the record straight

    Mar 17, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working at SBC for quite a while, seen several different owners and management teams come through. Experienced the highs and lows of this business, there have been plenty over the years. I never paid much attention to these types of sites until a coworker mentioned it to me. Everyone is certainly entitled to their opinions, and I would never directly discount how someone feels. Shame on those that do. SBC is certainly in a time of transition. For those that have been in advertising for a while, we know clients will come and go. It's never easy loosing clients, aside from the financial impact to the business, there is an emotional toll too. There are friendships and working relationships that can get dislodged, individuals worry about their jobs. Agencies that have been around for a while know how to navigate this, first and foremost you have to get new clients and continue to pitch for new business, you never stop pitching, ever. I believe SBC has on-boarded about 4 new clients within the last 6 months, with several new business pitches in cue. In my opinion, the advertising landscape has evolved dramatically over the last few years and will continue. I see comments that talk about how good it used to be, and I agree that SBC's past has been very impressive and I am happy to have played a role, but there were just as many challenges back then as there are today. The only difference is now there is an online forum for us to share our views. It is interesting, if you go back far enough and read the SBC reviews, people say a lot of the same things about the previous leadership and owners of SBC. It is clear that a business will always have a certain amount of employees that are just not happy. I would also think that there aren't many that were asked to leave a job that are not disgruntled to even the smallest level. Some of the latest reviews, I have to admit seem like they are written by some of the same people based upon the context and wording. Honestly, I may be totally off base in stating that opinion, but I say that as someone who has been at this agency for a very longtime. Some comments do not even make any sense in the context of the day to day business. Everyone works hard, that is agency life, not just at SBC. The advertising business in general is fast-paced and a demanding business, clients have high expectations and want the most for their money. We always strive to deliver on those expectations. Some say that there is no work-life balance because of being so busy at SBC and others say they sit around without much to do. I put that on their individual managers and would say employees have to be accountable as well. One of the best things about working at SBC is they don't micromanage here, if you are good at what you do, you will elevate your coworkers and make clients happy. It's truly that simple. From that comes opportunity and growth. Like any business if you falter, continue to make mistakes time and time again, you wont be successful. People can try to push that blame on others, but we are responsible for our own actions (or inaction). This company does reward it's employees and celebrate it's success, I have been on the positive side of that equation several times. I will agree with those that have said SBC used to be a business that seemed to have its favorites, although I feel a lot of business' are like that when you get down to the core. The new CEO doesn't seem to be rooted in that philosophy though, he has made some personnel changes (that I have even questioned myself) that should prove that point. The company does try to say thanks to it's staff of employees for all of the efforts. Great summer and holiday parties are a longstanding tradition at SBC. Only comment I would say here is it would be nice to bring our significant others to holiday parties like we used to a few years ago. I realize the expense, but I have heard the same from several others. Most recently the company has even passed out annual 'Perks' to the entire staff. Everyone is given around $150 each to spend on all kids of things from massages to gym memberships, even gift cards. I have never experienced or heard of that at other places I have been involved with. The bottom line, you should work where you are happy. I think many might find the grass isn't all that greener working someplace else. But it is what you make of it. I like the challenge of working at SBC, I like the team I work with and most of the people I see everyday. Could I work someplace else, yes. Would it be better, maybe. But I love being in advertising, I love the challenge of winning new business. I want to work with people that share similar passions. SBC has been home to me for a long time, and I appreciate the opportunities I have been given.

    Cons

    Any business will have it's cons, just as our own life throws us obstacles regularly. I was never a big fan when we allowed our Digital group to beak away and form it's own company. While we still collaborate with that team on a regular basis, I feel it has left a void that is challenging to fill. On a positive note, we have very recently rebuilt the Social Media side of our business. But we have to find a better way to collaborate with our Digital business partners. We have also seen the PR side of our business take some very big hits over the last year. I am not close enough to have a strong point of view, but I know several of the large PR clients were lost, which lead to that team structure having to be reduced tremendously. Leadership hasn't done a great job communicating a go-forward plan on how we are going to rebuild that competency. Or if that is even something we are still interested in pursuing as a business. It is true that work-life balance is challenged at times. I know from my perspective you just have to say no sometimes, as hard as that is. The reality is that advertising has always been a business that challenges that balance. Some need to ask themselves if working in advertising is really going to be their cup of tea. On-boarding and employee policy needs some work at SBC. while things seem to be improving since the hire of the new HR Director, the pace seems too slow. Nit picky things like parking are a pain, but at least it is free to park.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 Reviews

SBC Advertising Reviews FAQs

SBC Advertising has an overall rating of 3.0 out of 5, based on over 43 reviews left anonymously by employees. 51% of employees would recommend working at SBC Advertising to a friend and 48% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, SBC Advertising employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at SBC Advertising. This rating has improved by 3% over the last 12 months.

51% of SBC Advertising employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated SBC Advertising 2.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.1 for culture and values and 3.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at SBC Advertising to be culture, management, coworkers and the cons to be benefits, career development, senior leadership.

Work at SBC Advertising? Share Your Experiences

or

Affiliated Companies

See all affiliated companies