KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

SCO Family of Services

Engaged Employer

SCO Family of Services

Add a Review

SCO Family of Services Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 309 of over 318 reviews

3.1
62%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
SCO Family of Services President and CEO Keith M. Little
Keith M. Little
54 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "often work off the clock, low pay, and not much room for growth(in 33 reviews)
  • "Biased management and a very high turnover rate(in 17 reviews)
  • "Low salary for all the work you have to do(in 15 reviews)
  • "Because leadership is absent, mid(in 7 reviews)
  • "Many of the supervisors have little to no experience or degree in the field.(in 7 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of SCO Family of Services and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Loved it here

    Mar 29, 2022 - Direct Care Worker in Dix Hills, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love being part of this organization because they do so many good things

    Cons

    Low pay for some of the positions

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Ok

    Jun 11, 2022 - Special Education Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good experience and training . Ability to learn a lot

    Cons

    Underpaid, big workload, lots of need for improvement with company

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SCO Family of Services Response

    HR Specialist of Recruitment and Retention

    Thank you for your feedback! It’s great to hear that you were able to benefit from our growth and development opportunities during your time with us. We care about each member of our team and want to see them succeed. We would love to talk more about your concerns with your supervisor, please feel free to reach out to your HR Specialist to discuss these matters further to ensure improvement.

  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Horrible treatment of staff and families

    Jul 1, 2022 - Caseworker in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Genuinely none. You think you’ll be able to do a lot for a family but got really won’t, so many blocks from supervisors and ACS but they make it impossible for parents to be seen as making improvements

    Cons

    Terrible pay, barely any time off, harsh treatment of families and a million hoops for them to jump through, poor organization, high turnover, immense stress, they will refuse you overtime when it’s the only way you can actually get anything done, mess up benefits and pay, and tech is completely unhelpful and doesn’t fix anything. Benefits a joke. HR completely useless at their job and can’t even submit paperwork correctly. Nothing done timely. They also assign way more cases than their max caseload and claim it’ll be reduced soon without that actually happening. They make it a nightmare for families to get anything they are meant to and staff talk mean things all their families behind their backs and don’t even let new people make their own relationship. They also violate several labor laws

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Pros and Cons

    Jun 10, 2022 - Teacher in Dix Hills, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They pay pretty well for teachers in a private programs. We get all regular school holidays and vacations and four weeks in the summer.

    Cons

    School is open on snow days because the program is residential.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SCO Family of Services Response

    HR Specialist of Recruitment and Retention

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback! We continue to advocate for additional funding through our partners , and provide generous total reward packages for our employees!

  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Overworked and underpaid

    Jun 29, 2022 - Counselor in Deer Park, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers, cheap health insurance, that’s about it

    Cons

    Everything else. Mandated shifts, hostile working environment, low pay

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Okay

    May 27, 2022 - Recruiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a good place if you need flexibility.

    Cons

    Very hard to move up in the chain of command. Poor supervisors, under staffed and under paid.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    SCO Family of Services Response

    HR Specialist of Recruitment and Retention

    Thank you for providing feedback on our company. We always strive to provide a positive and inclusive environment for all who join our team, and we are sorry to hear that you did not have this experience. We will be providing your feedback to our HR department for further consideration, as we strive to provide an environment where employees feel they’re treated fairly and respected. Please feel free to reach out to your HR Specialist if you would like to discuss further and participate in an exit interview.

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    employed at SCO

    May 24, 2022 - Clerical Support 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good medical and dental benefits. Earn a sick day and a vacation day each month.

    Cons

    Never any raises for employees.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SCO Family of Services Response

    HR Specialist of Recruitment and Retention

    Thank you for your feedback! We continue to advocate for additional funding through our partners, and providing employees with competitive perks, and PTO package!

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Behavior Specialist

    May 17, 2022 - Behavior Specialist in Sea Cliff, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours, good amount of PTO, ability to move within the company, access to professional development and trainings

    Cons

    Unorganized, some unprofessional coworkers, lack of support from management

    1 person found this review helpful

    SCO Family of Services Response

    HR Specialist of Recruitment and Retention

    Thank you for your feedback! At SCO we are committed to employee advancement, and opportunities for growth. If you would like to provide more feedback about your experience, please reach out to our HR department directly.

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Awful Work Experience

    May 18, 2022 - Foster Care Case Worker in Jamaica, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very friendly co-workers, people are willing to help each other out

    Cons

    -high amount of work -little support from supervisors and management -very little appreciation for work/life balance -expected to work longer than expected -they take an hour off of your paycheck each day for lunch, but expect you to not take lunch off

    1 person found this review helpful

    SCO Family of Services Response

    HR Specialist of Recruitment and Retention

    Thank you for your feedback. We dedicate ourselves to the highest standards of practice and performance, and strive to achieve excellence and professionalism in all we do. It is our expectation that our staff hold themselves to these standards as well. If you would like to provide more feedback about your experience, please reach out to our HR department directly.

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Average Experience

    Apr 11, 2022 - Human Resources Administrative Assistant in Glen Cove, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Teams work well together Friendly staff

    Cons

    Poor top down management Pay inequity

    1 person found this review helpful

    SCO Family of Services Response

    HR Specialist of Recruitment and Retention

    Thank you for your feedback! We believe strongly in providing employees with autonomy and independence, in their roles, while having an open door policy and frequent communication. We continue to advocate for additional funding through our partners.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 309 Reviews

SCO Family of Services Reviews FAQs

SCO Family of Services has an overall rating of 3.1 out of 5, based on over 318 reviews left anonymously by employees. 62% of employees would recommend working at SCO Family of Services to a friend and 54% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 7% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, SCO Family of Services employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at SCO Family of Services. This rating has improved by 18% over the last 12 months.

62% of SCO Family of Services employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated SCO Family of Services 3.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.1 for culture and values and 2.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at SCO Family of Services to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, culture, management.

Popular Careers with SCO Family of Services Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SCO Family of Services? Share Your Experiences

or

SCO Family of Services Photos

+ Add Photo
SCO Family of Services photo of: SCO staff pride themselves on doing whatever it takes to help vulnerable New Yorkers.
SCO Family of Services photo of: Annual Taft Conference
SCO Family of Services photo of: Library
SCO Family of Services photo of: Madonna Heights
SCO Family of Services photo of: Bronx Arena High School Graduation
SCO Family of Services photo of: Employees who were honored at our 2018 Staff Recognition Dinner
SCO Family of Services photo of: Independent Youth
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Center For Family LifeFamily Dynamics
See all affiliated companies