SCS Global Services Reviews | Glassdoor

SCS Global Services Reviews

Updated January 6, 2017
39 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.7
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Stan Rhodes
2 Ratings

39 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "New Employee - Positive Experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
    Recommends

    Pros

    The HR team has been helpful, kind and informative; very positive on-boarding. The benefits are amazing.

    The training process has gone smooth and the team has realistic expectations in regards to the learning process and job duties. Extremely positive training experience.

    Cons

    There are none that I have experienced.


  2. "Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Programs deal in many different sectors and industries which keeps it very interesting. Mission based work with colleagues who care. Decent benefits and basic workplace wellness programs in place. Relaxed professional office atmosphere. Decent enough pay. Opportunities for learning and mentorship.

    Cons

    Service areas are siloed, creating divisions in programs that otherwise could be more comprehensive and integral in scope. Company is lacking overall unified strategy for service, innovation, and branding and employees often caught between upper management conflicts. CEO shifts direction often, such that priorities not always clear. Traditional hierarchical employee structure and outdated office (central cubicles surrounded by the outer view offices) is uninspi

    Advice to Management

    Seek third party facilitation and leadership development to bring all of your genius, passion, persistence, and success into a very clear and unified strategy that would inspire your world class employees to build the most impactful organization possible, creating tremendous abundance while improving the state of the world for future generations.


  3. "Good Company and nice working environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    I recently joined SCS and have really enjoyed working for this Company. The job interviews, hiring process, training and other job-related activities have been conducted in a very professional manner. Salary and benefits are very competitive and the HR department is very helpful in solving any issue or concern. Both of these, considerably better than in my previous Company. I have received great help and support from the HR department, co-workers and my superiors. And as a fairly new employee I see great opportunities for professional growth.

    Cons

    The choices in health care do not extend to all areas and can be limited for employees working remotely. However, the HR department is working on finding better options.

    Advice to Management

    Your efforts in helping new employees are much appreciated. Keep up the good work.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Nice people and good benefits"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Recently hired at SCS and so far I feel supported by my team. Though there is a lot of department specific information to learn, I don't feel pressured to absorb everything at once. The office cares about comfort, you can request more ergonomic aids. There's a subsidized monthly massage, nice outdoor area to eat lunch, and your schedule is flexible---you can come in earlier and leave earlier or vice versa. I feel comfortable discussing things with my superiors.

    Cons

    I think that cons depend on which department and program you work under. Some teams are more open and friendly than others. I don't really interact with many people outside of my program. The cubicle set up can be a bit depressing, there are some changes you can make to improve it, but the walls are still quite high.

    SCS Global Services Response

    Oct 7, 2016 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for your review! As the new Human Resource Director, I am working on improvements at SCS and your feedback helps me address the issues our employees have straightaway. We are currently ... More


  6. "Good mission, poor leadership"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCS Global Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The staff here are all very like minded and committed to the environmental and social mission of the company. Projects are interesting and there is autonomy given to staff.

    Cons

    There is a leadership void at the top. Senior leadership lacks a sense of vision or strategy. It's unclear how decision making is made. The organization misses out on growth opportunities and high profile clients due to this ineptitude.

    Advice to Management

    It's hard to provide much advice to management as all decisions within the environmental division are made by Stan Rhodes. The forestry side of the business is much, much better run.

    SCS Global Services Response

    Oct 7, 2016 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for your review! As the new Human Resource Director, I am working on improvements at SCS and your feedback helps me address the issues our current and former employees have. If you are ... More


  7. "Dead End Job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SCS Global Services full-time

    Pros

    Good work/life balance
    Coworkers are frequently nice

    Cons

    Leadership does not care about employee development or advancement
    The relationships between the various leaders are dysfunctional and toxic. There is very little trust. This results in conflicting guidance provided to employees who are inevitably "caught in the middle."
    Salaries are low and benefits are poor; the explanation given to employees is that SCS is a "mission driven company" and "like a nonprofit" and so employees should be satisfied. SCS is not a non-profit, and is very much bottom-line driven, SCS' competitors are much more competent than SCS, so it must pay salaries like a nonprofit to even stay afloat.
    Casual sexism abounds.
    Steer clear of this place.

    Advice to Management

    Retire.

    SCS Global Services Response

    Oct 7, 2016 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for your review! As the new Human Resource Director, I am working on improvements at SCS and your feedback helps me address the issues our current and former employees have. If you are ... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work for the environmentally mission driven"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SCS Global Services full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Working at SCS you will feel good about what you do. Everything we work on makes a real difference to the environment and to workers needing protection across the globe.

    Cons

    Tendency toward top down management means sometimes decisions affecting many are made for the wrong reasons without considering all the relevant factors.

    Advice to Management

    You have extremely competent people in leadership positions. Listen to what they have to say and make business decisions deliberately and with good counsel.

    SCS Global Services Response

    Oct 7, 2016 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for your review! As the new Human Resource Director, I am working on improvements at SCS and your feedback helps me address the issues our current employees have. If you are open to more ... More


  9. "Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Emeryville, CA
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Emeryville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SCS Global Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Exciting, fast paced, conveniently located in Bay Area

    Cons

    Drama beyond belief. Management tone deaf to worker's basic needs. Little to no chance for advancing. Favoritism in most of the company. Abusive supervisors are tolerated by mgt.

    Advice to Management

    Get professional and a real HR staff or quit as a company.

    SCS Global Services Response

    Oct 7, 2016 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for your review! As the new Human Resource Director, I am working on improvements at SCS and your feedback helps me address the issues our current and former employees have. If you are ... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Potential. People. Purpose."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    The title says it all on the pro side: the industry has tremendous opportunity for growth; the people are smart and driven, the purpose of the company is mission-aligned for almost everyone at the company.

    Cons

    Decision-making at the top tier is squishy. Mentorship of high-potential employees is limited, though self-directed growth is acknowledged, appreciated, and often rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    Executive coaching for the top individuals and the executive team could yield substantial benefits to the entire company: culture, productivity, growth.

    SCS Global Services Response

    Oct 7, 2016 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for your review! As the new Human Resource Director, I am working on improvements at SCS and your feedback helps me address the issues our current employees have. If you are open to more ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Great people to work with"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SCS Global Services full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Everyone at SCS believes in its mission. This creates a very positive work environment because everyone cares about doing a good job.

    Cons

    Because of the diverse set of services offered, the company acts like 20 small companies in some ways.

    Advice to Management

    Concentrate on business management and principles. That's where we have the greatest opportunity to support our growth.

    SCS Global Services Response

    Oct 7, 2016 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for your review! As the new Human Resource Director, I am working on improvements at SCS and your feedback helps me address the issues our current employees have. If you are open to more ... More



Showing 39 of 39 reviews
Reset Filters