SDL Reviews | Glassdoor

SDL Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
SDL CEO Adolfo Hernandez
Adolfo Hernandez
19 Ratings
  1. "Help the teacher and kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paraprofessional in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Love making children happy and be successful in school

    Cons

    They pay to poor for what all the paraeducator do all day and also when they translate every day without pay

    Continue reading
    SDL2019-07-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Very disorganized structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Linguistic Tester in Superior, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SDL for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere but that’s about it

    Cons

    Very disorganized, schedulers contact you for a project but you may show up and being told to turn around and go home without any sorts of compensation offered. Most of the testing projects are delocalized in eastern countries for cost cutting so based on the language you speak it may be very slow. I would say go for it if you are in between job but don’t expect to make a decent salary out of it.

    Continue reading
    SDL2019-07-06
  3. "Awesome place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in New York, NY

    I worked at SDL for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of PMs are really patient and they want us to make the most out of it here.

    Cons

    Not so much. I had a pleasant experience here.

    Continue reading
    SDL2019-04-19
  4. "Decent experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Testing Contractor in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SDL for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's good money if you're in-between jobs. Nice people, easy training.

    Cons

    It's not really tenable as a side gig or at least wasn't for me because they didn't offer any weekend or night hours. Also no option to work from home.

    Continue reading
    SDL2019-03-27
  5. Helpful (16)

    "Toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Writer in Wakefield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good people, some horrible people.

    Cons

    It is a toxic environment. Lots of managers with too much ego.

    Continue reading
    SDL2019-03-22
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Management is very poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Superior, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Majority of the team members are enjoyable to work with.

    Cons

    Management has no clue on what is going on within their departments and does not provide a vision or guidance.

    Continue reading
    SDL2019-03-11
  7. Helpful (19)

    "Great company on a cost cutting mission to irrelevancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exciting products, global company offering chance to work with people around the world

    Cons

    SDL has jerked back and forth from being on course with solid management, to off course, to on course and back off course. Unfortunately it's off course and doing drastic uninformed cost cutting to appease investors upset about falling market valuation.

    Continue reading
    SDL2019-03-06
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Typical corporate environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Superior, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of resources, financial / industry prowess

    Cons

    Siloed, bureaucratic, inflexible, unorganized, unstructured

    Continue reading
    SDL2019-02-26
  9. "Best Job I've Had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Presentation Specialist in Superior, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SDL for less than a year

    Pros

    The People are friendly and were helpful in training me since I had no prior experience. I enjoyed the work I did there and never dreaded going to work. The company culture is good and I was told by others that it didn't use to be that way.

    Cons

    Because people can work remotely the office would sometimes be fairly empty.

    Continue reading
    SDL2019-01-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company reputation, excellent benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent management, flexible work life balance, great time off and benefits, travel opportunities

    Cons

    base salary could be higher, commission plan could be higher

    Continue reading
    SDL2018-11-07

    SDL Response

    November 12, 2018Executive Team

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We continuously benchmark our salaries and commission plans against the market and believe that our current offerings are competitive in the LSP market. We are focused on our employee experience and the bigger picture and trust that your 10 years with SDL have been positive and rewarding and continue to be so.

    Continue reading
Found 102 reviews