SDL Project Manager - Localization Reviews | Glassdoor

SDL Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 88 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
SDL CEO Adolfo Hernandez
Adolfo Hernandez
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (23)

    "You'd be on the way out soon too."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Superior, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -International experience -Work with people around the world -Decent healthcare and benefits

    Cons

    -Very high turnover -Company constantly cuts costs including firing CEO, CMO, President, CTO and dissolving entire divisions without much thought, then the employee left must take on roles that were let go on top of their original role and others they've absorbed -Very low company morale and trust of executives -High risk for job loss due to solutions being divested so frequently and monthly changes -Cold HR department....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Improve company morale -Don't make jokes when people lose their jobs -Appreciate employees -BE TRANSPARENT!

    SDL2016-04-01
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Pre-Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wakefield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SDL

    Pros

    Good solid products with well know referenceable accounts. Co-workers are helpful and jump in when needed at a moment's notice.

    Cons

    Change executive management every 1.5 - 2 years and then fail to let them execute on their vision. I was there 5 years and the executives were constantly being replaced. Now a board member runs the company while they look for a new CEO. Upper management tends to drink the cool aid and not hear what is going in the field.

    Advice to Management

    Decide what you want the company to be when you grow up. Spin off your non-core businesses and actually put a plan in place and see it through to fruition.

    SDL2016-03-10

    SDL Response

    April 24, 2017Global Head of HR and Employee Experience

    Hi, thanks for the review. I understand that change can be unsettling, but we truly believe that the changes we have made have been for the better in order to help us grow and seize new market opportunities. We now have a settled executive team who all have a clear strategy and objectives ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (20)

    "PJM Nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Project Manager in Superior, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SDL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are good people and have a good time and get into the holiday spirit. They do Friday beer socials which is nice if you are ever able to complete your work in order to partake (rarely). They do offer you good benefits including a nice health club membership subsidy.They bring in breakfast burritos on the first Monday of every month and then they bring other food/meals on occasion.

    Cons

    - Your opinion does not matter. Provide your opinion on how to tackle a project, receive different instructions from manager, client is not happy with deliverable, manager yells at you and says you should have done what you had originally suggested. There is not right answer and you will always be at fault. - Extremely HIGH turnover if you are looking to make a career at a company this place is not for you. There is...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging people let them run their projects and when they make mistakes work with them to learn from these and grow. Having a positive attitude rather than a negative attitude goes a long way. This is how a leader grows a good team and foundation not through intimidation and lack of trust. Obviously these were just my opinions of things that either happened to me or I noticed while working here. I know people...

    Show More
    SDL2016-02-24
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Good for freelancers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freelance Project Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SDL

    Pros

    - I have always been paid on time - Stable company - professional staff - freelancers telecommute and can live around the globe

    Cons

    - Company is squeezed by their customers and rates for freelancers would be better if they were higher - Not easy to get accepted as freelancer - If the customer account ends, it is likely that your project will end too

    Advice to Management

    - Try to keep good freelancers even if their main accounts stop doing business with SDL by moving them to other accounts

    SDL2016-01-15
  5. Helpful (24)

    "Stay far away, troubled company with no soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Wakefield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Global company with no cost controls, so easy to see the globe with almost no approval necessary.

    Cons

    Revolving door due to poor management, no vision, no strategy, confused product portfolio, no technology vision

    Advice to Management

    Well since you just changed it again, perhaps find a path and stay on it more than 9 months at a time. Don't hire people away from stable positions when you plan to lay them off a year or two later. This is a continued public pattern and has been for years. Maybe just break up company and sell off the pieces asap.

    SDL2015-12-29
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Drowning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Amsterdam, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amsterdam location near the arena, Language part of the company is healthy and good.

    Cons

    Marketing software side of the company is going down rapidly. Analyst reports are not what it was a couple of years back, knowledge is disappearing because people leaving the company. HR does not care at all. Re-structuring every year and no results. Good salary but won/t last more than 2 years maximum.

    SDL2015-11-03
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good educational experience. Exposure to lots of different activities.

    Cons

    I am shocked that the salaries shown here are the same as what they were over 5 years ago. I guess all the profits are going straight to the owner. Outside of that, there were some very difficult people that worked there, and management did nothing to get them in line. If I still worked there, I would have either filed some harassment claims by now, or broken some skulls.

    Advice to Management

    Hold your upper managers accountable.

    SDL2015-09-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Nice while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategic Account Executive in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SDL for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Team, Meh Products, They did the best they could.

    Cons

    Being acquired on the cheap is never good. At least they tried.

    Advice to Management

    We did our best to stay afloat vs. just letting the company die. Kudos to that.

    SDL2015-09-10
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Director Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CXM sales executive in Tyngsboro, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great support system and resources. Some very smart people and great coworkers. Flexible work schedule and time off / vacation. .

    Cons

    Pay isn't comparable to market. Laughable another upper man agent turnover and new strategy. No one is steering this ship.

    Advice to Management

    Potential gone so far south. Sooner or later top level leadership needs to take responsibility. You can only try so many new regimes, reorgs and strategies.

    SDL2015-09-19

    SDL Response

    February 23, 2016

    Hi, thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not leave SDL with a positive experience. We have a very committed Executive Team that continues to make decisions that will drive the business forward. I wish you well in the future. Regards, Dominic.

  10. "Software Engg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Andover, MA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Truly global company with opportunities.

    Cons

    Some Business Units get more attention

    Advice to Management

    Do not make too many changes

    SDL2015-06-19

    SDL Response

    June 25, 2015CTO

    Just want to thank you for your submission!

Found 88 reviews