SDL Reviews | Glassdoor

SDL Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 90 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
SDL CEO Adolfo Hernandez
Adolfo Hernandez
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Director Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CXM sales executive in Tyngsboro, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great support system and resources. Some very smart people and great coworkers. Flexible work schedule and time off / vacation. .

    Cons

    Pay isn't comparable to market. Laughable another upper man agent turnover and new strategy. No one is steering this ship.

    Advice to Management

    Potential gone so far south. Sooner or later top level leadership needs to take responsibility. You can only try so many new regimes, reorgs and strategies.

    SDL2015-09-19

    SDL Response

    February 23, 2016

    Hi, thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not leave SDL with a positive experience. We have a very committed Executive Team that continues to make decisions that will drive the business forward. I wish you well in the future. Regards, Dominic.

  2. "Software Engg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Andover, MA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Truly global company with opportunities.

    Cons

    Some Business Units get more attention

    Advice to Management

    Do not make too many changes

    SDL2015-06-19

    SDL Response

    June 25, 2015CTO

    Just want to thank you for your submission!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture and vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    R&D in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL

    Pros

    SDL has a grand vision to help customers deliver superior digital experiences to their customers through highly innovative customer experience management solutions.

    Cons

    SDL has some BIG competition! The company is also highly geographically dispersed, presenting logistical challenges to collaboration. The company's geographic diversity is also a source of strength.

    Advice to Management

    Continue regular communication to align all aspects of the business to the company's vision.

    SDL2015-05-21

    SDL Response

    June 11, 2015CTO

    Great to read your review submission, thank you for that. I totally agree we need to continue communication to ensure we will remain aligned.

  4. Helpful (7)

    "Field sales in US. Promising market position, poor execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SDL

    Pros

    Decent comp plan and at the time, competitive product.

    Cons

    Very difficult culture, somewhat condescending toward US employees, very high pressure from sales mgt.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your customers and tenured field employees.

    SDL2015-04-01
  5. "Awesome place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Boston, MA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been with SDL for a year now. It's a fast paced, fun place to work. The culture, passion of the people, and products are some of the best things about the company. I never used to pay much attention to culture, it always seemed sort of soft and wooly to me but I've come to appreciate how important it is. I'd describe SDL's culture as transparent, driven, one where every employees voice is sought out (very... different than many other places), long term focused (so unusual in our industry) and customer focused. People here are passionate about helping customers and colleagues alike. There's a can do, hard charging attitude driven from the top, layered on top of a family atmosphere which means it's great fun as opposed to hard work.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is growing and there are growing pains, but the focus on continual improvement is noticed and means they'll get there.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to your teams at all levels of the company, retain the informal non-hierarchical communication and keep investing in your people.

    SDL2015-03-07
  6. Helpful (5)

    "It's a great place to be Global!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time

    Pros

    Good, trustworthy and knowledgeable people, both in leadership and employee roles, many of whom have worked with this company for many years--not just a few months. Excellent product and services vision and strategy that has put SDL in the pole position for Global Customer Experience. Web, knowledge, content, insights and analytics, languages--and the understanding to put it all together. And giving back to the... community through the SDL Foundation, and support--no, the active encouragement--of employee's donation of time to worthy causes.

    Show More

    Cons

    Global company, so you may need to be flexible in working hours. I don't think that's a con, just something to be aware of if you are not used to working in a global environment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. All recent results show SDL heading in the right direction!

    SDL2015-02-17

    SDL Response

    May 27, 2015CTO

    Thank you for the feedback, Happy to read that you acknowledge we are heading towards the right direction, hope you still feel the same as I am only now commenting on your submission. I just got access to this functionality, but didn't want to skip yours. Cheers.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Challenging and fun company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Superior, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL

    Pros

    Always learning and the job is challenging enough to always be developing my skills and continuously pushing myself to grow. Great work is recognized and it's fairly easy to work your way up as long as you work hard, meet your objectives and understand what is needed from the company. Working environment is relaxed, but everyone works extremely hard (this is a challenging industry). Office is fun to work in because... of the great employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    There was a rough history in the Superior, CO office (2+ years ago) which the office has been working its way back from. A lot of employees have negative memories from that time (previous management who is no longer there) but the office has come a long way. Job can be stressful at time if you're not used to face paced project management work (but that's what makes this job rewarding too).

    SDL2015-02-24

    SDL Response

    February 23, 2016

    Hi, thanks for this review. Our employees’ experience is very important to us and I am glad you are enjoying your time at SDL. The Superior office is a fantastic office with very hard working and talented people. It’s great to hear that you enjoy your role and with the launch of MyLX ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (3)

    "A truly global company with solid vision and flexible working environments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director Marketing in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance,flexibility, people, vision, values, leadership, culture, medical benefits, salary/promotions

    Cons

    internal communications, professional development, review process

    SDL2015-02-12

    SDL Response

    July 13, 2015Chief Marketing Officer

    Thanks so much for your review. I'm glad to hear that you are finding good work-life balance, vision, and leadership -- and I'm also happy to take a few things to work on in terms of internal comms and professional development!! Always glad to see what we need to focus on to improve ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Absolutely no direction and Management is a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise District Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people want to see this company succeed but they are losing way to many deals to the competition

    Cons

    new management is horrible and are going to drive the company in the wrong direction. I feel they are trying to build up the company so it can be sold

    Advice to Management

    leave

    SDL2015-01-27
  10. "I have worked with SDL as it grew from a collection of startups to become a leader in online customer experioence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Services in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great technologies, visionary leaders, global footprint, empowering culture

    Cons

    management turnover, lack of carrerr path

    Advice to Management

    Stick around for a while.

    SDL2015-01-25

    SDL Response

    July 20, 2016Global Head of HR and Employee Experience

    Hi, thanks your review. I am delighted you are having a positive experience here at SDL. We will continue to invest in our technologies to ensure that we continue to innovate. We have had a lot of change but change is quite normal for companies that strive to be leaders in their industry. ...

    Show More
Found 90 reviews
</>Embed