SDL Project Manager - Localization Reviews | Glassdoor

SDL Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 90 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
SDL CEO Adolfo Hernandez
Adolfo Hernandez
15 Ratings
  1. "Strong Culture, Management Team, and Poised for Successful Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL

    Pros

    Company has gone through a significant restructuring since founder and CEO Mark Lancaster came back about two years ago. Significant number of high calibre new hires, strong CXM strategy, very energetic and passionate culture, and after a tough 2013, the company is back to strong, profitable growth coming off 2014. Really and exciting time to be at the company. Company is a good size -- not too small, but not too... big.

    Show More

    Cons

    fast pace can be tiring at times, but mostly exciting.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the positive momentum going forward, and continue to communicate about new strategy and vision.

    SDL2015-01-23

    SDL Response

    July 13, 2015Chief Marketing Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. I'm glad to hear the strength of the CX vision is coming through to our employees and that the positive changes are shining through.

  2. Helpful (7)

    "Linguistic Specialist at SDL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Linguistic Specialist in Superior, CO
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SDL part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary rate per hour for a translator without experience. ($20 per hour). If you are native of a foreign language and you are educated they will probably take you if they are in need. Global company that will look good on your resume.

    Cons

    They pay well per hour but you will likely work very few hours because older employees will take all the hours available. You will ger assignments if they are in need but once they have it under control you will not get any more hours if you are not part of the clic. Training is horrible. Older employees will not teach you even when the manager asks them. If you don't learn you cannot take assignments from them.... This is the mentality there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The company could reduce turnover if they would divide the assignment a little better. Seniority is important but if the new employees don't make a minimum the company will keep spending money with training on employees that will stay only couple months.

    SDL2015-02-18

    SDL Response

    February 23, 2016

    Hi, thanks for this review and for your honest feedback. We have put a huge emphasis on learning and development and recently partnered with Skillsoft to provide an online learning environment for all employees. I wish you well in the future. Regards, Dominic.

  3. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager - Localization in Superior, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful people, responsibility at all levels, client interaction, global communication, flexibility schedules, average working hours, ability to make a difference at any level, great benefits (health insurance could not be better, good vacation package, 401k).

    Cons

    Lots of changes over time, seems to be on right track.

    Advice to Management

    Cross train more on technology.

    SDL2014-11-06

    SDL Response

    February 23, 2016

    Hi, thanks for this review. I am glad you are enjoying your time at SDL. We now have a Global Product Training team in place and a robust roadmap for creating new learning assets, which will be uploaded to our learning portal, MyLX, to enable employees to enhance their knowledge across ...

    Show More
  4. "So far so good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Cook and Bottle Washer in Wakefield, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Have worked at SDL for less than a year. Mostly positive feedback so far. The company is flexible for those who have families and may need to pick up/drop off children. Goals given to achieve quota are attainable. No "Micro-Managing" Staff in Wakefield all very friendly. Company philosophy to change is slow going but headed in a good direction. The future will be interesting if nothing else. Poised to be a leader in... CXM

    Show More

    Cons

    Changes are fast and furious. If you don't like something wait a few days chances are it will change. (Although they are working on making the company better so most changes are positive here, just many of them. Meetings, way too many. Management is a little reactive rather than proactive. If your looking for recognition SDL is not the place for you. Pay is good I'm happy with that.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize the leaders in your company on all levels with recognition. Incentive programs for employees,

    SDL2014-09-18
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Lack of business ethics and empathy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Superior, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers were good Lower-level team management was engaged Plenty of opportunities to learn new products and cultures

    Cons

    Company exploits workers by classifying full-time workers as contractors When confronted with legal/ethical issues they are shrugged off by HR/management Full-time employment held out as a carrot for "the future" No benefits, no health care Workers expected to work overtime for the same hourly rate due to contractor status Originally hired on as an "employee" but still lacking benefits, but at least getting... traditional overtime rates Serious split between regular workers and upper management - upper management was often unseen and unheard from Lack of any sort of transparency

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your workers fairly, do not try to exploit them. Listen to the concerns of your employees and discuss how those concerns will be acted upon. There are lots of good people at the company, but they will continue to leave regularly if they are not treated well.

    SDL2014-10-06
  6. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Researcher in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment, friendly company culture

    Cons

    Company is sold and acquired by different people so many times.

    SDL2014-08-19

    SDL Response

    March 14, 2016

    Hi, thanks for the review. I am glad you are enjoying your time at SDL. In light of the recent changes and the decision to divest the Social Intelligence business, I would like to take this opportunity to wish you well for the future. The Executive Team truly believes that the divested ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Archaic business ethic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Superior, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the brightest and most interesting people I have worked with. Possibility to create change within the company. Decent benefits. Free coffee. Over all, slowly (very slowly) getting better, over the past several years...

    Cons

    Internal change will always be met with resistance. Sorely lacking company culture and loyalty. Disconnect within the internal lines of communication as a whole company. No motivating factors or incentives for employees to achieve.

    Advice to Management

    This company has many resources which would allow the company to be successful, incentivize employees to go above and beyond. Currently there is absolutely no reason for anyone to do anything but match the status quo other than personal achievment. This company should be about empowering the employee, not by amusing the VPs of their whimsical wants.

    SDL2014-08-27
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Top heavy management, no interest in supporting employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Superior, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues, good benefits, good office culture.

    Cons

    Poor compensation, little mobility, middle management has little actual control, lack of support, impossible to take vacation, expected to work around the clock for clients, arbitrary scores in "reviews", no real focus on growth and development, ancient technologies make the job difficult, high turnover, expectations not lined up with compensation

    Advice to Management

    Invest in Language Services--there are easy technological solutions to make Project Management jobs less time-intensive. Hire the right people, don't expect Project Managers to double as trainers without pay. Introduce merit-based bonuses, don't prime specific people to move up and take all the money from the "salary increase" pot and tell other employees there isn't enough to go around.

    SDL2014-09-02

    SDL Response

    March 14, 2016

    Hi, thanks for the review and for your honest feedback. We had made a lot of changes in the last year and a half, which have included rolling out various SDL wide global business applications to ensure that our people have the tools they need to carry out their role effectively. We ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "SDL is a highly political organization with some very strong products and services."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very strong product lines. Awesome policies towards vacation/time off. Stable business. If this company could get out of it's own way there is a chance that they could be a REAL player in the CX space.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy like you read about in books. I'm not sure I've ever heard of anyone getting promoted. A lot of people simply come to work at 9 and leave at 5. Not a very driven organization.

    Advice to Management

    Collaborate more. Think long term with long term technical interrogations. This company is not a good fit for ambitious people.

    SDL2014-07-30
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Management Mis-steps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Superior, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid reputation within localization industry. Customers say service and quality is strongest in industry. Overall customer experience management that gives customers overall global approach.

    Cons

    Reporting into a manager who can not be trusted or provide direction to team. Shot gun approach rather than focusing on a strategy and see where it goes. Commission plan is not set up for success.

    Advice to Management

    Build a foundation of trust within teams. Have remote management meet with teams on a more regular basis.

    SDL2014-07-22

    SDL Response

    March 14, 2016

    Hi, thanks for the review. I’m really glad to hear your comments regarding the service and quality we provide for our customers. I’m very proud of the Language Services group for continuing to meet these high standards, which is demonstrated year-on-year in our customer satisfaction ...

    Show More
Found 90 reviews
</>Embed