SDL Project Manager - Localization Reviews | Glassdoor

SDL Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 90 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
SDL CEO Adolfo Hernandez
Adolfo Hernandez
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Joined a company I think is positioned for big growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Wakefield, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All the basics are here - good pay, good people, good benefits, etc. But you can find that in a lot of places. What I really like is where we are positioned in the marketplace and the opportunity in front of us. SDL has great products with strong competitive advantage - and they are getting better with integration. Management understands the challenges and opportunities in front of us and I see their actions backing... up their strategy to help us grow.

    Show More

    Cons

    This company has been through a lot of change in the past 18 months (some of it very tough for the people here - as a reader of these reviews has probably seen). And there are still things that need to be fixed and some people who carry some baggage from past experiences - and they likely have good reasons to. But so far I haven't seen any of that get in the way of us moving forward.

    Advice to Management

    Believe in your Vision and Strategy and keep investing in the people that will make it happen.

    SDL2014-05-23

    SDL Response

    July 13, 2015Chief Marketing Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on SDL less than one year in. I appreciate your comments on our strong positioning and competitive advantage, and also your candid feedback on bringing our longer tenured employees through the positive changes at SDL. Definitely ...

    Show More
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Wakefield, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team environment and awesome managers. Reorganization of the company was tough on some employees, but the big picture is to create one great SDL. My Team goes on lunches and does activities that SDL sometimes funds. We also have regular company updates hosted by the CEO and Chief Executives. Most importantly, your voice is heard no matter your role at SDL. I have never felt that I couldn't speak up for fear... that what I was saying wouldn't matter.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes I get cold in the office, thats about as bad as it gets. They give us all personal space heaters. I really enjoy working here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the company updates and explanations to what the company is striving for next.

    SDL2014-05-23
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Its 2 stars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Localisation Project Manager in Superior, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time

    Pros

    Lets be honest, its a job. Co-workers are awesome and the job is interesting

    Cons

    Management needs to learn to be good managers. They are slow on good decisions or necessary ones. One the other hand, they are really fast to implement useless policies which only adds to the workload.

    Advice to Management

    Listen and act on what everyone that reports to you say's. Look here for some suggestions.

    SDL2014-05-23

    SDL Response

    March 14, 2016

    Hi, thanks for the review and for your honest feedback The Superior office has been through a lot of change since you left this review and I hope that you’ve seen a lot of improvement. We have a great team in the Superior office who are very dedicated and hardworking and we have put ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Used to have horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Louisville, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SDL has a decent reputation amongst large clients for its services. They are process oriented, which is what large clients with lots of content want. Operations is very involved with sales deals.

    Cons

    SDL Language Services used to have the worst of the worst management. All culprits finally got fired at the end of 2013. I have never worked for a company that valued the sales team less and I would not recommend going there as a sales person.

    Advice to Management

    Luckily, they've fired the bad management. My advice is to speak with the people who have been there for a few years to get a good understanding of the state of the company as it is now.

    SDL2014-03-05

    SDL Response

    March 14, 2016

    Hi, thanks for the review and for your honest feedback. I am sorry that you had a mixed experience at SDL. The Superior office has been through a lot of change in the last 2 years and we did carry out an employee workshop to delve deeper into the concerns of colleagues. We are committed ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Stuck with legacy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, atmosphere in the research team is very good with a lot of diverse backgrounds. Some parts of the team strive for constant improvement with lots of new ideas and technology. Work-life balance is quite good.

    Cons

    While some teams innovate constantly, others are stuck in decade-old processes without much innovative touch. What worked 10 years ago for a start-up does not necessarily work as part of a much larger company. Communication is not optimal, neither within teams nor across. This can be very demotivating. Compensation is on the lower end of the spectrum.

    Advice to Management

    Don't rest on your laurels! Innovation and improvement needs fierce motivation and hard work. Teams are demotivated since processes are rusted. Try pushing individuals out of their comfort zone. Without breaking through complacency, the future looks grim.

    SDL2014-02-09
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Global company lacking global insight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large, stable company. Potential for travel if your job requires it. Good benefits. European attitude towards holidays and time off (in other words, lots of it).

    Cons

    Below average pay. Lots of Bureaucracy. Basically a European (UK) company that doesnt really get the US work ethic. A particularly strong resentment towards US pay scales, particularly west coast. Employees are too often treated as commodities.

    SDL2014-01-28
  7. Helpful (6)

    "New strategy each year. Inconsistent expectations."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Industry leading products and solutions.

    Cons

    Chaotic and disorganized. Poorly Managed, no useful guidelines to abide by.

    Advice to Management

    Come up with a more consistent strategy each year so that the employees know what to expect.

    SDL2013-11-12
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Tough place to work with little accommodation, difficult management and poor client relations."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is lots of opportunity to work very challenging goals with an interesting and diverse client base. The upper management is largely hands off allowing the teams to meet production goals with alternative solutions. As the developer of standard localization software working at SDL gives you an opportunity to develop localization skills and provides direct support for the software. SDL's network of linguists and... production teams allows a huge amount of content to be processed very fast.

    Show More

    Cons

    Management provides little to no support. Account Management has very poor relationships with established clients. Sales has very little understanding about offerings, process and timelines making new sales accounts difficult to manage. Communication within the office and between offices is very bad. The culture is very difficult, little to no community experience outside of complaining about management. SDL takes... full advantage of poor wages in other countries to improve profits without investing in those network offices. Production expectations are very high without providing proportional compensation and wages are 15% to 20% lower than industry standard. Personal development and promotions only happen when someone leaves, and turnover is very high.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Promote slower at lower levels and prevent high turnover in middle management. Develop better relationships between offices, departments and resources. Balance workload and expectations better to prevent turnover. Treat production teams with respect and increase focus on internal business ethics.

    SDL2013-10-20
  9. "Not a bad experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Java Developer in Wakefield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stability and a reasonable pace and work schedule.

    Cons

    Not particularly exciting. Pay raises are small with long time periods in between.

    Advice to Management

    provide more opportunities for advancement

    SDL2013-10-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "On path to consolidation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rich set of products . Existing technology. High on execution .

    Cons

    Highly distributed organization which makes it very challenging to navigate the politics. Some division are get more than.

    SDL2013-04-14
Found 90 reviews
</>Embed