SDL Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales

SDL Sales Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
0%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
SDL CEO Adolfo Hernandez
Adolfo Hernandez
1 Ratings
  1. "Awesome place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Boston, MA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been with SDL for a year now. It's a fast paced, fun place to work. The culture, passion of the people, and products are some of the best things about the company. I never used to pay much attention to culture, it always seemed sort of soft and wooly to me but I've come to appreciate how important it is. I'd describe SDL's culture as transparent, driven, one where every employees voice is sought out (very different...

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is growing and there are growing pains, but the focus on continual improvement is noticed and means they'll get there.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to your teams at all levels of the company, retain the informal non-hierarchical communication and keep investing in your people.

    SDL2015-03-07
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Challenged management and direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President of Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good document management and translation technology

    Cons

    Weak management and Lack of leadership direction.

    Advice to Management

    Reinvent the company to become more competitive in todays market

    SDL2017-11-14
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Director Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CXM sales executive in Tyngsboro, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great support system and resources. Some very smart people and great coworkers. Flexible work schedule and time off / vacation. .

    Cons

    Pay isn't comparable to market. Laughable another upper man agent turnover and new strategy. No one is steering this ship.

    Advice to Management

    Potential gone so far south. Sooner or later top level leadership needs to take responsibility. You can only try so many new regimes, reorgs and strategies.

    SDL2015-09-19

    SDL Response

    February 23, 2016

    Hi, thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not leave SDL with a positive experience. We have a very committed Executive Team that continues to make decisions that will drive the business forward. I wish you well in the future. Regards, Dominic.

  4. Helpful (6)

    "Field sales in US. Promising market position, poor execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SDL

    Pros

    Decent comp plan and at the time, competitive product.

    Cons

    Very difficult culture, somewhat condescending toward US employees, very high pressure from sales mgt.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your customers and tenured field employees.

    SDL2015-04-01
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Absolutely no direction and Management is a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise District Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people want to see this company succeed but they are losing way to many deals to the competition

    Cons

    new management is horrible and are going to drive the company in the wrong direction. I feel they are trying to build up the company so it can be sold

    Advice to Management

    leave

    SDL2015-01-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "SDL is a highly political organization with some very strong products and services."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very strong product lines. Awesome policies towards vacation/time off. Stable business. If this company could get out of it's own way there is a chance that they could be a REAL player in the CX space.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy like you read about in books. I'm not sure I've ever heard of anyone getting promoted. A lot of people simply come to work at 9 and leave at 5. Not a very driven organization.

    Advice to Management

    Collaborate more. Think long term with long term technical interrogations. This company is not a good fit for ambitious people.

    SDL2014-07-30
  7. Helpful (5)

    "New strategy each year. Inconsistent expectations."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Industry leading products and solutions.

    Cons

    Chaotic and disorganized. Poorly Managed, no useful guidelines to abide by.

    Advice to Management

    Come up with a more consistent strategy each year so that the employees know what to expect.

    SDL2013-11-12
  8. "Very smart people, bring your A game or go home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at SDL

    Pros

    Travel, working with smart people, world class customers, and great leadership.

    Cons

    Long hours, travel, A Game all day every day

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, and continue talking with both your customers and employees.

    SDL2012-03-16
  9. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Stuttgart
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It is a pleasant working environment. The colleagues are very helpful and motivated. The management communicates openly and regularly.

    Cons

    The strong centralization of the internal functions and systems is necessary, but is enforced with too much pressure. The focus on shareholders is too strong.

    Advice to Management

    Employees should not be constantly overwhelmed by ever higher goals. Some things take time even if it doesn't suit the shareholders. Employees first !

    SDL2018-11-07
  10. "Long term employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager in Cluj-Napoca

      I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good working environment. Professional teams with good knowledge of the market and the translation industry. Internationally well respected market leader

      Cons

      Quite hard to advance in the organizational hierarchy. Lack of visibility in the processes and quite challenging in terms of internal communication across regions.

      SDL2018-03-15
    Found 8 reviews