SDL Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

SDL Software Developer Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1 review

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
100%
Recommend to a Friend
SDL CEO Adolfo Hernandez
Adolfo Hernandez
0 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for, you won't regret it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Pittsford, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, projects, management, time off

    Cons

    I can't think of anything

    SDL2013-04-03
  2. "It depends much of team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Software Developer in Cluj-Napoca
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salaries, more benefits than in vast majority( like breakfast on every Friday), you have a very good life/work balance, they are open to solutions and things are not concrete-solid.

    Cons

    teams are too individual with their management, the manager of a team has too much freedom of how things are done and sometimes this is not a good idea, it depends very much o the capacity of the manager to organize the work and team.

    Advice to Management

    Try to implement a system that will link teams together and have the same work-style.

    SDL2018-12-14
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Cluj-Napoca
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A leader in the language technologies field

    Cons

    Different working conditions based on location.

    SDL2018-12-12
  4. "Overall a good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Cluj-Napoca
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SDL for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Highly Experienced team Professional environment Good benefits

    Cons

    Many layers of bureaucracy The aforementioned professional environment can sometimes be too professional

    Advice to Management

    Focus also on employees, not only on work.

    SDL2018-09-25
  5. "Web developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Developer in Kiev
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good salary, comphortable office, powerful workstation, bonuces, health insurance, free parking

    Cons

    I didn't find any negatives for me

    SDL2017-09-22

    SDL Response

    December 7, 2017Global Head of HR and Employee Experience

    Thanks for this review. Glad to hear that you are having a great experience at SDL. Regards, Roddy.

  6. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Ho Chi Minh City

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun team and very friendly.

    Cons

    doing many works not related to skill set

    SDL2017-04-27

    SDL Response

    July 11, 2017Global Head of HR and Employee Experience

    Thank you for this review. I’m glad that you experienced a fun and friendly team whilst you worked at SDL. I wish you well in the future. Regards, Roddy

  7. Helpful (8)

    "Stay to grow, leave to get rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    SDL has great mix of technologies, an amazing group of people and a generally very good working environment. There are lots of opportunities to grow and expand both knowledge and experience and to learn new things. Despite pressures from many sides, it's still possible to have a good work-life-balance.

    Cons

    A constant do-more-with-less culture. People are not rewarded when they grow and take on more responsibilities, resulting in a constant stream of the most talented people leaving. The almost semi-annual re-branding, re-positioning, re-organizing makes for a very confusing environment.

    SDL2016-04-06
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Java/Scala developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Amsterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time

    Pros

    During the time I have worked for SDL they proposed quite some challenging work that helped to grow my working experience quite a bit.

    Cons

    Load of work was not balanced. Salaries are quite low compared to other similar companies in the Randstad.

    Advice to Management

    Listen and act nicely on reasonable complaints from good and loyal employees. Put more effort to avoid that good people leave.

    SDL2015-02-04

    SDL Response

    May 27, 2015CTO

    First thank you for taking the time to submit this review. I am glad to hear you learned quite a bit at SDL, due to challenging work. I am sorry to read we didn't support you properly in balancing the load of work. Further we always listen to our employees and were possible we will ...

    Show More
Found 1 review