SDL Translator Reviews | Glassdoor

SDL Translator Reviews

Updated Jul 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1 review

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
0%
Recommend to a Friend
SDL CEO Adolfo Hernandez
Adolfo Hernandez
0 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Working at SDL is FANTASTIC."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Translator in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    According to me, SDL is best place to work. Environment and the infrastructure of SDL is suitable for work and career growth. SDL also provide the responsibilities to their employees according to their abilities, so they can perform batter.

    Cons

    Relatively understaffed which means you have more responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    Good job Managers..... keep it up!

    SDL2018-11-10

    SDL Response

    November 13, 2018Executive Team

    Thank you for adding your review. We value your feedback and wish you success in your chosen career.

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Much Ado About Nothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Translator in Superior, CO
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Attractive pay, dynamic environment, energetic people

    Cons

    Infrequency of work offers, poor communication, large number of supervisors who do not coordinate assignments well

    SDL2014-01-30

    SDL Response

    March 14, 2016

    Hi, thanks for the review and for your feedback. I am glad you are enjoying the environment you are working in, the Superior office has fantastic people that are very talented and hard working. Since you left this review I hope you have seen an improvement in employee communications, ...

    Show More
  3. "A good place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Translator in Santiago
    Recommends

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Since the day I started working at SDL Chile (almost three years ago), I have felt comfortable with the work environment, and the relationships I have had with other coworkers. I have received support and help to learn about translations, clients, and the dynamic of the job in general from my Line Managers and my boss. There has always been good communication between us, and I have never felt bad about asking something...

    Show More

    Cons

    The cons I have had are related to the workload we have had some days, and the few people the team has had to deal with that workload on those days. But the office is always looking for good resources to fil that gap. It is kind of not a matter that the office can completely control actually, as it depends on the people.

    SDL2019-07-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Long work hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interpreter/Translator in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to latest translation software. Global network.

    Cons

    Extensive work hours. Uncomfortably silent office.

    SDL2019-06-29
  5. "A nice place to work at as a translator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Translator in Santiago
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall, a good place to work. Working hours can be flexible, and we don't have to work outside the office hours. We're encouraged to make decisions and manage our times as long as we comply with the delivery times for projects. If you are interested in management, you can have a hand in some internal project management tasks as well. Managers foster a friendly working environment through internal activities.

    Cons

    Sometimes, working extra hours is inevitable when demand is high.

    SDL2019-05-17
  6. Helpful (5)

    "If you're a masochist, this job is for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Translator in Santiago
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They give you some benefits like leaving early, but you don't get to enjoy them because they give you around 12+ hours worth of work.

    Cons

    You work between 9 to 13 hours a day regardless if it's legal or not, management is non-existent, everyone is out for themselves, the job delivered can have mistakes as long as you're not the one making them.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who actually know how to manage people, who are aware of what's going on inside their own offices, people who really help others develop instead of putting them down.

    SDL2019-05-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Learn how to be bad at translation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Translator in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SDL for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of work to do

    Cons

    Really low rates. I too was promised the moon and got a coprolite. Reviewers that barely speak the language (seriously, as in newly arrived immigrants). Disconnected. PMs that don't know anything about translation. Strange place. Laughable quality of work which is never actually FRCA. Everything is always breaking.

    Advice to Management

    Meh

    SDL2019-05-23
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Translation Project Coordinator in Rome
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - collaborative environment that is company-wide - Great people, benefits, compensation potential, internal/external training - Compensation

    Cons

    - Small offices - Temporay contracts

    SDL2019-04-06
  9. "Highly recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Translator in Beirut
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SDL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - training and learning opportunities - constant reviews - friendly environment - gd management

    Cons

    - low salaries. Even the raises are very low

    Advice to Management

    keep it up

    SDL2019-03-15
  10. "Good to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Translator in Bangkok
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SDL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Clear career path - Reasonable salary - Good working environment - A big name in the industry

    Cons

    - Heavy workload - Tight timetable

    Advice to Management

    - Keep work balance with resource by adding more translator

    SDL2018-11-23
Found 1 review