SEB AB Reviews | Glassdoor

SEB AB Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 135 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
SEB AB CEO Johan Torgeby (no image)
Johan Torgeby
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "SEB New York"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SEB AB full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great corporate culture and values. Committed and very knowledgeable specialist colleagues globally who are open and share their expertise. Long term client relationship focus.

    Cons

    Administrative and regulatory burden is too high in banking these days.

    Advice to Management

    Make the most out of the opportunities in the Americas, with our strong platform.

    SEB AB2019-04-04
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Non Nordics / Caucasians Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SEB AB full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None in my experience

    Cons

    Non inclusionary environment. Very little cultural or ethnic diversity in the New York office. Little room for growth for Non Nordics. Below market wages.

    SEB AB2017-11-30
  3. "MA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at SEB AB

    Pros

    They were kind and eager to teach.

    Cons

    There wasn't much room for improvement.

    Advice to Management

    Advice would perhaps be to be more positive

    SEB AB2016-09-09
  4. "Going nowhere fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Equity Sales Manager und Prokurist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SEB AB full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great product solid local position. Strong Nordic franchise and still lot of talented people around. Good work/life balance a generally flat organization so opinions get heard.

    Cons

    Very Stockholm focused. Not focusing enough in growing the business. The bank is not leveraging on its strong local franchise in the international markets. Way to many middle managers and way too little gets done.

    Advice to Management

    Growth will come from outside of Sweden. Time to wake up.

    SEB AB2016-04-19

    SEB AB Response

    April 26, 2016HR Specialist, Employer Branding

    Hi, thank you for your input. Kind regards, SEB HR Employer Branding

  5. "Cash management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SEB AB full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Personal interactions due to small team

    Cons

    No growth or learning oppurtunities in NY.

    SEB AB2016-02-08

    SEB AB Response

    April 26, 2016HR Specialist, Employer Branding

    Hi, thank you for your input. Kind regards, SEB HR Employer Branding

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Gothenburg, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SEB AB

    Pros

    Good experience within the retail sector. Learning how retail banking works and bank products to customers. Knowing the standards programs of the company and what kind of department the company had. I would not say that the experience probably would be the same at all main retail banks in Sweden.

    Cons

    The were little knowledge about how to move within the company. Seemed like if you started to work at retail you would be stuck at a retail position. Within the retail sector it was a clear hierarchy and seemed rigid and difficult to move up from despite performance.

    Advice to Management

    Having it easier to move between departments and Other than that I don't have issue with the management. I felt that they provided good support but that could vary between offices and branches.

    SEB AB2016-01-11

    SEB AB Response

    April 29, 2016HR Specialist, Employer Branding

    Hi, thank you for your honest feedback. We will keep in mind the importance of working with internal movements. Kind regards, SEB HR Employer Branding

  7. "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SEB AB for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best reasons to work at SEB are they have a great work ethic, easy to advance with hard work, respect for their employees.

    Cons

    Long hours, all work is time sensitive so a little stressful.

    SEB AB2015-10-20

    SEB AB Response

    April 29, 2016HR Specialist, Employer Branding

    Hi, thank you for sharing your view on SEB. Kind regards, SEB HR Employer Branding

  8. "good work and nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SEB AB full-time

    Pros

    high salary and nice work

    Cons

    high load and overtime else

    Advice to Management

    nice

    SEB AB2014-10-16
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SEB AB full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are friendly, work environment is very professional.

    Cons

    No room for growth opportunities

    SEB AB2014-04-18

    SEB AB Response

    April 29, 2016HR Specialist, Employer Branding

    Hi, thank you for your input. Kind regards, SEB HR Employer Branding

  10. "Dream place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SEB AB

    Pros

    Amazingly professional and friendly atmosphere, people-oriented policies

    Cons

    Conservative approach to business development

    SEB AB2019-10-11
Found 135 reviews