SECURUS Technologies Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
46%
Recommend to a Friend
SECURUS Technologies CEO David Abel
David Abel
0 Rating
Pros
Cons
  • "The leadership team always gets stuck holding the bag for what upper management did(in 12 reviews)

  • "you are speaking with the family members of inmates that are very upset as it is, this company doesn't make things any better(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company - Under rated"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Carrollton, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SECURUS Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility to implement the latest and greatest technologies Opportunities not based on title/experience. Purely talend based Flexible work hours They hear you

    Cons

    No play area. No events Too many rushed releases

    SECURUS Technologies2020-05-03
  2. "Typical call center"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Carrollton, TX
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SECURUS Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    yearly raise, easy training , low stress job

    Cons

    poor management, poor assistance with employees for COVID-19

    SECURUS Technologies2020-06-03
  3. "Involved"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SECURUS Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great people, great product philosophy

    Cons

    not all together. Chasing tails

    Continue reading
    SECURUS Technologies2020-05-22
  4. "Telecommunications provider for incarceration facilities."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at SECURUS Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good fun-loving people. Relaxed dress code. Clean congregation areas.

    Cons

    Below average salaries. Touts bonuses as additional compensation but metrics are never met to warrant them.

    SECURUS Technologies2020-05-15
  5. "Very unfair departure after death of a spouse."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Service Administrator in Alto, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SECURUS Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    Steady income and benefits with gym membership 👍

    Cons

    After a long litigation with GTL they told me my position would be the same but instead my work was very intense and entailed gathering accounts from over 30 prisons into their database. Worked under a lot of stress on top of losing a spouse.

    Continue reading
    SECURUS Technologies2020-04-30
  6. "Unorganized and Toxic"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Support Supervisor in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SECURUS Technologies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They give lots of overtime because they cant keep anyone

    Cons

    Management plays the politics game along with favoritism. They dont care about the actual workers. The leadership team always gets stuck holding the bag for what upper management did. The building is full of messy miserable women and thats what makes most men not work there. The ones that do are there to get their mack on and never work. One guy is such a walking HR issue that he would make a porn star uncomfortable. RUN FAR AWAY unless you are going to the Dallas location. NO ROOM FOR GROWTH

    Continue reading
    SECURUS Technologies2020-03-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Tough Market Vertical, Interesting Adventure"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Carrollton, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SECURUS Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Broaden your life perspective and understand how jails and prisons operate

    Cons

    Difficult to be heard there, existing executive team is a bit stubborn.

    SECURUS Technologies2020-01-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Poor management, HR dishonest"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carrollton, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SECURUS Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learned how to better manage stress due to the immense stress.

    Cons

    Management has no management skills or professionalism. Managers talk badly about their employees in meetings where other teams are present. Management bullies their employees. HR does not listen and has friendships with employees. Management laughs at suggestions to improve the company. Company is terribly understaffed. Training is terrible. Changes are not communicated until an error is made and then you are held responsible for not knowing a change what was not communicated.

    SECURUS Technologies2020-02-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "The worst place ever"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SECURUS Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can't think of any at the time the place is ran like a babysitting facility.

    Cons

    Upper management here causes hostile work environment for all employees. No matter where you work at with the company you will find your self look for a job by week one. A lot of managers micro manager their teams to the point of exhaustion. Never been somewhere where weekly updates are almost daily along with keeping a task list of what you are doing daily. Do you know how annoying it can be to be monitored daily and hourly. This place thinks adults are children and need be monitor. I can say they hire anyone and I mean anyone nepotism is high here meeting people who are managers right out of college with no job experience is alarming. I have seen my coworkers leave within 5 weeks of starting high turnover is actually normal here.

    Continue reading
    SECURUS Technologies2020-01-27
  10. "Great Company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SECURUS Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company to work for! Great benifits and very supportive Management!

    Cons

    Can't think of any Cons.

    Continue reading
    SECURUS Technologies2019-12-09
Found 224 reviews