SEGA of America Reviews | Glassdoor

SEGA of America Reviews

Updated Feb 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
John Cheng
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Start Up With a Corporate Sugar Daddy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director of Ad Monetization in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SEGA of America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Medical/Dental/Commute Benefit 401K matching Relaxed atmosphere Helpful people Excellent hires Great downtown location near restaurants and bars Snacks always refilled Great brand and games Culture is enormously important from CEO down People stay with SEGA and come back regularly after sojourns to other companies

    Cons

    Wi-fi can sometimes be unstable which is frustrating There could be an additional bathroom Working from home is frowned upon It's strange people feel compelled to apologize to the entire group via email when they are running late (on the other hand I guess it's nice to know if certain people are just running late).

    Advice to Management

    Keep the focus on culture and product development.Fix the wifi.

    SEGA of America2017-08-19
  2. "It was in the 90s, and isn't relevant anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainer in Redwood Shores, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SEGA of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I played video games for a living

    Cons

    It wasn't much of a living

    SEGA of America2019-02-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at SEGA of America full-time

      Pros

      long days but stable with good people

      Cons

      it was a standard first QA job

      SEGA of America2018-09-28
    • "Coulda been one of the greats"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at SEGA of America full-time

        Pros

        If you're a fan of the properties

        Cons

        Lack of vision by Sega Corporate in Japan

        Advice to Management

        Advice would no longer be relevant as so much time has passed

        SEGA of America2017-12-10
      • "Old Style Management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at SEGA of America

        Pros

        location, games, car allowance benefit at the time

        Cons

        Too many men who didn't value women or their opinions.

        Advice to Management

        Be open to forward thinking, opinions of women.

        SEGA of America2017-03-23
      • "Lost potential due to company reorganization"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at SEGA of America full-time

        Pros

        Great co-workers Nostalgic companyto work for Good benefits

        Cons

        Reorganization of company obliterated us side of buisness

        SEGA of America2017-02-15
      • "Six Month QA Tester Stint"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at SEGA of America

        Pros

        - Kind colleagues. - Knowledgeable colleagues. - Fun environment.

        Cons

        - Financial troubles in the company led to a lack of continued work.

        SEGA of America2017-01-02
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great opportunity to work with fun brands and new technology"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at SEGA of America full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Working in the mobile division means you effectively are part of a small, entrepreneurial team. Mobile gaming is the next frontier for SEGA and will have lots to be excited about over the coming years. -Very experienced team and great talent -Fun brands and a chance to relive and deliver nostalgia to fans -Chance to work with teams across the globe and travel -Flexible work hours to accomadate collaboration iwth international...

        Show More

        Cons

        As an entrepreneurial unit within a large company, you will have to negotiate some bureaucracy from the parent company. With teams all over the globe you may have some very early meetings or very late ones.

        SEGA of America2016-11-24
      • Helpful (3)

        "It's Sega. A short lived and great experience."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at SEGA of America full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        We were a small mobile game developer bought out by Sega. We had lots of creative freedom, wore many hats and were appreciated. Sega has one of the best health plans out there. Worked with a great, talented and diverse team. Middle management cared about the employees.

        Cons

        As the company grew, a few important goals and player focus dwindled. Full company layoff by Sega of Japan because of this. Language barrier in communicating from Sega of America and Sega of Japan which resulted in taking too long to resolve issues.

        Advice to Management

        Assess projects that aren't failures and only scrap what isn't working; not the whole company. It is a great thing that many team members have a voice and are able to contribute in game design and play ideas; however, there is a time when management needs to make a final decision and keep continuity in a given project.

        SEGA of America2016-11-17
      • "Route Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pensacola, FL

        I have been working at SEGA of America full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Freedom, running route when I want to, money ok not great. Get paid contract amount to drive my car, reimbursement for fuel, vacation health benefits a portion is paid by company.

        Cons

        Use my own car, always loaded up with toys. Can't take vacation over black out days of Thanksgiving and Christmas. Have to try to fix machines when they break down, if possible. Collect money from stores.

        Advice to Management

        Raises every now and then would be good.

        SEGA of America2016-10-25
      Found 49 reviews