SEGA of America Reviews | Glassdoor

SEGA of America Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
John Cheng
12 Ratings
  1. "Good company. Great people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at SEGA of America

    Pros

    People were great and treated you like family.

    Cons

    Too much politics between HDQ in Japan and America.

    SEGA of America2015-09-17
  2. "Misc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SEGA of America

    Pros

    Family Culture. Excellent benefits and culture

    Cons

    Too much Politics between Japan and US. Too much Politics between US Companies

    SEGA of America2015-09-21
  3. "Growing and learning company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SEGA of America

    Pros

    growing and trying to change

    Cons

    still has long way to go at changning

    SEGA of America2015-08-23
  4. "Former mgmt team mgr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SEGA of America for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gaming is a fun business

    Cons

    Advancement is very limited since the Company is owned by a foreign (Japanese) parent

    Advice to Management

    Show more interest in the employees benefit and advancement

    SEGA of America2015-06-28
  5. "Fun People, Terrible Managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SEGA of America full-time

    Pros

    The people were amazing. Rich video game history and lots of terrific IP.

    Cons

    Executive Management from Japan was completely, and hilariously ill equipped for the job. Executive management was stuck in the 1980's with an antiquated sense of how the game industry works, which lead to poor decisions of when, and how to invest in the IPs. Sonic is a great example. the IP grew stale, boring, and each game was worse than the previous. Unless the Executive management is cleaned out - this company has...

    Show More
    SEGA of America2015-06-30
  6. "Worked Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Artist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SEGA of America

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, good to work with employees, studio was nice

    Cons

    Too many bad Sonic games, not enough benefits, pay was ok, and they didn't have the decency to shake my hand when I left

    Advice to Management

    Fix the Sonic Games. They continue to churn out junk that is not well respected in the gaming community.

    SEGA of America2015-06-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Full time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SEGA of America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people! I've met some of the greatest people in the industry here that are still pushing forward and trying to make great games.

    Cons

    The overseas management. On one hand it's Japan being completely out of touch and not being able to mask their disdain for spoiled, entitled Americans. The other hand is Sega Europe, who's sole mission to grab as much power and ownership over our games and processes that they can.

    Advice to Management

    I wish I had some advice to give. Since this office is being shuttered, it's too little too late.

    SEGA of America2015-04-27
  8. "Once strong but now gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SEGA of America

    Pros

    Fun team that did the best with what they had.

    Cons

    Good people but outpaced by the competition.

    Advice to Management

    Good luck with mobile

    SEGA of America2015-04-06
  9. "Friendly Global Workplace with a History"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SEGA of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Creative and talented coworkers. - Competitive and comprehensive benefits. - Good location with multiple commute options. - Great products with a long history in gaming.

    Cons

    - Frustratingly slow movement on opportunities. - Lack of vision with real steps to success. - Moral problems from downsizing. - Strange and cumbersome cross-region politics.

    SEGA of America2015-02-24
  10. "Sega, my second home for a long time, and a great experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Supervisor in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SEGA of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and a great atmosphere. Lots of variety in projects to work on, and many interesting challenges to overcome.

    Cons

    Bad business decisions, well above my pay grade. Money over quality was the general attitude there, and we missed out on some great opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Make less games, with more passion and heart poured into them.

    SEGA of America2014-12-18
Found 51 reviews