SEI Investments Reviews | Glassdoor

SEI Investments Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 419 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
SEI Investments CEO Alfred P. West Jr.
Alfred P. West Jr.
248 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Paid less than industry average, new management is penny pinching and over working employees(in 14 reviews)

  • "Very prevalent it's a "boys club" in senior management(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mutual Fund Accountant in Oaks, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SEI Investments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and people. Great work life balance

    Cons

    Things are slow to move

    SEI Investments2019-05-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "SEI Operations Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Analyst in Oaks, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SEI Investments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open environment to openly ask and receive help. Status is very minimal, everyone from entry level to the CEO sits at the same type of desk, no offices. Room to create your own processes and experiment with different software to your own ability.

    Cons

    Not a very competitive salary. In some cases a promotion means taking a paycut...which makes literally no sense at all. The hierarchy is very skewed, for example my supervisor literally did nothing and knew nothing, brought negative value to SEI and somehow was a supervisor.

    Advice to Management

    figure it out and pay your employees fairly. 3 people from my team have already left this year and i plan on doing the same.

    SEI Investments2019-07-31
  3. "Good benefits, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Office Regional Consultant in Oaks, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SEI Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits package and concierge services on site. Friendly people and nice work facilities. Also pretty good training.

    Cons

    Low pay, micro-managing. My department was very understaffed the whole time I worked at SEI causing extra work and stress which affected overall work environment and experience.

    SEI Investments2019-08-02
  4. "No Work Life Balance, going back to SS&C"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SEI Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not that I can think of.

    Cons

    They assure you during the interview that there is going to be work life balance, (how people don't take cabs after work) but this isn't the case. They will lie if they have to in order to get people into the door. Beware, I felt into their trap and I am very miserable Their pay is the lowest in the industry

    SEI Investments2019-08-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I worked as a Fund Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fund Accountant in Oaks, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SEI Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked 1 hour a day and got to watch 7 hours of Netflix for the rest of it.

    Cons

    I got a 30% raise when I left here, I learned zero skills for my next job. Terrible over priced food in cafe. Supervisors only communicate on instant messaging. Zero reason to work here if you care about your career

    Advice to Management

    Top executives could give zero fucs about young employees

    SEI Investments2019-08-04
  6. "Melt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in King of Prussia, PA

    I have been working at SEI Investments full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good environment , Diverse Employee,

    Cons

    Not competitive salary , Can’t work from home , Managers or team leads have no assigned cubicle or office

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    SEI Investments2019-06-10
  7. "Great culture and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Oaks, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SEI Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is very laid back and flexible. The company is pretty flat and has a lot of benefits, including working from home and discounted stock.

    Cons

    The pay is average and as a young employee, there is no direct path up.

    Advice to Management

    Emphasize younger employees and career pathing.

    SEI Investments2019-06-05
  8. "Ok employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Client Service Professional 

    I have been working at SEI Investments full-time

    Pros

    Good non salary benefits overall

    Cons

    Low salary, hard to get ahead financially

    SEI Investments2019-06-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Ok as an entry level position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Oaks, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SEI Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work is easy Room for advancement Campus is idyllic

    Cons

    Management changes a lot Typical office politics and gossiping Would not spend more than a couple of years here Below industry average compensation

    SEI Investments2019-06-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Oaks, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SEI Investments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome management, and great team members

    Cons

    Too many pointless activities instead of just paying us more

    SEI Investments2019-05-12
Found 419 reviews