SGN Reviews | Glassdoor

SGN Reviews

Updated July 12, 2018
41 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
SGN CEO John Morea
John Morea
18 Ratings

41 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Currently team manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EMS Manager in England, AR
    Current Employee - EMS Manager in England, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    # Pension,
    # over time
    # lots of training for field staff
    # good apprenticeship scheme

    Cons

    Senior management always interfering, no real career progression, big difference in payscales between D & C business for doing the same job

    Advice to Management

    Let your managers manage


  2. "Ryan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Team Manager in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    This Job has given me a career for nearly 20 years and have managed to progress from a GNO1 mate to a team manager

    Cons

    The work life balance can sometimes be a bit of a struggle

    Advice to Management

    always make your self approachable as you are only as good as the team around you

    SGN Response

    Aug 14, 2018 – Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for leaving a review.

    We’re passionate about supporting the development and progression about our people so it’s great to hear about the progress you’ve made.

    Regarding your... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "EXCELLENT COMPANY TO WORK IN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Horley, Surrey, South East England, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Horley, Surrey, South East England, England (UK)

    I worked at SGN full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Professional and friendly environment. All the staff in each department supportive and motivating.

    Cons

    A downside of SGN is hard to mention. They are actually a very organized company and work-life balance is really good.

    SGN Response

    May 29, 2018 – Employee Experience Officer

    It’s great to hear such good feedback about your time at SGN. We’re working on lots of exciting projects at the moment to keep improving and enhancing the experiences of our people.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "An experience to work for them. It’s who you know not how good you are"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Saint Mary Cray, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Saint Mary Cray, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SGN full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Work is very easy and it’s very easy to learn what you need to know if you are smart.
    Quite a relaxed environment at first glance.
    Chance of progression maybe

    Cons

    No diversity. You can see they only hire particular people.
    Doesn’t appear to want to spend any money on employees.
    Poor pay, poor lunch breaks, poor working conditions.
    Lots of affairs and slight bullying.
    Lots of mean people

    Advice to Management

    SGN’s reputation is being affected by managements affairs and choices. Those in charge of depots should be more professional. SGN also looks somewhat racist.

    SGN Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – Employee Experience Officer

    Many thanks for your recent review.

    It’s disappointing to hear your experience at SGN wasn’t an entirely positive one. Allegations of bullying are something we take very seriously and if you’re... More


  5. "Awful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Team Manager in Poole, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Maintenance Team Manager in Poole, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Secure job. Employment T&Cs are adequate.

    Cons

    As a company, SGN does not like honest comments. SGN used to do an annual survey of employee engagement, but the results kept getting worse. What did SGN do? They tried to adjust the questions to give positive answers but this failed. Did SGN listen to the polls? No, they decided to cut the surveys. Good job SGN.

    Advice to Management

    Get your act together otherwise the share holders will do it for you

    SGN Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

    The decision to pause our annual employee opinion survey was taken in May 2016 after eight consecutive years running the survey. During this... More


  6. "SGN a great company (being held back)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    My job is varied and very rewarding, the pay is fair with the option to work overtime, I have a very decent pension to look forward to. SGN is a forward looking company with an open and honest attitude, always looking for ways to improve. There is plenty of opportunity to further your career within the company.

    Cons

    Some co-workers bring nothing but negativity to the work environment, moaning about the their basic pay, holiday entitlement, basically they moan about everything in their contract, a contract that they agreed to work before joining SGN, if the T & C's are so bad why do they stay ? The reality is they probably would get employment any where else that gave them the same earning potential and job security. There is also an issue with a few members of staff claiming they are being victimised and threatening to put in a grievance just because they are questioned overwork related incidents.

    Advice to Management

    Support the employees that serve the company well and weed out the few that always seem to want to rock the boat.

    SGN Response

    Apr 17, 2018 – Employee Experience Officer

    Many thanks for your recent review. As you commented, we’re always looking for ways to improve and your feedback will help us do just that.

    Like you say, it’s important that we recognise valuable... More


  7. "Safe job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    Lots of progression available. Can start with no qualifications in lots of jobs. Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Animosity from workforce to managers. Lots of unhappiness about pay.

    Advice to Management

    Push for better pay

    SGN Response

    Apr 16, 2018 – Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for leaving a review. We agree that there are lots of opportunities for hard-working employees to progress and we encourage efforts for self-development that benefit our people and company... More

  8. "Great company to work for - wish more opportunities were given"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Surrounded by lovely people. Most people stick to the 'one SGN' and treats everyone else with respect. There's a lot of opportunities across the company for development.

    Cons

    Minimum opportunities within certain teams. No room/time for progression.

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are going to perform well when they're happy. Take time to listen to them as individuals. A quick 5 minute chat in the morning will go a long way and really make your employees feel welcome and cared for.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities in Horley, Surrey, South East England, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Facilities in Horley, Surrey, South East England, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Very friendly staff, Great opportunity to advance in your career. Great benefits.

    Cons

    office is right next to a main road on a corner

    Advice to Management

    more communication

    SGN Response

    Jan 31, 2018 – Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for sharing your experiences of working at SGN. It’s great to hear that you enjoy working here and value our people and benefits.

    Internal communications can be challenging for any... More


  10. "Leading the way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland (UK)
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Working for SGN is great. There are many opportunities for those who wish to progress within the company. The staff are highly valued and there are many ways to get rewarded for going above and beyond. SGN are leading the way in innovation.

    Cons

    I don't have a bad word to say about working for SGN

    SGN Response

    Jan 31, 2018 – Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to hear you enjoy working for SGN and we hope your SGN journey continues to be a positive one.


Showing 41 of 44 reviews
Reset Filters