SGN Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
SGN CEO John Morea
John Morea
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and good career opportunities(in 10 reviews)

  • "Amazing training, management team are brilliant, never bored, great people to work with(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Currently team manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EMS Manager in England, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    # Pension, # over time # lots of training for field staff # good apprenticeship scheme

    Cons

    Senior management always interfering, no real career progression, big difference in payscales between D & C business for doing the same job

    Continue reading
  2. "Great company with huge prospects"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chief Technology Officer (CTO) in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SGN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are empowered to make a difference

    Cons

    Challenging market pressures that make things difficult

    Continue reading

  3. "Nice job, could do with improvements."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good development for new starters Good pay Training resources online

    Cons

    Lack of communication Broken promises by management Short staff for workloads

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    February 5, 2021Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Covid has presented us with a series of challenges which we’ve been working hard to overcome. As you might expect, some of our colleagues have been shielding, isolating and quarantining which has had an impact on resource levels. This coupled with the reality that many colleagues are now home-schooling their children, we know there will be an impact on outputs but we also know that everyone is doing the best they can and we really appreciate your efforts during this challenging time. With rules and restrictions constantly changing, our managers are having to adapt at short notice and we’re trying to make sure that important messages are communicated effectively. Since the start of Covid we’ve made great efforts to ensure that training and development at SGN doesn’t stop, so it’s great to hear your positive feedback about our eLearning packages. We’re committed to continually improving so will take your feedback on board and hope you share more insights and examples with our third Covid-19 survey that launched this week. Many thanks for your review and your 8+ years at SGN – hope you continue to keep safe and well.

  4. "Great company with lots of diverse opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Performance Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to develop skills in varied roles

    Cons

    High level direction not communicated down in structured way

    SGN Response

    February 5, 2021Employee Experience Coordinator

    Many thanks for your recent review. We’re glad to hear you feel positively about the development opportunities at SGN. We try to ensure important messages are shared with colleagues across multiple channels like SGNapp and DigitalHub, and are included in teamtalk to be briefed at team meetings. If you’re not having regular team meetings or have any other suggestions for cascading information, please share with us in our next Covid survey launching next week. Thanks for your review and hope you keep safe and well.

  5. "Review"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to work in the time I have been there

    Cons

    None at the time of writing

    SGN Response

    February 5, 2021Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear you only have good things to say about your time working here the past few years. We hope you’re staying safe and that your journey at SGN continues to be a positive one.

  6. "Overall good company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Carpenter in Swanley, England

    I worked at SGN full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay, normal big company perks

    Cons

    Contractual overtime, crazy long Hours, But thats changed slightly since I left

    SGN Response

    December 21, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences. Yes, you're right, we introduced a new rota over a year ago to help reduce fatigue within the workforce. As with any change, some welcomed this more than others but in the main it's been very well received. Thank you again for your review and wishing you the best for the future.

  7. "Reasonable to Okay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FCO (Technical) in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training is OK, and you get what you need to do job.

    Cons

    Internal network is terrible and slows jobs up.

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    December 21, 2020Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have a robust training offering to ensure our people are equipped to perform their roles effectively but we're always open to suggestions and ideas. If you think there's something missing or you'd benefit from training in a particular area please highlight to your manager or a member of the training team. We’re committed to continually improving and recently, we rolled out phase one of a device replacement scheme to upgrade the technology we work with. We want to support our people in whatever way we can so if you've got any thoughts on how we can do this better, please tell us in the next Covid-19 survey we'll be issuing in January.

  8. COVID-19

    "Money Matters More than Employee Moral"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FCO in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good pay, some good managers, good benefits

    Cons

    The company doesn't care too much about people working in the field and the positive reviews seem to be from those that are office based or management. Little thought is given to the work we undertake when operating in people's homes especially now that Covid is a major concern, everything seems profit-driven. Although the pay is good the hours do add up and you can work 16 hour days without a break and driving over 150 miles in a single day. Although the rota has changed it doesn't seem to benefit those that have to work it. Having worked here for a number of years I have never seen staff morale as low as it is now, nobody seems to care and critical things are being missed.

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    February 5, 2021Employee Experience Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Please be assured that we value all of our people and greatly appreciate everything you and your colleagues are doing during this extremely challenging time . We’ve listened to your concerns and, since posting your review, we’ve made some changes to our operational work, including temporarily suspending and flexing a number of work types. The safety and wellbeing of our people continues to be our absolute priority; if you haven’t already, make sure to check out the wellbeing eLearning package on People Portal. One of the clear messages is the importance of highlighting concerns and we’d strongly encourage you to get in touch with your manager or HR Manager about any safety-related concerns you might have. Many thanks for your feedback.

  9. COVID-19

    "Bullies"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SGN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It’s hard to find any pros

    Cons

    Management are bullies, doesn’t matter where you are located someone has been given a hard time by a managers and usually they are unjustified. They always seem to care about themselves even more so in a COVID environment, when it’s them that are safe working at home. They love to drag a disciplinary on for as long as possible causing undue stress on the employee. Everyone has a target on there back. As for opportunities to progress your career, it’s massively about who you know.

    Continue reading

    SGN Response

    February 5, 2021Employee Experience Officer

    Thank you for your recent review. Bullying and harassment of any kind are not tolerated at SGN and colleagues are encouraged to highlight any instances of bullying or harassment to HR. Our recent ‘speak up’ campaign featured messages from senior leaders about the importance of speaking up to raise concerns, ask questions and share ideas. Check out SGNapp or DigitalHub to find out more about our commitment to ensuring it’s safe for colleagues to speak up and the ways you can do this. Please also be sure to complete the Covid-19 survey to share your experiences and suggestions for improving morale.

  10. "Great"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Train Driver in Portsmouth, South East England, England

    I have been working at SGN full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Communication can be poor at times

    SGN Response

    February 5, 2021Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thanks for leaving your positive review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time working at SGN. We accept communications are tricky to get right and will be taking on board your feedback. Stay safe and wishing you the best for your future.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 131 English Reviews
</>Embed

Work at SGN? Share Your Experiences

SGN logo
or