KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

SHI International

Engaged Employer

SHI International

Add a Review

SHI International Employee Reviews about "training"

Updated Aug 11, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,130 of over 1,153 reviews

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
SHI International President and CEO Thai Lee
Thai Lee
673 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

436

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people and teammates(in 90 reviews)
  • "I enjoy working here and the culture is great(in 80 reviews)
  • "Benefits were good but expensive.(in 51 reviews)
  • "SHI has a great training and onboarding Process(in 38 reviews)
  • "Free food sometimes but its usually the same 10 choices and that gets old(in 31 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of SHI International and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "training"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years
    Featured Review

    Great culture in ITAM

    Apr 26, 2022 - Director in Somerset, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great positive team atmosphere, I work alongside good colleagues with a shared can do mindset.

    Cons

    PTO days should be improved

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SHI International Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are pleased that your overall experience at SHI is positive. Our atmosphere and communication have always been priorities for us and we hope you continue to be happy and successful at SHI in the future. If you would like to provide additional comments, please feel free to take this offline at SHIFeedback@shi.com which is a non-confidential alias.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Overall not a bad experience

    Jun 18, 2022 - Enterprise Account Executive in Detroit, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay, flexibility, and people

    Cons

    Some rollouts and focuses do not fit every single customer in your book. No matter what upper leadership says

    1 person found this review helpful

    SHI International Response

    Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that your overall review of SHI was positive. If you would like to provide additional comments, please feel free to take this offline at SHIFeedback@shi.com which is a non-confidential alias.

  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Could of been better could of been much worse.

    Aug 11, 2022 - Field Service Engineer (FSE) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Outstanding people. Co-workers were outstanding and genuinely cared about doing the right thing. I truly feel like SHI is a victim of it's own success. Their rapid growth has caused systemic problems that aren't reflective of the people that lead the organization. I do feel like the leaders have the best interests of the customers, employees and company in mind.

    Cons

    Leadership was lacking direction. There was a clear disconnect between sales and engineering. SHI's biggest issues is that they are much to siloed. The right hand rarely knew what the left was doing. Technologies continue to merge and the VARs have to keep up. They can't continue to just sell boxes and licenses. I don't feel like SHI grasped what customers were really looking for. Because of the size of their customer base they had the luxury of being able to botch pro-services engagements without realizing the impact that made to the customer and the sales rep. Over my 4 years with them I saw countless examples of the pro services team blowing a project and it causing good employees to leave along with customers.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Don’t waste your time here

    Jul 14, 2022 - Inside Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I honestly can’t think of one

    Cons

    Where do I start? High turnover, extremely low pay- I mean like poverty level pay No room for growth A bachelors degree should definitely not be required for this job- graduating from university is a substantial accomplishment & starting in this specific role is just a huge slap in the face. Seems like everyone in this company starts as an IAM and then just ventures into totally unrelated positions after approx 2 years. Some people have been at the company for like 30 years and that is an issue. Business now is not the same it was & managers that have been at SHI for this long have to understand that. Old ways will not open new doors. Where is the progression here? The work overall is extremely boring & repetitive. 8.5 hour days, unpaid lunch. Initial trainings are way too long & overwhelming. You have to work on holidays lol as if tech sales are so important on federal holidays when everyone else in the country is off. Extremely stressful environment. Managers do not care about you. I can go on and on lol I ran into a stranger wearing a SHI shirt at a bar& mentioned I was a former employee & their immediate response was “yikes”. THAT SAYS SOMETHING. There are way better opportunities out there don’t settle for this just to say you have a job.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    SHI International Response

    We are disappointed that your review of SHI was not positive. As you mentioned, we have many employees here that have taken advantage of our growth opportunities within the company and have moved into positions which they have stayed in for many years. We can confirm our headcount continues to steadily rise and the salaries offered within SHI are competitive. We take pride in our training program and employees are paid full salaries while we make sure they are properly prepared for their positions. If you would like to continue this conversation, please email SHIfeedback@shi.com which is a non-confidential alias. We wish you luck in your future endeavors.

  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good Job experience to get into the tech industry

    Aug 9, 2022 - Customer Success Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay lots of opportunity good culture

    Cons

    lots of changes growing too fast

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good company !

    Aug 10, 2022 - Enterprise Account Executive in Newark, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work life balance, good internal support teams, decent benefits and RRSP matching.

    Cons

    Nothing major to comment on

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Quality onboarding and potential

    Aug 9, 2022 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -High potential earnings -Great company culture -Nice work office

    Cons

    -Low base salary(especially with high rent)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Managers don't train that well

    Aug 4, 2022 - Inside Account Executive in Somerset, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hybrid style. No one is on your back all day it's up to you to complete your tasks. No micro managing.

    Cons

    Even though this is a woman owned business it is still very much a boys club. I believe the last 5 classes of new hires atleast 2 people from each class got the job because the hiring manager was in the same sorority . In training you learn alot, but not enough of what all your job entails as an AE.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Aug 1, 2022 - Customer Success Manager (CSM) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunities to move around internally and learn

    Cons

    Big company, many departments… sometimes, there is a disconnect between them… Difficult to get things done.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Not great and here's why

    Aug 9, 2022 - Integration Center Technician II in Piscataway, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free food, and more free food Co workers ok

    Cons

    Some bosses micromanage too hard. Don't they have better things to do? Also like 5+ cameras looking at your every move. I cant even pick my nose without someone noticing me. Pay is so extremely low its almost laughable. For example, most technicians in the integration center warehouse start at $30-39K/year and thats after a 1 month temp position with even lower pay if youre lucky to be hired. Like wow the cost of living and inflation has gone up the past year or two and they still can't give us enough pay to live. Also if you have a certification like comptia A+ you only get a 1K salary increase. Pretty lowball if you consider the time and cost of getting a cert. I also asked management for a RAISE and was DENIED despite doing extra work they asked me to do, and voluntarily coming in early and staying late. Why doesnt management or HR provide decent pay raises for hard working, loyal employees. I started out here at $30K/year and 3 years later I still some how dont make $50K despite working hard for more. The company also boasts about amazing profits in the billions and other stuff too. Pay discrepancy is BAD. They tell us every annual review not to discuss salaries with others despite it being federally protect