SKDKnickerbocker Reviews | Glassdoor

SKDKnickerbocker Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
54%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
SKDKnickerbocker COO Ted Chiodo
Ted Chiodo
3 Ratings
  1. "Some of the best in the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Public Affairs Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I worked at SKDKnickerbocker full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    SKDK invests in its interns more than any other firm I've interned with. Not only do they pay well, but most staff members are accessible and happy to meet with interns about career development.

    Cons

    Your work will leave the office with you. SKDK operates around the clock with its clients and I found myself waking up early and working on some weekends.

    SKDKnickerbocker2020-01-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible, hateful and abusive work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at SKDKnickerbocker

    Pros

    The benefits package is OK.

    Cons

    Abusive narcissistic CEO. Mismanagement. Micromanagement. Poor communication, especially from a communication company. Sweat shop hours. No overtime pay.

    Continue reading
    SKDKnickerbocker2020-02-24
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Awful fake progressives in aggressively hostile workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SKDKnickerbocker full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you're lucky enough to be part of the "insider clique" of associates and managers who receive clear favoritism from leadership, good for you. Otherwise, get ready to be overworked, unsupported, and overtly shamed in this hostile workplace.

    Cons

    HR was ZERO help, as their job is to protect the company's interest. I was routinely screamed at by one of my colleagues, overcrowding in the workplace made for ridiculous competition among associates for reserving conference spaces. Unrealistic expectations were a daily occurrence. I consider myself a 7am - 7pm professional because that's what is needed working in a fast-paced firm in DC, but even those hours weren't enough to accommodate the work being assigned. Additionally, there was almost zero diversity there, and while they use female empowerment as a cover for this, the women in charge are awful. Don't be fooled. It's an alluring brand but believe me, you deserve better.

    Continue reading
    SKDKnickerbocker2019-05-31
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Could use some improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SKDKnickerbocker full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked there for almost a year and In general everyone is friendly.

    Cons

    Need to be more racially inclusive especially in management positions. Also there is no clearly defined mission statement.

    Continue reading
    SKDKnickerbocker2019-04-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Nice people, no guidance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I worked at SKDKnickerbocker full-time

    Pros

    -Nice and friendly staff -Interesting assignments

    Cons

    -absolutely no guidance or training

    SKDKnickerbocker2019-03-20
  6. "Full Time Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SKDKnickerbocker for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone that works at SKDK truly are outstanding professionals.

    Cons

    The work environment can be dry and tough at times. But worth it.

    Continue reading
    SKDKnickerbocker2019-02-04
  7. "Incredible experience, could use better guidance of their internship program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at SKDKnickerbocker full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They give interns the opportunity to gain valuable experience (not making copies and getting coffee) and there is a broad range of clients. It is one of the few paid internships in DC.

    Cons

    No traditional management for interns during my time there, though that may have changed. Interns were pretty much thrown into the deep end without guidance or much followup.

    SKDKnickerbocker2019-01-12
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Unprofessional & Racist Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SKDKnickerbocker full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. Nothing good about working there.

    Cons

    Disrespectful environment, super hateful group of people.

    Continue reading
    SKDKnickerbocker2019-02-13
  9. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SKDKnickerbocker full-time

    Pros

    Professional atmosphere and great connections

    Cons

    Not much upward mobility available

    SKDKnickerbocker2018-11-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SKDKnickerbocker full-time

    Pros

    Great reputation and good clients if you're interested in the public affairs sector

    Cons

    Clients and actions of the firm often conflict with mission and "ideals" of the company

    SKDKnickerbocker2018-10-04
Found 21 reviews