SMART Management Reviews | Glassdoor

SMART Management Reviews

Updated 24 de Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
62%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
SMART Management CEO David L. Piccoli, II (no image)
David L. Piccoli, II
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director Performance Improvement in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SMART Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a forward-thinking organization that prides itself on its culture and customer commitment. There is an emphasis on teamwork and high energy output. Never a dull moment. Great place to work and grow.

    Cons

    There's never a dull moment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you've been doing. It's a successful formula.

    SMART Management2017-10-03
  2. "Upper management more reationary than strategic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SMART Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, good co-workers, industry experience.

    Cons

    The company is client-driven (not in the sense of "customer-focused"), so that they jump to the next client fire and don't spend enough time thinking long-term. It was tough to set a direction for products when the company didn't have a direction. They have objectives, sure, but no plans to get there. When the CEO was gone for 4 months, my manager told me to think of him as an investor rather than a CEO. When he... got back, he acted like a CEO (in fix-everything right-now mode). It was confusing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look inward. The CEO doesn't seem to recognize the problems with upper management. Someone once said he did; he just didn't want to do anything about it.

    SMART Management2019-02-25
  3. "Nice Company but needs more work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SMART Management full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, Gym @ location, laptops to almost all employees (sorry support), weekends off (again sorry support) , ability to work at home (sorry support)

    Cons

    Support not treated equally creates tension with all other departments.

    Advice to Management

    I have enjoyed my time at SMART and am thankful that I am a salary employee whom receives all of the amazing benefits. Either outsource your support team or treat them like a rest of the company for the sake of others. They play a crucial part of the revenue stream, some of them having college degrees and the ability to work in positions that are not entry level. Try handing them a laptop, a salary raise and a pat... on the back for the amazing job they do supporting the rest of us.

    Show More
    SMART Management2017-11-17
  4. "What a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SMART Management full-time

    Pros

    Supportive and friendly environment Company is constantly developing and advancing the EMR world A great place to learn and grow

    Cons

    There's sometimes too much freedom to come and go at will during the work day

    SMART Management2017-10-02
  5. "Small Software Company with Warm Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at SMART Management

    Pros

    SMART provides an ideal setting for young professionals to begin their career in business. The culture is innovative and the staff is welcoming.

    Cons

    I did not see any cons about SMART during my time as an intern.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to foster an environment that promotes innovative thinking and problem-solving.

    SMART Management2017-10-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMART Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    SMART provides a flexible, and challenging environment. There is potential for career development and it is a family friendly company. Great team work.

    Cons

    Management can be slow to make the tough decisions even when it becomes obvious where the problems are. It can weigh the team down and effect morale.

    SMART Management2017-08-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Company Culture that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SMART Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong company Culture Employee Engagement Collaborative working relationships Well Rounded Staff

    Cons

    Compensation could be better but definitely not terrible

    Advice to Management

    Better Communication

    SMART Management2017-04-25
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Nice Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMART Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family-like atmosphere where folks seem to care for each other. Work isn't micro-managed and there is a lot of autonomy. Vacation/Benefits are good. Gym on site. Nice building. Easy access on/off highway.

    Cons

    Company is growing so it seems like much is still being figured out.... infrastructure

    SMART Management2016-05-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "small "mom and pop" software development company that is missing the boat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SMART Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - If you get hired, you will never be fired. Smart will move you around to different roles until they are able to find a fit for you. - small company providing a family atmosphere, unfortunately that also gets in the way of work - parties, outings and Disney Land type environment where nobody works

    Cons

    - very low salary - leadership is lacking a vision - not able to keep key employees - retains employees that provide no value to the organization

    Advice to Management

    realize the missed opportunities and the talent that is leaving us because of the environment you are creating

    SMART Management2015-04-28
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Smart Management is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at SMART Management

    Pros

    Very friendly Enviorment and helpfull people..Work timing are great.Great vacation benefits. You are never pressurized to work beyond your times.

    Cons

    Limited growth,and same work.One can get bred doing the same stuff.Not much variety.

    Advice to Management

    none

    SMART Management2010-07-13
Found 10 reviews