SMC Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor

SMC Corporation Reviews

Updated 14 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 190 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Katsunori Maruyama
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 11 reviews)

  • "international environment and great products(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper Management more concerned about outside appearance of building vs employee development(in 22 reviews)

  • "Company car GPS tracking algorithms, no value/incentive to more qualified candidates, poorly defined and implement bonus programs(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "picker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Picker in Noblesville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SMC Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours that help with life

    Cons

    nothing i can think of

    Advice to Management

    nothing

    SMC Corporation2018-12-17
  2. "Stable Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SMC Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Fully paid health plan, for family of 4, and small amounts for larger families. 401K match dollar for dollar on the first 5%. Usually post jobs internally first, before seeking outside workers.

    Cons

    Not the very top paying company, therefore have to hear about how underpaid some employees are compensated. Do have to say some of the production management have no business in leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management should reconsider managers who are not inspiring to their workers. If they have been working in an area for 10 years, and still have no clue...then again, they do play some good golf, never mind.

    SMC Corporation2019-08-15
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMC Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Great products, always innovating products

    Cons

    Low pay for some jobs and locations

    SMC Corporation2019-07-12
  4. "An OK Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SMC Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Company Car, straight forward product, great training

    Cons

    Not so straight forward management, commission plan doesn't make sense, no clarification when asked about it, just dancing around the topic. Not enough pay

    SMC Corporation2019-05-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sick time policy is not good, small annual raises, below average pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machinist in Noblesville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at SMC Corporation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The hours are good, overtime is available. The benefits are decent, but high deductibles. The raises annually are 2% unless you are special, and they pay below the national average.

    Cons

    The points system for being sick is very unforgiving. If you have to call out for any reason, you receive 2 points. If you schedule your time off, you don't receive points. If you become sick and accumulate 10 points, you are fired. So if you get cancer or another illness that requires time off for treatments, etc., your risk of being fired is high. You cannot schedule being sick, or the untimely death of a loved one....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Offer actual sick time and forget the points system.

    SMC Corporation2019-04-20

    SMC Corporation Response

    April 22, 2019Human Resources Director

    While we appreciate your feedback, you have completely misrepresented our PTO and No Fault Leave policy. Our Paid Time Off policy is very generous, and our point system is in place to ensure our employees are treated fairly - while also limiting employee abuses. A brand new machinist ...

    Show More
  6. "I had an ok experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - IT Business Analyst 

    I worked at SMC Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at SMC for a year and there were some good things about the company. For example, it is a very friendly environment.

    Cons

    They low-ball you on the salary and there is no flexibility to work from home.

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible in the work environment.

    SMC Corporation2019-02-10
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Account Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Representative in Noblesville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SMC Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Car, Expense card, gas card, phone, health insurance, dental insurance, 401k match. they are willing to give you second chances, i worked here for about three years and ive done just about every job from machining to the sales academy. i made multipkle mistakes and they were willing to forgive and forget. pay is alright

    Cons

    sometimes toxic enviornment with as many people that work at corporate theres always bound to be "bad seeds" but for the most part people were pretty friendly. communication from lower management seems to be non existant so if you need something quick, plan on it taking a while to get to upper managment

    Advice to Management

    connect more with the people that work outside of the office.

    SMC Corporation2019-01-09
  8. "Intern Position Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SMC Corporation full-time

    Pros

    The company wanted me to succeed as an intern and wanted to help me have a community, even sponsoring events for the interns to socialize.

    Cons

    The company had limited control over the general products, as that was a part of the parent company in Japan.

    SMC Corporation2018-11-23
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Understand the worth of good talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SMC Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product line, product support, market leader, company car, benefits

    Cons

    Company car GPS tracking algorithms, no value/incentive to more qualified candidates, poorly defined and implement bonus programs

    Advice to Management

    PROPERLY inform and compensate more qualified candidates at higher levels. For example, a knowledgeable candidate with an engineering background can work wonders in large accounts and should be able to feel that value from the day they are on boarded. Your 5 month training program is a great time to evaluate this potential. SMC needs a fresh superstar sales force around high dollar industries and starting everyone...

    Show More
    SMC Corporation2018-11-09
  10. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SMC Corporation

    Pros

    Great people, large company, growing industry.

    Cons

    Nothing, absolutely great experience overall!

    SMC Corporation2018-10-18
Found 190 reviews