SMi Group Reviews | Glassdoor

SMi Group Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
SMi Group CEO Dale Butler (no image)
Dale Butler
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "You will learn a lot, however long you last at the company(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "At least one person left or was fired an average of every seven working days during my time at the SMi Group(in 5 reviews)

  • "Leaving dos every other week as most people cannot take the constant gruelling schedule that senior management believe is satisfactory(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant in Sharon, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMi Group for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay, quick turnaround on reimbursements, great assignments

    Cons

    inconsistent pay means you really need something else to supplement

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work!

    SMi Group2015-11-14
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at SMi Group

    Pros

    - Nice people to work with

    Cons

    - Unorganized data management and work schedule

    SMi Group2015-09-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to learn and develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMi Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working atmosphere Fantastic work colleagues Excellent location with good transport links The team has a vast understanding of the events industry and has a good vision on where the current events are going and how to improve them. The office is a open plan office with a open door policy where management are available to all employees. The office closes early each day which helps people... ensure they have a good work life balance.

    Show More

    Cons

    The workload can be a lot to get used to, New members of staff are generally trained but a lot of information is given at once which can be overwhelming for new starters

    Advice to Management

    More work socials and team workshops, this will help solidify teams to work together better.

    SMi Group2019-08-20
  4. Helpful (2)

    "A company with great work ethics!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMi Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    SMi is a great company to work for! They allow equal opportunities to all, and ensure that progression is closely monitored and recorded. At SMi, you are respected regardless of: age, gender, ethnicity, and belief. SMi prioritises operations and employees wellbeing by providing benefits such as free gym membership and fresh fruit in the office! I was provided good training sessions where I was taught how to operate... in-house systems, so they do not just throw you in the deep end. Management as SMi is exceptional, and it is just a fun environment to work in!

    Show More

    Cons

    The only aspect I have noticed is that there is no sink in the kitchen. However, having said that, this does not interfere with day-to-day operations

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and congratulations on building and maintaining a ever-growing successful company

    SMi Group2019-07-15
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Worst experience - do not take the job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Conference Producer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SMi Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Leaving! I would not recommend taking a role here.

    Cons

    During my time at SMi, I found the management style completely unbearable. There is a very toxic atmosphere where anxiety is instilled in staff members. You will be treated like a school child, where if you are late you will not be allowed to leave on time. People are literally frightened to approach management and even find resigning stressful as those on notice to leave are treated so different and wont be spoken... to respectfully for four weeks of hell. While I was there, SMi asked staff to change their private LinkedIn accounts to be linked with SMi email addresses so they could further monitor and invade staff interactions. The staff turnover is high! The reasons are clear on Glassdoor.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop pressuring staff when they get promoted for fake positive reviews online

    SMi Group2019-08-16
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Turn over of a Ferris wheel in the height of summer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Conference Producer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SMi Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Any other company is a thousand times better when you leave. Your benchmark is incredibly low once you've worked here. Nothing will be as soul-destroying.

    Cons

    SMi is the most toxic conference companies you could work at. You will be treated like school children, given no flexibility, ridiculous deadlines, £50-100 speaker budgets..no really (real events companies have £5-10k+ speaker budgets and commissions of at least 1K+ per event, you might be thrown £50-100) and expected to produce 12 trashy events a year. There is no creativity or science you're going for anyone.... Facts are better than loose comments. They managed to burn through all the employees in the production twice in one year (12 people leaving a single team of 6) with one person surviving three days before leaving. The management also asks for employees that get promoted (if they last longer than three months) to put a positive review on Glass Door... So please, whatever you do, consult any former employee on LinkedIn and you will get the same feedback. I'd feel physically sick every day i'd have to go into work every day. You felt like a slave, however, as a grad you don't know what its like and presume its normal for a job. It's not... Everything is monitored and micromanaged. You have no privacy or flexibility. There was a point that I was asked to lunch by one employee who was asked to spy on my and take back my comments to management. Take home message... - Ask any former employee what it was like... there are countless former employees on LinkedIn. You will get some hilarious stories on the way they treat there staff. Every former employee and current has one. (if the management comments on this... get the real story from any former employee for the truth) - Don't take the job. I know you're a desperate grad, but there are loads of other positions out there. Tescos down the road would be a better option. Its probably less monotonous and far more stimulating stacking shelves.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Surprisingly sustainable model... slave-driving grads until burn out and bring in more. I'm surprised you've survived so long. - Become a real events company and invest in your staff content and events.

    SMi Group2019-08-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "My experiences at SMi"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Database Executive in Lewisham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMi Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to be and work in. My colleagues for the most part are passionate about what they do and time and again go the extra mile. I love my work at SMi and have done since starting July 2018. I believe I'm working alongside an aspiring team, people who continue to do more than what's expected of them.

    Cons

    A big turnover of staff

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in staff and staff will invest back into their company.

    SMi Group2019-05-09

    SMi Group Response

    May 29, 2019Managing Director

    I am glad to hear you love your job. Please come in and see me if you ever need a boost!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMi Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You learn a LOT about the conference industry Potential rewards are great and there is a good catalogue of events to work on The team is made up of good hardworking people from producer to marketing to sale to management . If you dig your heels in and work hard, and yes the job is VERY tough, the resuts can be very rewarding

    Cons

    Not enough regular training sessions. I think they should be done on a weekly basis.

    Advice to Management

    A few more incentives to get the maximum out of the team but be great. It lt ll give people the drive to push through when morale might be low and qorkload high as it can be at certain times of the year. Ideas: paintballing, tram night out etc Injecting a bit more fun after a hard day s work and encouraging people to bond whilst doing these kind of activities and have fun together out of work and do some... activities together would be great.

    Show More
    SMi Group2019-05-10

    SMi Group Response

    May 29, 2019Managing Director

    Thank your loyalty and commitment to SMi, it is appreciated. We are planning a summer event as I write this but mum's the word. I am also in the process of setting up a team of people to run our entertainment committee which should be completed in July

  9. Helpful (10)

    "Do not take the job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SMi Group full-time

    Pros

    You will have first hand experience of an undesirable work place environment, so you know what to look out for in the future They are very willing to hire new graduates with no experience in the work place at all - most likely because these candidates do not know what a normal work place environment is like and so are less likely to leave You are pretty likely to make friends with your colleagues and all go to the... pub after work to drink away the misery.... on a Monday They have hilarious reviews on glassdoor and you can play a game when you are feeling sad because you are at work... Its called 'spot which reviews are real, and which ones are written by management'. If you manage to stay for 6months+ you will be one of the most senior members there, due to high turnover - but theres no room for progression....

    Show More

    Cons

    Literally everything except for that fact that you are in London and there is lots of fun things to do at the weekend.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing - they won't listen anyway and will respond to this review to deny all, so I won't waste my time

    SMi Group2019-05-30
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Avoid!! At all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SMi Group full-time

    Pros

    The only good this company has are the people who work there, but the management is the worst, they keep saying everybody needs to improve in this job when they are the ones who need to improve the most, they definitely need management training before they should be allowed to order people around. This is the worst place I have ever worked for in the whole World.

    Cons

    Everything bad you read it's true, I didn't believe it until it happened to me. And everything good you read is fake and I recently heard(from people who still work there) that the company is making employees put positive reviews on Glassdoor once they pass their probation. (that's how desperate they are) The turnover of people who come to work and leave is the highest I have seen but that's why people leave... because this company is toxic: they bully people, treat you as slaves and use you as much as they can. If you complain nothing will change because the troublemaker is the bosses wife, so she gets to do whatever she wants without consequences.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's pointless nothing will change and not many left by now, SMI used to have 100 employees in the past well not anymore and it won't because the only good thing that you can do in that company is leaving. I never felt the need to write a review until I saw all the responses from management which are completely fake and because their ego is too big to realise their mistake this is why people have to pointed out for... them.

    Show More
    SMi Group2019-05-27
Found 51 reviews