SNC-Lavalin Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

SNC-Lavalin Consultant Reviews

Updated Jan 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
9%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
SNC-Lavalin CEO Neil Bruce
Neil Bruce
2 Ratings
  1. "Great for the lazy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Consultant in Sandton
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom to develop your own skills.

    Cons

    No development support; No management; No leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Be more involved in developing and leading your staff and less interested in the bottom line. Employees make the world go round.

    SNC-Lavalin2019-01-08
  2. "Lots of opportunities and varied work poor management and very stingy with pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities, varied work, very supportive if you'd like to move locations, lots of training available

    Cons

    Poor management, No one really keeps an eye out to see if you're working too hard, too keen to mark your work as good/meets expectations but don't like to promote and even when they do pay increase is minimal

    Advice to Management

    Stop being so stingy

    SNC-Lavalin2018-03-18
  3. "Consult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff and a good employer . Everyone help each other and a good working environment. The managers know what they are doing

    Cons

    Nothing bad that would be mentioned here . Look a my comment at pros for the company . The company was formally interfleet and since 2016 we are and lavalin

    Advice to Management

    Good

    SNC-Lavalin2016-07-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Poor mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Consultant in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    On the first day, I've been told by my VP that my job is to bill as much as possible to the customer. During the mandate at customer site, support was poor. Have been declined training. Worst job ever.

    Cons

    Poor mentality. SNC Lavalin uses people to bill customers, regardless of work actually achieved and working conditions. Then they trash employees as commodities.

    Advice to Management

    Respect people and customers. Stop managing by financial metrics and try to make the world a better place. It pays in the long run.

    SNC-Lavalin2016-03-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Poor mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin

    Pros

    Pay is in the industry average.

    Cons

    Terrible culture: my manager told me the first day that my job is to charge as much as possible the customer. During my six mont tenure, I've been doing nothing but spend time at customer offices and charge for my time.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your customers

    SNC-Lavalin2015-03-10
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Expect to wait a long time to get paid if you are a consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Consultant in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin for less than a year

    Pros

    Lavalin has a large number of good professionals who work hard, and in the professional area, appear to respect consultants and staff. Still a lot of opportunities to work for them, despite blacklisting. They do interesting, high-quality work.

    Cons

    Consultants working for them may have a problem because in some cases Lavalin appears to ignore contract payment terms to small suppliers. If a contract says payment within 30 days of receipt of an invoice - and nothing more - most of us would expect, having delivered the service professionally acknowledged to be of good quality, to be paid within 30 days. In past years this was the case. I have seen recently, however,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Apply the same ethical considerations you are using with other institutions to your relations with suppliers. If your intention is not to pay them in 30 days, but in 60 days, then rewrite your contract templates - or - and really this should not need to be pointed out - honor your contract obligations.

    SNC-Lavalin2014-06-19
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Poor ethic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good resources (library) and benefits

    Cons

    Body shopping, unpersonal, non-professional. My mandate as consultant was to charge as much as possible to the customer, no matter the work was useful or not. Fired when mandate was completed, no new mandate was offered.

    Advice to Management

    Business ethic must be improved. Befriending with Muammar Gaddafi is one thing, treating customers and employees as cash cows is an other thing. No surprise the company is involved in bribery and money laundrying scandals.

    SNC-Lavalin2013-04-10
Found 7 reviews