SNC-Lavalin "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor

SNC-Lavalin Reviews

Updated May 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
SNC-Lavalin President and CEO Ian L. Edwards
Ian L. Edwards
11 Ratings
  1. "Project Team Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Team Manager in Etobicoke, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at SNC-Lavalin for more than a year

    Pros

    Engineering, project management, diversity, industry

    Cons

    Culture and recognition. Senior Management and leadership

    Continue reading
    SNC-Lavalin2015-06-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Controls Manager/Director in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supporting colleagues and mid level management, multicultural environment, reasonable salary, fairly good processes and procedures, good indigenous project management system

    Cons

    Visionless senior management (Directors and up in most of the instances), less projects, too much politics in higher ranks, every day changes in management, no business development, rigid PM system which needs more flexibility

    Continue reading
    SNC-Lavalin2014-11-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Bureaucratic mess. Top Heavy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Environment & Water in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The projects are challenging, ground breaking and huge. Lateral level or mid-level employees (worker bees) are often very talented and fun to learn from and work with. Work-life balance is one of the best I've seen in a consulting company.

    Cons

    Senior management is a blind, bureaucratic mess. There is too much senior management, top heavy. Many deep cultural politics. No mentorship. And these seniors are often are not talented enough to be innovative, however, yet have worked for the company for a long time and therefore the culture within the company confuses talent capacity with seniority tender.

    Continue reading
    SNC-Lavalin2014-09-12
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Worst Engineering Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not much other than some good co-workers/engineers and downtown offices

    Cons

    - If you have any dignity and want to work in a meaningful engineering firm, DO NOT WORK AT SNC - Highly unorganized and I can see why the senior management is in the news (Corruptions!) - Talent and thinking will get you in trouble and punished, working like a trained Monkey is what they look for - HR and IT need to understand they are SUPPORT staff and not the core business - Senior management will promote friends/family and not the hard working/talented staff. Also hearing management YELL at other people is common (I was shocked the first time it happened while everyone watched like business as usual) - SNC has big projects but most of the wok is sub-contracted to other companies, so you are trying to find work all the time in a BIG company (very annoying and painful) - Another point about above: We had a massive layoff 150 people in Vancouver, while they had Big projects (Evergreen Line, John Hart Dam etc) - SNC was late in paying a paycheck for 2 months (Bureaucracy at its worst) -

    Continue reading
    SNC-Lavalin2014-07-24
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Sinking Ship - Avoid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee -  in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As with all companies there are pros and cons. However the list of cons got longer as i spent more time in the organization and was able to observe how things were done (or rather not done) in various depts. The positives i took from my time at SNC: * I worked with some amazing people here in terms of skill set, experience and personality. (mainly senior level) * People are generally friendly. * Salary was comparable with current market rate. * Benefits were ok

    Cons

    * Generally very unorganized. Paperwork got 'lost' on such a regular basis that i started to scan everything and date it so i'd have a record/another copy. * Lack of employee engagement (they don't ask for regular or even semi regular feedback from employees. Morale is very low in parts of the company and they don't want to hear why or deal with trying to tackle it.) * They have a mandatory closure stance for the holidays. Fair enough. What's not fair is that they force employees to either use their vacation or to bank OT to cover this period. I've worked for other companies who closed over the holidays and paid employees the 2/3 days off. It was a small gesture that made a big impact with staff. * * 5 sick days are given to deal with illness, personal appointments etc. This is less that what i've been given in the past at other companies. I was ill with a flu/vomiting bug early in the year that used up my 5 days, which mean i was a ball of stress and worry about missing work and wages when i (and half the dept!) came down with a flu at the end of the year. * Performance review process was disorganized and updates unclearly communicated by HR. * People get away with stuff here that elsewhere would get them fired (project manager shouting expletives at a senior staff member; staff browsing internet for most of day) * Lack of proper orientation. Weeks after joining the company i had to chase down information that should have been presented at the orientation. * Technical systems are lacking. They implemented a change and brought in Oracle yet didn't offer anything other than basic training on it. In addition to this, other SNC offices in the US or Europe not using the same system which makes billing/invoicing/hours etc challenging. * Hard work and loyalty is not recognized. I worked with some stellar people who were quieter/less likely to bring attention to their achievements and from the companies perspective, they were just another cog in the wheel. There was no recognition of employees going above and beyond. It appears that if you are friendly with senior management or able to talk the talk and intent on ass kissing you'll get much further.

    Continue reading
    SNC-Lavalin2014-03-22
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Negative work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Salary (if you have the right boss) - Time off at the end of December

    Cons

    - Managers don't take the time to get to know you. Many don't even do performance appraisals because they don't know who their employees are. Unqualified managers are in charge of hundreds of employees. - Senior management turns over frequently and hires/promotes friends. If you're not in the "in" club, good luck. - Reluctant to tell employees anything. Communication is non-existent and non-transparent. - You are just an employee number, nothing more. - No team building or employee functions beyond the Christmas party. - No work life balance. Have to work overtime and don't get paid for it and questioned for all the time you put on your timesheet. - Major backstabbing and people trying to screw each other over to get ahead. - If you want to work in another department you have to apply and you likely won't ever hear back from them. Moving around is quietly discouraged. - Very in-the-box and old school thinkers. Don't try to suggest new ways of doing things or give your opinion on anything. - Overall horrible morale and work environment with high turnover.

    Continue reading
    SNC-Lavalin2014-01-13
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Reputation is based on paper only, not on reality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee -  
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, good work-life balance and being involved in one-of-a-kind large-scale mega projects that very few other companies can ever get to

    Cons

    Being such a huge company, there is zero organization and coordination between different teams and divisions, even between different members of the same division! Work seems to be carried only for completion, without any insight. Very high level of connections and buddy-buddy system; it is not uncommon for underperforming staff to be kept, while good staff are let go or decide to leave themselves. No attention paid to staff concerns or opinions, senior management thinks they are the best and can do whatever they want. Pay is also lower or relatively lower than competing companies

    Continue reading
    SNC-Lavalin2013-10-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Undermining your employees equals losing your employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall compensation package is competitive. SNC provides a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Senior management does not understand its people. Montreal headquarters imposing unrealistic structure to satellite offices.

    Continue reading
    SNC-Lavalin2013-05-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Document control"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Document Controller in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin

    Pros

    Decent pay Good vacation time (3 weeks) One earned day off per month Decent benefits Average training Co-worker support network

    Cons

    Horrible communication Unsupportive management VERY arrogant senior management No place to move up or sideways Many information silos Filled with unfriendly people

    Continue reading
    SNC-Lavalin2010-01-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 19 reviews