SNC-Lavalin "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

SNC-Lavalin Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Dec 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
SNC-Lavalin President and CEO Ian L. Edwards
Ian L. Edwards
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management focuses more on financials than quality or having enough people to do the work(in 22 reviews)

  • "Senior management doesn't like change, they hate creative thinking(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Positive environment for all employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Contractor - Assistant Marketing Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive environment for all employees. work environment

    Cons

    Positive environment for all employees. culture

    Continue reading
    SNC-Lavalin2013-03-30
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Oil and Gas Sector in Trouble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good, small, tight-knit teams with a very flexible work environment. Everyone is friendly and benefits are good. Downtown location with tunnel access is very convenient.

    Cons

    Unable to stay competitive due to oil and gas sector being in a stagnation point. Clients are not spending money and SNC is having trouble staying competitive. Many internal integration issues with all of the acquisitions. Too many people with company history are quitting and leaving the younger engineers with no one to look up to or learn from.

    Continue reading
    SNC-Lavalin2017-09-05
  3. "Thought I was secured after a buyout but within 6 mos. we had a major layoff. Fortunately, we were given Severance Pkg."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CAD Designer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Great Supv., Good Team Members, Great Training, Good Training, Flexible Time, Competitive Salary, Good Work Environment.

    Cons

    Felt Bias & Prejudice. Only +/- 20 minorities laid off. No Warning of Layoff.

    Continue reading
    SNC-Lavalin2016-12-20
  4. "Great pay/benefits and positive work environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Leicester, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay scale, positive work environment, great benefits such as paid personal and holidays, free use of the on-site fitness center, etc.

    Cons

    Mostly engineers and highly-skilled/trained/educated individuals, so not many opportunities for starters or recent grads.

    SNC-Lavalin2016-02-20
  5. "it is great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instrumentation and Controls Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team with high standards and knowledge . flexible working schedule and very conformity work environment.

    Cons

    the project management team is very weak people with pour experience. they always change the normal project flow. they want all the department work in parallel.

    Continue reading
    SNC-Lavalin2016-01-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "No Training and no advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Support in Augusta, ME
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay and good work environment

    Cons

    You are told there are advancement opportunities but in reallity, NOT..

    Continue reading
    SNC-Lavalin2014-06-02
  7. "Where it counts this is a good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SNC-Lavalin

    Pros

    The pay and benifits are very good. The company employees a lot of smart and competent people. Working for SNC is a great place to pick up knowledge. The company is involved in intersting work. The work environment is a good mix of field and technical people.

    Cons

    The management make some strange decisions, and doesn't always listen to their people. Starting out in new position with the company can be difficult, because not a lot of guidance is given.

    Continue reading
    SNC-Lavalin2009-01-03
  8. "Work Culture review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great work environment and no disturbance on weekend

    Cons

    Frequent management change leads to doubts in employees

    SNC-Lavalin2019-12-08
  9. "Good place to work but slow growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Science Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Working environment is good since sharing experience among engineers is great. - Learn a lot about different project challenges - International capacity

    Cons

    - Reputation has been damaged by wrongdoing executives in the past - Very slow to grow in the organization - Can be very bureaucratic

    SNC-Lavalin2019-12-09
  10. "Research Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Munich, Bavaria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SNC-Lavalin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nice working environment. work-life is well balanced

    Cons

    I didn't find any negative vibes during my tenure of working

    Continue reading
    SNC-Lavalin2019-11-13
Found 59 reviews