SOS Security Security Guard Reviews | Glassdoor

SOS Security Security Guard Reviews

Updated Dec 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
41%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
SOS Security Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Edward B. Silverman (no image)
Edward B. Silverman
7 Ratings
  1. "Always have work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SOS Security full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I honestly love the flexibility more than anything and my scheduler always looks out for me.

    Cons

    Uniform process is less than I like but it’s manageable issue.

    SOS Security2020-01-01
  2. "Low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Armed Security Guard 

    I worked at SOS Security full-time

    Pros

    Other employees are friendly and will train

    Cons

    Management is out of touch with guards

    Advice to Management

    Get in touch with guards.

    SOS Security2019-12-27
  3. "they did not live up to what they told me their company was about or the advancement opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Guard in Beverly Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SOS Security full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    made good contacts working at LVX before it closed

    Cons

    the company was very unprofessional. always messing up paychecks and not keeping their word on placement for guards.

    SOS Security2019-12-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good/Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Security Guard 

    I have been working at SOS Security part-time

    Pros

    You have a great opportunity to get good hours

    Cons

    They will replace you without thinking twice if any minor mistakes are made

    SOS Security2019-08-26
  5. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SOS Security part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of post to work at always have shifts to cover to make extra money

    Cons

    None as of now everything is ok working no issues

    SOS Security2019-05-31
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Steer clear of this mismanaged, antiquated trainwreck of a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Santa Cruz, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SOS Security full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. This company is awful and will squeeze you for every bit of labor you're worth.

    Cons

    Plenty of unpaid mandatory overtime. They'll mess with their broken scheduling system to not pay you hours you worked. Management doesn't care about their employees in the slightest. You'll end up working a swing shift, late night, early morning, and graveyard all in the same week. You'll get called on the same night to fill in for the guy that quit last week because he found a job at a real security company. The workplace is extremely hostile, people are out for blood. The office is ruled by favoritism and nepotism. SOS is a joke, stay far away from this dumpster fire. Go find a job at a real security company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Retire.

    SOS Security2019-06-07
  7. "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Security Guard 

    I worked at SOS Security for less than a year

    Pros

    Theres a lot of available work.

    Cons

    Money wasnt that good for how long I was there

    SOS Security2019-05-01
  8. Helpful (4)

    "ridiculous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Guard 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SOS Security full-time

    Pros

    easy job, easy money. they provide free parking

    Cons

    -they take advantage of employees and not give credit for their work/help -if you can't stay for OT be prepared for the supervisor to give you a hard time and make your shift a living hell. -ALWAYS missing hours and checks are ALAWAYS short and take almost a MONTH to pay what you're owed or 2 weeks if you're lucky -very hostile environment!! -supervisors are SUPER unprofessional. They start rumors about other guards to start problems/drama against other guards -there's no POINT! in making 5 or 10 reports or having witnesses if you're having problems with a supervisor or other guard because management swear they "NEVER RECIEVED ANYTHING" or "THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU'RE TALKING ABOUT" -no communication what so ever -it's always the same guards doing the work the rest just sit in hiding places and do nothing but watch Netflix for their 8hr shift

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    my advice to management is.. PLEASE pay attention to the complaints! there's actually good employees working for this company and they are taking advantage of them and being treated wrong in all kinds of ways by supervisors and employees and you have these good workers quitting the job because of the treatment the supervisors are giving them. management should do more research on someone before giving them the title of "supervisor"

    Show More
    SOS Security2019-04-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Guard 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SOS Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of sites to work at

    Cons

    -Plenty of sites but not enough for you to get consistent work. -Managers don't keep promises -Older employees will go out of their way to interfere with your ability to work -Unless you yell or go above someone's head no actions will be done in your -Low pay -Won't train you for other duties -Won't transfer you -Will not give you full time hours

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent with your employees. Stop dangling carrots that don't exist.

    SOS Security2019-02-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not liking it at all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Hawthorne, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SOS Security full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overtime, Company Discounts, A Paycheck.

    Cons

    Disorganized, Poor-Management, Pay-Discrepancies, Ill-informed Recruiters, False-Hope-of-Pay-Raises

    Advice to Management

    Communication needs to improve between the site managers and the supervisors. The site manager seems to be carrying a heavy load and probably needs more help. I could write a dissertation but I'm not sure it will help. There is nothing worse than getting hired for a certain job and not being fully informed of all the things you might possibly do. There seems to be no sympathy for workers at post in non-normal outside weather conditions. The security guard still is treated like a lowly worker. With better communication between Management, supervisors and employees, there will be a more fluid work environment. If you take care of your employee's, they will take care of you.

    Show More
    SOS Security2019-01-05
Found 20 reviews