SPINX Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

SPINX Company Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
SPINX Company CEO Steve Spinks (no image)
Steve Spinks
36 Ratings
  1. "Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SPINX Company

    Pros

    It is an Awesome company to work for

    Cons

    Could increase the pay for the amount of work done

    Advice to Management

    Choose people that are not so rude and know how to talk to people

    SPINX Company2016-09-21
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Corporate Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SPINX Company full-time

    Pros

    Christmas Club. Bonuses. Good vacation time. You get 2 weeks in the first year. They do have flex time for the office as far as picking your hours.

    Cons

    Health insurance is extremely high here. Executive team has some people to be desired. Not trustworthy. Watch what you say and who you say it too. Higher ups are for themselves and not others.

    Advice to Management

    Not good unless you are a college graduate. Long term people who have been there 10 plus years don't have a chance for advancement. They hire mostly Bob Jones kids.

    SPINX Company2016-09-01
  3. "Pay sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SPINX Company

    Pros

    Easy job flexible schedule fun

    Cons

    Pay !!!! Pay pay pay pay

    Advice to Management

    Don't promise employees raises just to keep them working there longer

    SPINX Company2016-07-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Manger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Manager in Duncan, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SPINX Company for more than a year

    Pros

    NONE, Management is terrible... Spinx is a terrible place to work for... they do not care for their employees nor customers.

    Cons

    Long hours, NO sick days... Horrible health insurance.... Horrible Management.... No holidays off.

    Advice to Management

    Total make over needed before company fails to QT

    SPINX Company2016-08-05
  5. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Simpsonville, SC

    I have been working at SPINX Company for more than a year

    Pros

    Very dynamic. Always something new.

    Cons

    High turnover in all departments, benefits are poor/expensive.

    SPINX Company2016-07-15
  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SPINX Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co-workers can be friendly and can learn a lot if you self train.

    Cons

    Communication terrible, lack of training, if you are salary they will work you to death. Pay is lousy for expected work load.

    Advice to Management

    More open door communication. Go back to old hiring system. Have a better and stricter training program for all positions.

    SPINX Company2016-06-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SPINX Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. Good pay. Great store employees.

    Cons

    Under staffed, no upper management consistency, "boys club", not much support from upper management, forced me to fire a full time employee due to having a seizure while "on the clock"

    Advice to Management

    Listen to and support your managers, make upper management have consistent job expectations, rules and guidelines for the store managers

    SPINX Company2016-06-08
  8. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Taylors, SC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SPINX Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The payment was above minimum wage, and that was nice. I gained a lot of experience and learned how to deal with all types of people.

    Cons

    My manager wasn't the best. The scheduling was very inconsistent. The turnover rate was ridiculous. After nine months of working there, I was the only remaining worker from when I started apart from the assistant manager. (Even the manager had changed)

    SPINX Company2016-05-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Spinx: Making Life Difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SPINX Company

    Pros

    Free drinks when you get to work and the work itself is not too hard. You meet some cool people on the job that are customers or co-workers.

    Cons

    Terrible company to work for. They are always short staffed because they don't hire enough people. The majority of the employees are slow, lazy, and gossip (females) about customers and other employees. Management expects too much out of people for not enough pay. I joined the military and am so glad I never have to work at Spinx ever again. I definitely recommend that you find another place to work if you are... looking for a job. I even go to competitor stores over any Spinx because of how they overall treat their customers. This job really takes its toll on you and they want Spinx to be your #1 priority as if you don't have a personal life.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people and have coverage so that when people quit and call off you're not stressed and others don't have to leave their personal life to deal with Spinx.

    SPINX Company2016-03-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Spinx has taught me many things and allowed me to make new friends."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Anderson, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SPINX Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Advancement opportunities are there. They are able to work with different types of schedules for the part time employees. They have tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    Work becomes your life. They drain every ounce of you. They expect way to much at times that end up putting so much pressure on one person that you end up feeling like your drowning.

    Advice to Management

    We can only do so much.

    SPINX Company2016-03-16
Found 61 reviews