SPi Global Reviews | Glassdoor

SPi Global Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 186 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Ratan Datta
47 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low salary, Disputes on salary, delayed cheques(in 16 reviews)

  • "low pay, drab businees park location(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "SPI GLOBAL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SPi Global full-time

    Pros

    The best place to start a career.

    Cons

    They only have minimum rate pay.

    Continue reading
    SPi Global 2016-02-22
  2. "Inconsistent and Uncommunicative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Freelancer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SPi Global for more than a year

    Pros

    Having trouble thinking of any.

    Cons

    Delays in payment, management ignores your emails.

    Continue reading
    SPi Global 2019-08-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "BEWARE! SPi DOES NOT PAY ITS CONTRACT EMPLOYEES!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SPi Global for more than a year

    Pros

    I'm not aware of any.

    Cons

    Invoices are ALWAYS significantly late paying invoices. They make up ridiculous reasons to avoid payment. Management is aware but doesn't care. If you take work from them, there is a good chance you'll never be paid.

    Continue reading
    SPi Global 2019-05-24
  4. "Pay your freelancers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freelance Copywriter in Buffalo Mop, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SPi Global for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no positives.

    Cons

    Stop lying to freelancers. Stop breaching your own contracts that state payment within 30 days. It's easy to say the invoice got lost. It's easy to blame someone else. Fix your problems and pay your freelancers.

    Continue reading
    SPi Global 2019-05-22
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Lewiston, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SPi Global full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours Can work remotely Equipment supplied.

    Cons

    No written policies for job. Poor communication throughout

    Continue reading
    SPi Global 2019-03-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Broadband Sales Representative in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SPi Global full-time

    Pros

    Good base wage and great money from sales

    Cons

    penalized for everything high turnover hire anybody

    Continue reading
    SPi Global 2019-03-27
  7. "Not Worth the Wait"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Writer in Ithaca, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SPi Global for more than a year

    Pros

    The money for freelance writers is decent.

    Cons

    The wait for the money, and fight to get it, is terrible. I wait for a full month for payment, then have to remind them to pay me when the month is over. I've waited up to two months for a paycheck. This company truly does not care about its people. If you're a new freelance writer, be warned that you'll have to fight for every paycheck.

    Continue reading
    SPi Global 2019-01-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Editorial Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editorial Project Manager in Lewiston, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SPi Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home option and flexibility in work schedule, great team of employees

    Cons

    Way too much work aka three full-time jobs trying to squeeze into 40 hours

    Continue reading
    SPi Global 2018-12-04
  9. "Little money for a lot of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at SPi Global

    Pros

    The topics of books offered for copy editing were interesting.

    Cons

    Pay rate is terrible for the amount of work required. Terrible communication from project managers -- unclear objectives and expectations. Additional work required even after project was completed.

    Continue reading
    SPi Global 2018-12-10
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Lewiston, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SPi Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with; entry-level experience; flexible hours

    Cons

    Minimal to no training; no opportunity for movement within the company - lack of opportunity for employees; extremely low pay; no pay raises; no annual review; no oversight by company management; no onsight leadership; high expectations from management concerning the number of hours employees work; extremely high turnover and "bare bones" staffing. The expectation is that PMs should find a way to get the job done, regardless of financial or freelancing resources. This job is impossible. People with decades in the industry cannot even keep up with the company's expectations. PMs elsewhere get paid three times as much as they do at SPi. Company management will exploit you if you are good at what you do.

    Continue reading
    SPi Global 2018-11-28
Found 186 reviews