SS&C Advent Reviews | Glassdoor

SS&C Advent Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 303 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
Bill Stone
0 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Being acquired by SS&C has put more pressure on the company to grow quickly which is stretching teams thin(in 18 reviews)

  • "It is amazing that this is not transparent to senior management(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SS&C Advent for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team environment. Talented colleagues.

    Cons

    Work hard. You must play hard.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the same management. There is a reason why we were # 1 servicing hedge unds.

    SS&C Advent2018-10-23

    SS&C Advent Response

    April 9, 2019Sr. Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you! We are happy you loved it at SS&C Advent.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture but slow in bringing in cutting edge tech !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SS&C Advent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture - very nice people to work with. Relaxed atmosphere and lot of freedom to focus on interesting projects and volunteer for something that could add value like prototypes, performance, technical debt etc. Working with people who have decades of programming experience is a plus and most of them are good to work with.

    Cons

    1> Very slow in bringing cutting edge technologies and too far behind with the current industry trends. Lots and lots of projects and time spent on performance oriented projects, technical debt (I work on a product which is 25+ years and still doesnt have support to go on the cloud !) 2> Salary + bonuses + benefits barely makes the top 40 or 50% of the companies in the bay area I guess ! The investment industry...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on bringing in newer technologies which could add a lot more value to customers and solve problems we have been fighting for since decades ! People are leaving after short tenures, so focus on benefits and compensation.

    SS&C Advent2019-06-11

    SS&C Advent Response

    June 12, 2019SS&C Advent

    Hello, we would like to thank you for the pros in your review and would like to apologize for the cons. We would love to learn more about your specific situation and make things right. If you wouldn't mind, can you talk to your manager at your earlier convenience? We look forward ...

    Show More
  3. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SS&C Advent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great workplace culture. Great leadership. Many teams and roles to choose from.

    Cons

    Newer company/Role. Bite off more than they can chew at times

    SS&C Advent2019-05-20

    SS&C Advent Response

    June 12, 2019SS&C Advent

    Thank you for your review of SS&C Advent. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to fill this out.

  4. "Not Same Since Takeover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Consultant 

    I worked at SS&C Advent full-time

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, and standard benefits

    Cons

    Long hours, lots of travel

    Advice to Management

    Go back to how things were.

    SS&C Advent2019-04-05

    SS&C Advent Response

    April 9, 2019SS&C Advent

    Since our acquisition in 2015, SS&C Advent (FKA Advent Software), has made great strides to ensure our current employees remain in a positive culture. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than desirable experience during this time and hope that you see our changes moving forward.

  5. "Service Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SS&C Advent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible and fun work environment with great people

    Cons

    I don't have any cons, it's a great place to work

    SS&C Advent2019-01-06

    SS&C Advent Response

    April 9, 2019SS&C Advent

    Thank you! We are happy you love it at SS&C Advent.

  6. "Software managers that don’t understand engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SS&C Advent

    Pros

    Work from home, flexible hours

    Cons

    Software managers have little knowledge or experience of software engineering

    SS&C Advent2019-01-04
  7. "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SS&C Advent full-time

    Pros

    Lots of great people work here. Good flexibility and work/life balance.

    Cons

    Unfortunately since the acquisition by SS&C things have changed for the worse. Lots of employee perks have gone away and morale is down. Location is also inconvenient, and the neighborhood isn't great but is improving.

    SS&C Advent2018-12-04

    SS&C Advent Response

    April 9, 2019Sr. Talent Acquisition Partner

    Since our acquisition in 2015, SS&C Advent (FKA Advent Software), has made great strides to ensure our current employees remain in a positive culture. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than desirable experience during this time and hope that you see our changes moving forward.

  8. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 75000 in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SS&C Advent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    management is great, flexible hours

    Cons

    limited raises, hard to move

    Advice to Management

    nothing

    SS&C Advent2018-08-07

    SS&C Advent Response

    April 9, 2019SS&C Advent

    Thank you! We are happy you love it at SS&C Advent.

  9. "software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Foster City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SS&C Advent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    life balance is good, culture

    Cons

    Going down a lot after acquisition

    Advice to Management

    If you don’t trust, don’t use

    SS&C Advent2018-07-21
  10. "SS&C Advent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Account Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends

    I have been working at SS&C Advent full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    team environment, cross team communication, direct client interaction, casual work environment, good benefits, flexible work schedule, opportunities to learn new things

    Cons

    inconsistent priorities across the larger SS&C organization creates confusion, lack of clarity in overall business strategy, limited opportunities for growth in certain offices

    SS&C Advent2018-06-01

    SS&C Advent Response

    April 9, 2019SS&C Advent

    Thank you! We are happy you love it at SS&C Advent.

Found 303 reviews