SSOE Group Reviews | Glassdoor

SSOE Group Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Bob Howell
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, flexi work hours(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Finding work/life balance can be a challenge(in 7 reviews)

  • "Very Toledo-centric even though it is a "global" company(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Right Job at the Right time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Architect in Toledo, OH

      I worked at SSOE Group full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Provided me with experience and knowledge to grow in the profession. Great people!

      Cons

      None, really. Company is quick to address and fix problems.

      Advice to Management

      No

      SSOE Group2019-01-28
    • "Hire and fire mentality"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Design Engineer 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at SSOE Group full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Decent people to work with , nice facility and good bonus

      Cons

      When work runs low everyone’s a target doesn’t matter how many years you’ve been there. Sitter clear unless you an Intern starting your career, use it as a stepping stone only.

      Advice to Management

      Stay in contact with your engineers employees at hat actually do the work, and college engineering degrees don’t automatically mean management material.

      SSOE Group2019-03-31
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at SSOE Group full-time

        Pros

        Company really cares about development and provides lots of diverse opportunities

        Cons

        don't get challenged on projects

        SSOE Group2018-10-24
      • "SSOE Group"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at SSOE Group full-time

        Pros

        - Lax work environment. - Flexible schedules.

        Cons

        - Below average national pay. - Moderate amount of overtime. - Low amount of benefits.

        SSOE Group2018-10-08
      • "Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at SSOE Group full-time

          Pros

          Good benefits and compensation Good training resources

          Cons

          Incompetent management Frequent change of managers and high turnover rate of employees

          SSOE Group2018-10-08
        • "Growing Company"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at SSOE Group full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Companies supports employees and tries to address their needs

          Cons

          Sometimes loses track of initiatives intended to improve employee morale.

          SSOE Group2018-09-28
        • Helpful (8)

          "Hire and Fire"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at SSOE Group full-time

          Pros

          There was a wide variety of assignments; great technical resources and people seemed willing to help out even if it meant extra time spent in the office. Benefits were average. My Department Manager was very helpful and fair.

          Cons

          Company has a history of "hire and fire"... I was told when I first interviewed (by a former employee) but I did not believe it. Business development is very lacking in some business units... lots of effort, little or no results. Senior managers not very willing to spend time with non-management people... only those who are deemed "important" or are of some higher rank within the company.

          Advice to Management

          Take a tougher stance on business development (and those doing it) and adjust staffing accordingly; there is no reason for a "hire and fire" business model! Senior managers need to be visible to non-management folks, not just for their 'chosen few'.

          SSOE Group2018-09-19
        • Helpful (3)

          "I can't complain"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Portland, OR
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at SSOE Group full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          I enjoy my Job, I feel valued by the people I work with. If you are a person who earnestly strives to learn, understand, and to do a good job and takes things seriously, in general people will respect that and you will become a valued member of the team. I am happy with my pay.

          Cons

          If SSOE can under pay you they will esp if you are an existing employee.

          Advice to Management

          Don't take advantage of employees willingness to put in hours and hours of overtime, while they are paid lower or average wages, It makes it very easy for other companies to lure them away. Better pay competitive wages to lure other people so we can get work done. Otherwise there is only so much people will take. Dedicated hard working people that we depend on will leave, and it will be a disaster. It has happened...

          Show More
          SSOE Group2018-06-21
        • "company evaluation"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at SSOE Group full-time

          Pros

          Most of the rank and file staff are good quality

          Cons

          Management seemingly without a clear strategy

          SSOE Group2018-07-26
        • Helpful (2)

          "Politics and Game"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toledo, OH
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at SSOE Group full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          They provided good benefits if you were a full time employee. If you find the right people there, you can learn a lot. Many people there willing to teach you. I learned more from one person while working than everyone else combined. This knowledge made it all worth it.

          Cons

          They hired many contract employees, and interns to avoid having to give out good benefits. They would hire people on as a contract with promise of a full time job, and then never hire them on as a full time employee. The culture was very bad office cliche. Back stabbing, secret meetings, hostile managers that tried to squeeze every ounce of effort out for as little money as possible. Raise time was a bunch of games....

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Be more honest with employees, and treat them with respect.

          SSOE Group2018-06-19
        Found 78 reviews