SSPR Reviews | Glassdoor

SSPR Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
SSPR CEO 	Heather Kelly (no image)
Heather Kelly
25 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Happy at SSPR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR

    Pros

    Growing every day in my job.

    Cons

    Stressful hours in this industry.

    SSPR2017-09-09
  2. "Good place to start PR Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SSPR

    Pros

    Great training Free lunches Bonus 2 x a year Fun/young co workers Good hours

    Cons

    Bad locations Bad reputation Overworked Underpaid You don't get to do very much writing

    Advice to Management

    hire more people and give more reasonable account loads based on salary/position

    SSPR2016-12-08
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Proud to work at SSPR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SSPR

    Pros

    -Colleagues = Family -Working with a kick-ass team of innovators -CEO has a clear vision for the future of the company -Supportive coworkers and positive work environment -Hands off training approach allows individuals the freedom to succeed on their own

    Cons

    -Office space and location -Work/life balance could improve a bit

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management would be to celebrate all company wins and individual successes in order for everyone to feel proud to work at SSPR.

    SSPR2016-06-21

    SSPR Response

    June 26, 2016HR Director

    Heather here: Thank you for your review! I’m proud to have you on the team. Wait, your feedback is anonymous, so how could I know that? Well, let me tell you. You refer to your colleagues as a “kick-ass team of innovators” for one. I have to agree with you. Our team is astounding. ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Fully confident in the growth of this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time

    Pros

    I truthfully believe that there is a solid future for this company. While there has been bumps in the road, i think that the executive staff is putting everything they've got to make this place the best it can be -- whether that be today or 5 years from now. Formerly apart of S&S Relations, I never took a vacation and slaved away in order to please everyone around me. I now have the ability to take vacation at my... leisure (and not check email) and also the ability to WFH if needed. The flexibility has made my work/life balance a lot more practical. I definitely feel supported in the work i do and know that i could call anyone on the exec team if i really had a problem and feel like they would listen and if they could, do something about it.

    Show More

    Cons

    - office space isn't ideal - would like to work collectively with more people across the agency - wish people would feel confident in talking about how they feel

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to your employees and make those connections -- i think that is the most important!

    SSPR2016-06-23

    SSPR Response

    June 26, 2016HR Director

    Heather here: I agree with you. The executive staff is putting everything we’ve got to make this company the best it can be. Moment of truth: we aren’t perfect. We have the best intentions and we have varied experience that inspires well-rounded conversations about vision and the ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Grain of Salt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Work Life Balance Great PTO 401k match Fun people Its surprising that some of these new reviews from the past month paint a picture of a company that I just don't see. I haven't been at SSPR long enough to fully discredit with a fine tooth comb what is being said in some of these negative reviews but I do warn those who read them that the frequency and recent jump of negativity suggests this is a small... group of employees hoping to bully a company they seem to have a problem with. I have not seen any sort of a "fear" or "toxicity" and from what I hear of the previous CEO, it existed more then. Why is it so awful that the CEO hired a friend or removed family member? New CEOs are required to use their own network of people they trust. These two seem very qualified for the positions since they succeeded at very large companies.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lots of internal assignments that have good intentions but sometimes are tedious. Departments and offices sometimes feel too separated. Unfair Glassdoor reviews are unfair and upsetting.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focused on what you want to be and don't listen to the bullying. It's not everyone. Companies experience growing pains with their people, this is no different.

    SSPR2016-06-23

    SSPR Response

    June 26, 2016HR Director

    Heather here: I have to be honest with you. I’m a bit surprised by the negative reviews as well. But I’m glad for them, because they bring up some issues that we can start addressing right away. I don’t care about pointing fingers. I want to focus on action and I rely on proactive ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (11)

    ""Change is hard, but change is good" - Henry Rollins"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR

    Pros

    Having worked at what was S&S and is now SSPR there have been many changes - all which I believe are for the betterment of the whole. There have been multiple improvements in fairness, org systems and training processes. Working at SSPR gives employees real-world, hands-on experience, limitless opportunities to be creative and lets individuals develop their own, personal work style.

    Cons

    While there have been struggles, frustrations, and internal projects that seem distracting, what workplace doesn't have those?

    Advice to Management

    As long as SSPR keeps striving for continuous improvement, the employees and business are both going to grow.

    SSPR2016-05-20

    SSPR Response

    June 26, 2016HR Director

    Heather here: Henry Rollins is dead on. Boy is change hard. The only thing that propels me through the changes and tough decisions I have to make on behalf of the company is my belief that it is leading us somewhere ‘good’. When I stepped in as CEO of this company, I addressed ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Improving Every Day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time

    Pros

    The company is undergoing some major changes with a new CEO. However, these changes are making SSPR a better place to work (improved training process, better clients, efforts to ease workload, freedom to shape career path, etc). Leadership keeps it real, and is willing to listen to employees and take their suggestions to heart.

    Cons

    -Culture/morale varies depending on office location -A few older management people who were here before new CEO are slow to change -Training still needs to improve

    SSPR2016-05-11

    SSPR Response

    June 26, 2016HR Director

    Heather here: First off, I want to thank you for your review. I’ve been actively discussing recent Glassdoor reviews and talking about how we can respond internally to improve transparency and accessibility. We have a point-counterpoint thing developing here. And what that tells ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (12)

    "SSPR burns you out, then spits you out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SSPR full-time

    Pros

    SSPR is a great place to learn the game. Lots of opportunities to learn PR, social media, and media relations.

    Cons

    Gossip is currency. Accounts are managed by junior employees who lack strategy and operate out of fear. This results in massive employee and client turnover. The company cannot manage its own reputation let alone anyone else's. Senior managers who create hostile work environments for junior employees are rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    Until the blatant nepotism stops, the problems will continue. Until senor leaders actually listen to employees without defensiveness, the problems will continue. Until senior leaders stop burning out, then spitting out employees, the problem will continue.

    SSPR2016-06-22
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Trying, but struggling to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR

    Pros

    -Flexible work schedule, 401k match, generous PTO -Good for entry level looking to gain media experience fast -Don't have to do any writing other than media email pitches

    Cons

    -Culture is negative and very cliquey, especially at the top, very gossipy -Unclear and messy team structure -Executive team consistently assigns work over weekends and holiday breaks -Nothing other than media relations, limiting opportunity to learn all aspects of PR -Lack any formal training, learn by doing/making mistakes, then actual teaching

    Advice to Management

    -Clear management team wants company to improve, but no clear direction on how ow where we want to go, objectives and goals change almost weekly, unclear what we're trying to accomplish. -CEO seems focused on short term rather than long term, big rewards to employees for things that really don't seem to matter to big picture -Unclear direction and communication when rolling out new things -A lot of goals,... homework to track; appreciate the perks we are getting, but they always come with homework or something we have to do for it--seems contradicting at times -Define who we want to be, what we want to do and start planning for that

    Show More
    SSPR2016-05-18

    SSPR Response

    June 24, 2016HR Director

    Heather here: Your feedback is appreciated, and much of it ties cohesively to the mission of our organization. You’re 100% correct—we not only want this already exceptional company to improve, but we strive for SSPR to be the best in our industry. Even prior to his passing, Steve ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Big Red Flag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Northfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SSPR for more than a year

    Pros

    - 401K match - Flexible work from home - Free food - Everyone else is suffering so you get to be miserable together - You can wear yoga pants to work

    Cons

    According to the PRSA, the national average for salaried pay in 2016 for an Account Executive is 56K. SSPR starts you off at 36K and tries to keep you there for as long as possible. The company is known as a joke in the PR and tech space. Many reporters have asked not to be contacted by the company because of their spam pitching styles. The Chicago office is a joke. Meant to remedy reporter relations and provide... unique strategies for pitch campaigns, when in reality they ask you how you would do something and then say, yeah you're right. But then criticize you for not getting enough placements. The expectations are ridiculous, to be on sometimes 13+ accounts with expectations to bring in at least 2 leads, per client, per week. There is nothing to learn here except how to spam reporters and damage your name in the industry. The CEO is known to surround herself with friends and family as her executive team. HR is a joke and actually took away some of the things that made working here fun. The environment is toxic, and very stagnant to your career. HR says they care and asks to hear from us and when we voice our concerns, we're met with nothing in return. Many don't even see the point in talking to HR or their managers because they know nothing is going to change. They've tried to work on hierarchy and managing employees but when managers themselves can't even seem to stay organized or keep things together, how can someone rely on them for help? They can't. Communication is hard here, there's constant whispers behind closed doors and it just doesn't feel safe. They're quick to lay people off for disagreeing with upper management, knowing they can sucker in some other kid looking for a job which is a big problem with people not feeling valued when people put in more than 60 hours a week here. I had a lot of high hopes to see this place change but it was pretty clear after two months of the new CEO in place it wasn't going to change at all. We might have pretty stationary, a new website and all that jazz but the company is still the same underneath.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maybe take a course in understanding how to manage employees. Try to care about your employees and help them grow. The turnover rate is astronomical, this is supposed to be a professional business, not a puppy pitching mill. Listen to your employees, they're the ones helping you maintain clients and keeping them happy on the ground floor. If they're not happy, you should be alarmed. You're losing great talent... because you don't know how to maintain them. This company could really have been great if you had taken the time to care for them.

    Show More
    SSPR2016-06-16
Found 58 reviews
</>Embed