SSPR "flexible work" Reviews | Glassdoor

SSPR Employee Reviews about "flexible work"

Updated 8 Nov 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
SSPR CEO 	Heather Kelly (no image)
Heather Kelly
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love the flexibility SSPR provides with flex-hours(in 17 reviews)

  • "Flexible work environment, leadership encourages personal growth and development(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "SSPR starts you off at 36K and tries to keep you there for as long as possible(in 9 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance could improve a bit(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team. Everyone is helpful and there is real environment of work hard, play hard in all the offices. Everyone is committed to their jobs and it's a fun team environment. The thing I love most about SSPR is that while there's a lot of freedom to find your own footing in the PR world, there is also a lot of support. The exec team is helpful and collaborative, but also allows me the freedom to try things on... my own. There are younger leaders in our company too and they are still learning, but I actually see that as a chance to help shape the culture. The benefits are amazing. Flexible work schedules, very generous company paid holidays and PTO, and fun team activities. One thing that I really like is the volunteer paid time off. I've volunteered for several community events close to my heart and I like that my employer sponsors that. Heather Kelly is a great CEO. She's not perfect, but she really cares about her employees and is creating a great company. If you join our team, I can promise you will learn a lot. Working here has been one of my best decision ever.

    Show More

    Cons

    There's not a lot of structure surrounding your job. You have to be comfortable diving in and figuring it out on your own. If you ask for help, you'll get it (probably more than you need!) but you have to take the initiative. The work pace is fast and you have to juggle a lot of responsibilities. I personally like that, but for some it might seem overwhelming. You also need to have confidence in yourself,... there's not a lot of hand holding here. There's training and lots of mentorship, but no one will sit with you for weeks to teach you how to do PR. It's very much learn on the job. This is a great place for someone with a lot of initiative and a passion for tech PR.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Your commitment and passion to the team shows every day.

    SSPR2017-12-04

    SSPR Response

    December 5, 2017HR Director

    Heather here: Thank you for the incredibly kind words. I’m thrilled to hear that you feel real ownership over your work and career. This is completely in line with my vision for the future of SSPR. I’m happy that you’re giving back to your community with our volunteer time off policy ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (13)

    "Trying, but struggling to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR

    Pros

    -Flexible work schedule, 401k match, generous PTO -Good for entry level looking to gain media experience fast -Don't have to do any writing other than media email pitches

    Cons

    -Culture is negative and very cliquey, especially at the top, very gossipy -Unclear and messy team structure -Executive team consistently assigns work over weekends and holiday breaks -Nothing other than media relations, limiting opportunity to learn all aspects of PR -Lack any formal training, learn by doing/making mistakes, then actual teaching

    Advice to Management

    -Clear management team wants company to improve, but no clear direction on how ow where we want to go, objectives and goals change almost weekly, unclear what we're trying to accomplish. -CEO seems focused on short term rather than long term, big rewards to employees for things that really don't seem to matter to big picture -Unclear direction and communication when rolling out new things -A lot of goals,... homework to track; appreciate the perks we are getting, but they always come with homework or something we have to do for it--seems contradicting at times -Define who we want to be, what we want to do and start planning for that

    Show More
    SSPR2016-05-18

    SSPR Response

    June 24, 2016HR Director

    Heather here: Your feedback is appreciated, and much of it ties cohesively to the mission of our organization. You’re 100% correct—we not only want this already exceptional company to improve, but we strive for SSPR to be the best in our industry. Even prior to his passing, Steve ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Big Red Flag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Northfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SSPR for more than a year

    Pros

    - 401K match - Flexible work from home - Free food - Everyone else is suffering so you get to be miserable together - You can wear yoga pants to work

    Cons

    According to the PRSA, the national average for salaried pay in 2016 for an Account Executive is 56K. SSPR starts you off at 36K and tries to keep you there for as long as possible. The company is known as a joke in the PR and tech space. Many reporters have asked not to be contacted by the company because of their spam pitching styles. The Chicago office is a joke. Meant to remedy reporter relations and provide... unique strategies for pitch campaigns, when in reality they ask you how you would do something and then say, yeah you're right. But then criticize you for not getting enough placements. The expectations are ridiculous, to be on sometimes 13+ accounts with expectations to bring in at least 2 leads, per client, per week. There is nothing to learn here except how to spam reporters and damage your name in the industry. The CEO is known to surround herself with friends and family as her executive team. HR is a joke and actually took away some of the things that made working here fun. The environment is toxic, and very stagnant to your career. HR says they care and asks to hear from us and when we voice our concerns, we're met with nothing in return. Many don't even see the point in talking to HR or their managers because they know nothing is going to change. They've tried to work on hierarchy and managing employees but when managers themselves can't even seem to stay organized or keep things together, how can someone rely on them for help? They can't. Communication is hard here, there's constant whispers behind closed doors and it just doesn't feel safe. They're quick to lay people off for disagreeing with upper management, knowing they can sucker in some other kid looking for a job which is a big problem with people not feeling valued when people put in more than 60 hours a week here. I had a lot of high hopes to see this place change but it was pretty clear after two months of the new CEO in place it wasn't going to change at all. We might have pretty stationary, a new website and all that jazz but the company is still the same underneath.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maybe take a course in understanding how to manage employees. Try to care about your employees and help them grow. The turnover rate is astronomical, this is supposed to be a professional business, not a puppy pitching mill. Listen to your employees, they're the ones helping you maintain clients and keeping them happy on the ground floor. If they're not happy, you should be alarmed. You're losing great talent... because you don't know how to maintain them. This company could really have been great if you had taken the time to care for them.

    Show More
    SSPR2016-06-16
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Toxic Work Environment...Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR

    Pros

    -Flexible Work Schedule -401K -Generous Paid Time Off

    Cons

    Where to start. Since the passing of the Great Steve Simon (founder/CEO) management has managed to drive out nearly half of its employees. The turn-over rate at SSPR is now astronomical, and there is a ton of talk but not enough doing. Executive team feels inferior to the rest of the company. Pay is an absolute joke and slap in the face for the vast majority of us. There is no room for growth, very little... opportunity for raises, and the overall atmosphere is downright negative. Employees who had been loyal to the company for decades were fired, so they could be replaced with family and friends.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with some respect. Ask yourself if it was really the best idea to hire friends and family in the CO office. Was it so you could feel superior to other offices? HR needs to indeed keep things confidential. Often times people are afraid to go to HR due to the ramifications of HR being friends with the CEO. Stop throwing a million changes at us all at once. SLOW DOWN. Your employees are NOT happy,... (hence the turn-over rate) so listen to them instead of focusing on yourselves and petty changes.

    Show More
    SSPR2016-06-14

    SSPR Response

    June 23, 2016HR Director

    Heather here: Your feedback is extremely important to me and I really appreciate you taking the time to voice your concerns. I would like to begin by addressing the hiring of ‘friends and family.’ Any new CEO, such as myself, will want to populate their leadership team with those ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SSPR

    Pros

    I found my experience at SSPR to be quite fun due to the following reasons: - flexible work hours - employees are encourage to collaborate, move about the office and inspire creativity - fully stocked kitchen with yummy and healthy snacks - lots of happy hours, company bought lunches, events and perks - colorful and clean office space - paid for parking

    Cons

    With the good, comes the bad: - strictly results based [ no leads = no more need for you] - limited training opportunities/help given to newbies - over promise clients on deliverables to encourage motivation - stressful environment, management has little to no regard for workload - let 2 interns go, each after their 60 day reviews and claimed they "weren't producing" and were not where management expected them... to be, despite no training - cliques galore = feels like high school - badmouth clients as soon as conference call was complete = calling certain member of client teams "so dumb" - extreme cursing - president is extremely removed from client accounts yet was main contact

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give everyone equal opportunities to shine. Reward your employees with praise rather than perks. Provide extensive training to interns even after their 60 day reviews. Don't over promise clients more than you and your team can deliver. Encourage motivation through training/hard work - not a contest.

    SSPR2014-06-17
  6. "Unlimited growth potential via hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, leadership encourages personal growth and development. You are able to work your way into promotions and raises due to hard work, not based on tenure.

    Cons

    Can be stressful, but think that is more of the nature of PR than working at SSPR.

    Advice to Management

    Take what works and replicate across offices.

    SSPR2014-05-22
Found 58 reviews
</>Embed