SSPR "sspr" Reviews | Glassdoor

SSPR Employee Reviews about "sspr"

Updated Nov 8, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
SSPR CEO 	Heather Kelly (no image)
Heather Kelly
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love the flexibility SSPR provides with flex-hours(in 17 reviews)

  • "Flexible work environment, leadership encourages personal growth and development(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "SSPR starts you off at 36K and tries to keep you there for as long as possible(in 9 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance could improve a bit(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "sspr"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Culture, Innovative Clients, Overall Kickass Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Choosing to work at SSPR is one of the best decisions I've made in my professional career. I love coming to work to dive head first into working with tech clients and the people here. The culture is uplifting, motivating and the employees have become some of my best friends. I love the flexibility SSPR provides with flex-hours. SSPR is not an "butt in seat" company and empowers you to be the best employee possible... with its many perks.

    Show More

    Cons

    PR is one of the most stressful careers out there but Heather and SSPR do their best to curb that and make sure we have the best work/life balance possible.

    SSPR2018-02-22

    SSPR Response

    February 26, 2018HR Director

    Heather here: Thank you so much! This is awesome feedback and exactly what we’ve been working toward. I’m lucky to have such a talented and enthusiastic team!

  2. "Looking for Career Growth? This is the Right Place."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Relations Specialist in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time

    Pros

    SSPR is an amazing place to experience fast growth in your public relations career. There are opportunities to initiate and carry out your own projects, help train new team members, lead continued education sessions across the entire team, express what type of work you're passionate about and pave your own role. The executive team is extremely accessible and invested in every team member. Recognition and... appreciation are a priority, and the people are incredible. It's a team of fun, witty, weird, hilarious, smart and especially hardworking people.

    Show More

    Cons

    As a company experiencing a TON of growth each year, flexibility, patience and self-motivation are all must-have qualities. If you're not willing to work through changes, learn as you go, be adaptable or roll with things as they happen, this might not be the best place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up all the innovation - this company is going in a great direction. Changes can be painful to navigate, but they're important.

    SSPR2018-02-02

    SSPR Response

    February 6, 2018HR Director

    Heather here: I really appreciate your feedback! I am grateful every day to have such an excellent team of witty, smart and hardworking public relations professionals. We strived for better change management over the last year and we saw amazing results in our team’s ability to adapt ...

    Show More
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team. Everyone is helpful and there is real environment of work hard, play hard in all the offices. Everyone is committed to their jobs and it's a fun team environment. The thing I love most about SSPR is that while there's a lot of freedom to find your own footing in the PR world, there is also a lot of support. The exec team is helpful and collaborative, but also allows me the freedom to try things on... my own. There are younger leaders in our company too and they are still learning, but I actually see that as a chance to help shape the culture. The benefits are amazing. Flexible work schedules, very generous company paid holidays and PTO, and fun team activities. One thing that I really like is the volunteer paid time off. I've volunteered for several community events close to my heart and I like that my employer sponsors that. Heather Kelly is a great CEO. She's not perfect, but she really cares about her employees and is creating a great company. If you join our team, I can promise you will learn a lot. Working here has been one of my best decision ever.

    Show More

    Cons

    There's not a lot of structure surrounding your job. You have to be comfortable diving in and figuring it out on your own. If you ask for help, you'll get it (probably more than you need!) but you have to take the initiative. The work pace is fast and you have to juggle a lot of responsibilities. I personally like that, but for some it might seem overwhelming. You also need to have confidence in yourself,... there's not a lot of hand holding here. There's training and lots of mentorship, but no one will sit with you for weeks to teach you how to do PR. It's very much learn on the job. This is a great place for someone with a lot of initiative and a passion for tech PR.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Your commitment and passion to the team shows every day.

    SSPR2017-12-04

    SSPR Response

    December 5, 2017HR Director

    Heather here: Thank you for the incredibly kind words. I’m thrilled to hear that you feel real ownership over your work and career. This is completely in line with my vision for the future of SSPR. I’m happy that you’re giving back to your community with our volunteer time off policy ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Integration Coordinator (Account Executive)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is always looking to improve! You can go directly to CEO Heather Kelly with any ideas, feedback, etc and she is responsive and understanding. Managers are receptive, and its clear they care about you and want you to succeed. There is plenty of room for growth, and everyone here is always ready to help you learn, move up and improve. The company made "Leveling Up" its theme for 2017, and I cannot believe... how many processes have improved and how many new training opportunities I've received. This is a phenomenal place to start your career, learn the ins and outs of media relations and grow as a professional. Other perks include catered lunches, free snacks, bonuses, commission, summer hours, remote work options, great PTO and flexible hours.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is constantly trying to grow and better itself, so if you struggle to embrace change that may be a challenge for you! Also, there are times when workload gets stressful, but managers and teammates are always willing to help, it's the nature of the industry, and it's clear that SSPR cares about you and will work to alleviate your stress. You just have to be able to ask for help when you need it!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    SSPR2017-10-23

    SSPR Response

    October 24, 2017HR Director

    Heather here: I really appreciate the positive feedback. We are going to continue to #levelup in 2018. I’m glad you’ve felt the impact of better processes and additional training. I look forward to continuing to grow together!

  5. Helpful (6)

    "Grain of Salt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Work Life Balance Great PTO 401k match Fun people Its surprising that some of these new reviews from the past month paint a picture of a company that I just don't see. I haven't been at SSPR long enough to fully discredit with a fine tooth comb what is being said in some of these negative reviews but I do warn those who read them that the frequency and recent jump of negativity suggests this is a small... group of employees hoping to bully a company they seem to have a problem with. I have not seen any sort of a "fear" or "toxicity" and from what I hear of the previous CEO, it existed more then. Why is it so awful that the CEO hired a friend or removed family member? New CEOs are required to use their own network of people they trust. These two seem very qualified for the positions since they succeeded at very large companies.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lots of internal assignments that have good intentions but sometimes are tedious. Departments and offices sometimes feel too separated. Unfair Glassdoor reviews are unfair and upsetting.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focused on what you want to be and don't listen to the bullying. It's not everyone. Companies experience growing pains with their people, this is no different.

    SSPR2016-06-23

    SSPR Response

    June 26, 2016HR Director

    Heather here: I have to be honest with you. I’m a bit surprised by the negative reviews as well. But I’m glad for them, because they bring up some issues that we can start addressing right away. I don’t care about pointing fingers. I want to focus on action and I rely on proactive ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (11)

    ""Change is hard, but change is good" - Henry Rollins"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR

    Pros

    Having worked at what was S&S and is now SSPR there have been many changes - all which I believe are for the betterment of the whole. There have been multiple improvements in fairness, org systems and training processes. Working at SSPR gives employees real-world, hands-on experience, limitless opportunities to be creative and lets individuals develop their own, personal work style.

    Cons

    While there have been struggles, frustrations, and internal projects that seem distracting, what workplace doesn't have those?

    Advice to Management

    As long as SSPR keeps striving for continuous improvement, the employees and business are both going to grow.

    SSPR2016-05-20

    SSPR Response

    June 26, 2016HR Director

    Heather here: Henry Rollins is dead on. Boy is change hard. The only thing that propels me through the changes and tough decisions I have to make on behalf of the company is my belief that it is leading us somewhere ‘good’. When I stepped in as CEO of this company, I addressed ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Improving Every Day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time

    Pros

    The company is undergoing some major changes with a new CEO. However, these changes are making SSPR a better place to work (improved training process, better clients, efforts to ease workload, freedom to shape career path, etc). Leadership keeps it real, and is willing to listen to employees and take their suggestions to heart.

    Cons

    -Culture/morale varies depending on office location -A few older management people who were here before new CEO are slow to change -Training still needs to improve

    SSPR2016-05-11

    SSPR Response

    June 26, 2016HR Director

    Heather here: First off, I want to thank you for your review. I’ve been actively discussing recent Glassdoor reviews and talking about how we can respond internally to improve transparency and accessibility. We have a point-counterpoint thing developing here. And what that tells ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (12)

    "SSPR burns you out, then spits you out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SSPR full-time

    Pros

    SSPR is a great place to learn the game. Lots of opportunities to learn PR, social media, and media relations.

    Cons

    Gossip is currency. Accounts are managed by junior employees who lack strategy and operate out of fear. This results in massive employee and client turnover. The company cannot manage its own reputation let alone anyone else's. Senior managers who create hostile work environments for junior employees are rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    Until the blatant nepotism stops, the problems will continue. Until senor leaders actually listen to employees without defensiveness, the problems will continue. Until senior leaders stop burning out, then spitting out employees, the problem will continue.

    SSPR2016-06-22
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Big Red Flag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Northfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SSPR for more than a year

    Pros

    - 401K match - Flexible work from home - Free food - Everyone else is suffering so you get to be miserable together - You can wear yoga pants to work

    Cons

    According to the PRSA, the national average for salaried pay in 2016 for an Account Executive is 56K. SSPR starts you off at 36K and tries to keep you there for as long as possible. The company is known as a joke in the PR and tech space. Many reporters have asked not to be contacted by the company because of their spam pitching styles. The Chicago office is a joke. Meant to remedy reporter relations and provide... unique strategies for pitch campaigns, when in reality they ask you how you would do something and then say, yeah you're right. But then criticize you for not getting enough placements. The expectations are ridiculous, to be on sometimes 13+ accounts with expectations to bring in at least 2 leads, per client, per week. There is nothing to learn here except how to spam reporters and damage your name in the industry. The CEO is known to surround herself with friends and family as her executive team. HR is a joke and actually took away some of the things that made working here fun. The environment is toxic, and very stagnant to your career. HR says they care and asks to hear from us and when we voice our concerns, we're met with nothing in return. Many don't even see the point in talking to HR or their managers because they know nothing is going to change. They've tried to work on hierarchy and managing employees but when managers themselves can't even seem to stay organized or keep things together, how can someone rely on them for help? They can't. Communication is hard here, there's constant whispers behind closed doors and it just doesn't feel safe. They're quick to lay people off for disagreeing with upper management, knowing they can sucker in some other kid looking for a job which is a big problem with people not feeling valued when people put in more than 60 hours a week here. I had a lot of high hopes to see this place change but it was pretty clear after two months of the new CEO in place it wasn't going to change at all. We might have pretty stationary, a new website and all that jazz but the company is still the same underneath.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maybe take a course in understanding how to manage employees. Try to care about your employees and help them grow. The turnover rate is astronomical, this is supposed to be a professional business, not a puppy pitching mill. Listen to your employees, they're the ones helping you maintain clients and keeping them happy on the ground floor. If they're not happy, you should be alarmed. You're losing great talent... because you don't know how to maintain them. This company could really have been great if you had taken the time to care for them.

    Show More
    SSPR2016-06-16
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Toxic Work Environment...Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR

    Pros

    -Flexible Work Schedule -401K -Generous Paid Time Off

    Cons

    Where to start. Since the passing of the Great Steve Simon (founder/CEO) management has managed to drive out nearly half of its employees. The turn-over rate at SSPR is now astronomical, and there is a ton of talk but not enough doing. Executive team feels inferior to the rest of the company. Pay is an absolute joke and slap in the face for the vast majority of us. There is no room for growth, very little... opportunity for raises, and the overall atmosphere is downright negative. Employees who had been loyal to the company for decades were fired, so they could be replaced with family and friends.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with some respect. Ask yourself if it was really the best idea to hire friends and family in the CO office. Was it so you could feel superior to other offices? HR needs to indeed keep things confidential. Often times people are afraid to go to HR due to the ramifications of HR being friends with the CEO. Stop throwing a million changes at us all at once. SLOW DOWN. Your employees are NOT happy,... (hence the turn-over rate) so listen to them instead of focusing on yourselves and petty changes.

    Show More
    SSPR2016-06-14

    SSPR Response

    June 23, 2016HR Director

    Heather here: Your feedback is extremely important to me and I really appreciate you taking the time to voice your concerns. I would like to begin by addressing the hiring of ‘friends and family.’ Any new CEO, such as myself, will want to populate their leadership team with those ...

    Show More
Found 58 reviews
</>Embed