SSPR "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

SSPR Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 8, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
SSPR CEO 	Heather Kelly (no image)
Heather Kelly
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love the flexibility SSPR provides with flex-hours(in 17 reviews)

  • "Flexible work environment, leadership encourages personal growth and development(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "SSPR starts you off at 36K and tries to keep you there for as long as possible(in 9 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance could improve a bit(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "The future is not looking bright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time

    Pros

    -Good Benefits -Decent work/life balance

    Cons

    -HORRIBLE turnover rate -Struggling to hire/keep current employees

    SSPR2018-04-09

    SSPR Response

    April 10, 2018HR Director

    Heather here: Thanks for the feedback. First, I am glad you feel you have decent work life balance. It is one of the biggest challenges agencies face. I am always looking for ways to improve employee experience and one of those ways is leveling up our talent. We have had some turnover ...

    Show More
  2. "Great Culture, Innovative Clients, Overall Kickass Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Choosing to work at SSPR is one of the best decisions I've made in my professional career. I love coming to work to dive head first into working with tech clients and the people here. The culture is uplifting, motivating and the employees have become some of my best friends. I love the flexibility SSPR provides with flex-hours. SSPR is not an "butt in seat" company and empowers you to be the best employee possible... with its many perks.

    Show More

    Cons

    PR is one of the most stressful careers out there but Heather and SSPR do their best to curb that and make sure we have the best work/life balance possible.

    SSPR2018-02-22

    SSPR Response

    February 26, 2018HR Director

    Heather here: Thank you so much! This is awesome feedback and exactly what we’ve been working toward. I’m lucky to have such a talented and enthusiastic team!

  3. "Supportive team with endless learning opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I feel I have learned so much at this company and continue to learn every day. There are training opportunities weekly (sometimes more than one!) and the exec team takes the time to train each manager so every employee has a supportive/intelligent manager.

    Cons

    As with any PR agency, there is the 24/7 job-never-ends component However, while we are always available for our clients, managers and team leads try their best to encourage a healthy work-life balance. Stress always comes in PR, but they do try to support wherever possible.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! As an employee I am thankful for the support and for the feeling of always being heard. Every employee feels empowered to speak up and I am very grateful for that!

    SSPR2017-12-04

    SSPR Response

    December 5, 2017HR Director

    Heather here: I’m glad to hear that you enjoy all the training! We’ve made it a major focus of 2017 to provide our managers and staff with the skills they need to succeed. I appreciate your positive attitude towards the 24/7 aspects of our job. The leadership team and I will continue ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Proud to work at SSPR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SSPR

    Pros

    -Colleagues = Family -Working with a kick-ass team of innovators -CEO has a clear vision for the future of the company -Supportive coworkers and positive work environment -Hands off training approach allows individuals the freedom to succeed on their own

    Cons

    -Office space and location -Work/life balance could improve a bit

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management would be to celebrate all company wins and individual successes in order for everyone to feel proud to work at SSPR.

    SSPR2016-06-21

    SSPR Response

    June 26, 2016HR Director

    Heather here: Thank you for your review! I’m proud to have you on the team. Wait, your feedback is anonymous, so how could I know that? Well, let me tell you. You refer to your colleagues as a “kick-ass team of innovators” for one. I have to agree with you. Our team is astounding. ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Fully confident in the growth of this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time

    Pros

    I truthfully believe that there is a solid future for this company. While there has been bumps in the road, i think that the executive staff is putting everything they've got to make this place the best it can be -- whether that be today or 5 years from now. Formerly apart of S&S Relations, I never took a vacation and slaved away in order to please everyone around me. I now have the ability to take vacation at my... leisure (and not check email) and also the ability to WFH if needed. The flexibility has made my work/life balance a lot more practical. I definitely feel supported in the work i do and know that i could call anyone on the exec team if i really had a problem and feel like they would listen and if they could, do something about it.

    Show More

    Cons

    - office space isn't ideal - would like to work collectively with more people across the agency - wish people would feel confident in talking about how they feel

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to your employees and make those connections -- i think that is the most important!

    SSPR2016-06-23

    SSPR Response

    June 26, 2016HR Director

    Heather here: I agree with you. The executive staff is putting everything we’ve got to make this company the best it can be. Moment of truth: we aren’t perfect. We have the best intentions and we have varied experience that inspires well-rounded conversations about vision and the ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Grain of Salt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Work Life Balance Great PTO 401k match Fun people Its surprising that some of these new reviews from the past month paint a picture of a company that I just don't see. I haven't been at SSPR long enough to fully discredit with a fine tooth comb what is being said in some of these negative reviews but I do warn those who read them that the frequency and recent jump of negativity suggests this is a small... group of employees hoping to bully a company they seem to have a problem with. I have not seen any sort of a "fear" or "toxicity" and from what I hear of the previous CEO, it existed more then. Why is it so awful that the CEO hired a friend or removed family member? New CEOs are required to use their own network of people they trust. These two seem very qualified for the positions since they succeeded at very large companies.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lots of internal assignments that have good intentions but sometimes are tedious. Departments and offices sometimes feel too separated. Unfair Glassdoor reviews are unfair and upsetting.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focused on what you want to be and don't listen to the bullying. It's not everyone. Companies experience growing pains with their people, this is no different.

    SSPR2016-06-23

    SSPR Response

    June 26, 2016HR Director

    Heather here: I have to be honest with you. I’m a bit surprised by the negative reviews as well. But I’m glad for them, because they bring up some issues that we can start addressing right away. I don’t care about pointing fingers. I want to focus on action and I rely on proactive ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great opportunities!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, lots of opportunities to work with different people, lots of room to grow, manage others, and learn the ins and outs of the industry. Very fast-paced environment where every day is different. Lots of opportunity to work directly with clients which is always cool! And you get to work directly with the CEO which is great because he's a very hands-on leader. Opportunities for travel as well (to... see clients). You get to work with all types of companies from startups to IPO and tell their story so if this sounds like a something you want to be a part of, definitely apply!

    Show More

    Cons

    More time off for holidays would be nice :)

    Advice to Management

    Consider implementing yearly or biannual reviews of your employees to encourage growth and direction. Continue promoting teamwork and team collaboration; people love coming to a friendly environment where they feel like they are part of a team that wants to help/motivate one another so I would continue the track you're currently on.

    SSPR2014-10-17
  8. "Great place to grow, thrive and promote within"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SSPR is great agency to not only get your feet wet but grow professionally. From my experience, upper management invests a lot in their internship training while still avoiding the micro-managing you may expect elsewhere. The company is great for those who look to be promoted from within, are results oriented and competitive. The team atmosphere is positive and SSPR allows you to flourish both individually and in a... team environment. The sky is definitely the limit.

    Show More

    Cons

    Typical to the PR industry, you need to have thick skin and a sense of humor to survive sometimes harsh criticism from reporters. You also need to be prepared to find a work-life balance and understand that there are some nights you need to put a clients' needs first.

    Advice to Management

    Would love to see more in-person interaction with remote teams and a more competitive 401K matching system.

    SSPR2014-02-05
  9. "A Dynamic Company That Fosters Employee Engagement and Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSPR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    SSPR is committed to training and employee development through a range of formal and informal training/mentoring programs. This commitment to training leads to engaged and motivated employees excited to take the next step in their career. As a merit based agency, there are vast opportunities for employee advancement. The management team is dedicated and inspirational to the rest of the team.

    Cons

    As is typical in the PR industry, there are some work-life-balance challenges. However, SSPR works hard to ensure their employees are happy and find balance.

    Advice to Management

    SSPR's management team has made a commitment to training which sets the company apart from competitors and creates a motivated workforce. I encourage management to continue to make training a priority and continue to be an incredible example to the rest of the staff in regards to client relationships, media successes and management style.

    SSPR2014-01-28
  10. "It was a learning and good company to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SSPR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The quality of work and the job profile, along with the perks are the main cause of attraction in this company.

    Cons

    You have to be precised about the working and time is the main key of work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Management should look after the benefits for sure but also for the mind peace of the employee.

    SSPR2014-08-05
Found 58 reviews
</>Embed