STERIS Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Engineer

STERIS Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
STERIS CEO Walter M. Rosebrough, Jr.
Walter M. Rosebrough, Jr.
7 Ratings
  1. "Team Oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Engineering Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at STERIS for less than a year

    Pros

    The environment here is incredibly welcoming. The employees have the company's interest at heart and have proven to be extremely productive. They try to hear everyone's opinion and aim to keep all jobs.

    Cons

    Steris has improved so much already, that the current problems are rather minor and hard to find.

    STERIS2019-08-08
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Better that most places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Technician in Mentor, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STERIS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The department that I worked in was in a constant state of restructuring but the management team did a very good job of keeping the overall goals in focus

    Cons

    Internal promotion opportunities were non-existent. Many of the best employees were forced to leave the company to further their careers.

    Advice to Management

    Stop worrying about offending people and just do what is right.

    STERIS2018-12-04
  3. "Enginer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STERIS for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, good people

    Cons

    Little room upward, little parking

    Advice to Management

    None, all the general problems

    STERIS2018-08-02
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Engineer Supervisor in Newark, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at STERIS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people , good product

    Cons

    Incompetent management, have no vision to technology ,does not value talented people,does not allow out of box thinking

    Advice to Management

    Value your people and be competitive in salary to the market standard .

    STERIS2018-06-22
  5. "Conservative corporation trying to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Development Engineer in Mentor, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at STERIS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Nice people to work with - Great facilities like gym on site, decent cafe, good IT support - Good projects to work on

    Cons

    - not as much market research and competitive benchmarking - low opportunities for career growth unless you change dept

    STERIS2018-03-28
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Engineering Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Technician in Mentor, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at STERIS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    At a time when I needed a job Steris hired me and I will always be thankful for that. I worked for Steris for almost 10 years and for the most part it was an enjoyable experience, the benefits were good and management was very flexible in helping me attain my bacholors degree. Who knows maybe one day I'll return.

    Cons

    Working at Steris can be difficult for minorities but the company is trying to change the culture but it will take some time. The pay could be better and the raises are low but I was comfortable and the work was very stable. I decided to move on after I felt the economy had stabilized after the recession.

    Advice to Management

    I would advise the company to value it's long term employees and promote from within. Steris will lose a lot of talented people because of not wanting to promote their worker's and paying them what they are worth.

    STERIS2017-11-25
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Installer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Southwest, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at STERIS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A few people were good to work with. None in management, terrible mangement is a compliment to them.

    Cons

    Downsides are a long list, but here are a few, don't use words longer than four letters as management feels threatened that your smarter than they are, in other words dummy down! Numbers mean everything to them and they will get there by any means.

    Advice to Management

    Quit and try working a real job, never mind that would require some effort and we all know you don't know what that requires. I could go on and on but what's the sense, I actually have a job to manage!

    STERIS2017-07-14
  8. "STERIS Corp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Engineer in Montgomery, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at STERIS full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits and Work Atmosphere

    Cons

    real strict in being the work on time, no flexibility

    STERIS2016-06-09
  9. Helpful (3)

    "OK place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at STERIS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some interesting products and medical device experience

    Cons

    1- Limited opportunity for advancement 2 - Marketing makes Engineering decisions 3 - Lack of respect for technical people

    Advice to Management

    It seems pointless to offer any advice to management. As with many modern corporations the cult of the MBA runs the company instead of engineers which limits the ability of the companies to create new products.

    STERIS2013-11-07
  10. "No thank you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Engineer in Ljubljana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STERIS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    salary is good, working with all kinds of technologies

    Cons

    crazy working hours, unsupportive managment, management does not care about safety, management not supporting personal growth,...

    STERIS2019-07-30
Found 12 reviews