STERIS Reviews | Glassdoor

STERIS Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
STERIS CEO Walter M. Rosebrough, Jr.
Walter M. Rosebrough, Jr.
158 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Repair Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STERIS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, Promotions within company

    Cons

    Little time for social life

    STERIS2019-06-11
  2. "Employee review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Technician in Central, TX

    I worked at STERIS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits were good and the moral was typically high

    Cons

    Lots of travel. Long work days

    STERIS2019-06-08
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior District Service Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at STERIS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, great culture and stable. Carasmatic leadership, fun environment.

    Cons

    If one is capable and effective, too much gets placed in their shoulders. I believe my experience was unique and most employees don’t have the issues. A policy needs to be in place to reward employees that are doing extra duties.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees how you want to be treated and be fair.

    STERIS2019-05-27
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible management, terrible culture. Companies like Steris are the reason we still need unions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembler in Mentor, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at STERIS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ok benefits, uniforms , Christmas party and bonuses. Tuition reimbursement. Most of the place is clean. Can't think of much else.

    Cons

    Shady management, shady coworkers, don't care at all for their employees. Especially long term employees. Too much management and policies. Do not promote from within. Shady coworkers that are bought and paid for by management and will rat you out in a heartbeat. Might even make up stuff.Only butt kissers move up in the company. Also, management are a bunch of hypocrites. An anti the employees. The company acts... like they are all high and mighty and you should feel privileged to work there. They want you to have a masters degree to screw on a bolt. The management uses bullying tactics to get rid of long term employees. They preach ethics and diversity but do not practice it themselves. Some of these managers think they are god. And the reason we still need unions in this country are because of companies like Steris.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There are too many of you. And most of you are worthless. Steris needs to concentrate more on making better products and focusing on that than a bunch of snot nosed punks making more stupid policies and basically unproductivity.

    STERIS2019-06-26
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn Park, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at STERIS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can leave if you choose; unlike prison in that regard.

    Cons

    Management is a joke; a very, very bad joke. Hard working, well-educated, reliable, loyal and dedicated people need not apply because none of that matters. STERIS, Brooklyn Park, is like a small town high school rather than a 'Global leader' of anything. Except perhaps corporate bullying; they seem really proficient at that. So, if you want to work hard, be constantly criticized, massively mismanaged and basically ... treated like a valueless annoyance then this is the place for you!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is no point in offer advice to anyone in management at STERIS.

    STERIS2019-06-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sterile Processing Technician 

    I have been working at STERIS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Managers are great and work with you

    Cons

    Culture is tough to get used to

    STERIS2019-05-28
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Coordinator in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at STERIS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company atmosphere, paid time off, salary and flexible hours.

    Cons

    Connections between IT and other departments lack cohesiveness. Puts a strain on employee to get stuff done.

    STERIS2019-05-30
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Choose Your Department Wisely!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Operations in Mentor, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at STERIS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO, and the people. I wouldn't still be here if it wasn't for these three traits alone. I've made many great friends here and they have become almost like a family. Pay is decent...not great, but better than most companies in Northeast Ohio.

    Cons

    So much focus on 'lean' that the company no longer takes care of their employees. You're treated like robots, forced to meet monthly measurements, and they keep expanding your job duties without compensating you for it. Every department in this company operates and treats their employees differently. Customer Operations management is one of the worst I've seen in any corporation. They don't listen to you when you... express a problem or offer a solution. It's all about saving money, crunching numbers and whatever keeps the most money in the big-wigs pockets. It's a shame, because I love this company and what it stands for. Unfortunately, STERIS has grown too big too soon. Their technology is over a decade old and can't keep up with the vast amount of work needed on a daily basis (looking at you, Oracle). Complaints have been made to HR about the corrupt practices, but HR is there for management, not the people. If you're looking to work for STERIS, please stay clear of Customer Operations. Once you get in, you'll never get out (unless you quit).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Because STERIS is a healthcare company and deals with patient care, it's astounding to me that upper management only puts a focus on their numbers, rather than the quality of product and service to their customers. Please stop treating your employees like robots. You can only become so lean until you start losing your most loyal, hardworking employees.

    STERIS2019-05-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great company, too much office -politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bethlehem, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at STERIS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company overall Yearly bonus Great benefits,and pay

    Cons

    A few of the people are very catty, and morning meetings consist more of people talking bad about each other,and other departments. What should seem like a team,feels more like a high school clique

    Advice to Management

    Do your job,and and manage? My Motto is usually go to work to do your job,not make friends.

    STERIS2019-05-09
  11. "Good company, poor pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STERIS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The management team is nice, they really worry about the employee.

    Cons

    The salary is way below standard.

    STERIS2019-05-13
Found 337 reviews